Find jobs for Agent

Redfin Agent Reviews

Updated 27 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
50%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Redfin CEO Glenn Kelman
Glenn Kelman
161 Ratings
  1. Helpful (18)

    "Workaholic Fear Based Culture"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Agent in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Redfin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great technology, app, website, internal client management system with many aids to held expedite communication with clients and streamline work processes. Constant stream of leads with highly qualified clients, steady income, benefits, reimbursements, nice co-workers, many great managers, generous with annual convention for agents with amazing entertainment, food, etc. Good amount of experience and immediate management support for assistance. CEO truly is a visionary, funny, and seems genuine.

    Cons

    Triple the normal work load for non commensurate pay. Told to think of this as "any other job" to justify ok pay for highly stressful work. Laid off 40% of all employees after told initially would be given a guaranteed salary, while sheltering at home, When deemed essential, told we needed to get back to work and needed to meet with clients in person without offering PPE and told to figure it out. Other option was furlough with minimal pay and no guarantee would come back without ability to switch license. Agents that continued to meet with clients at person did so in fear of being "laid off". Management wanted you to "open up" your schedule to "available" all day , every day for last minute appointments starting from 8am to 8pm. Average closing rate was 10% for company so spent lots of time working with sometimes very demanding and difficult clients that were not actually going to buy and you had to work with everyone you were assigned to. Pretty much on call all the time and driving constantly. Must be on emails and phone constantly because of very high amount of communications and requests sent with immediate response required. Lots of rules and constantly told what you're doing wrong. Take clients word over agents. Constantly told "Redfin is not for everyone" and top management in San Diego dictated a highly stressful, demanding, workaholic environment. Agents experienced bullying and overly angry and aggressive style by a particular manager and many agents had to switch team leaders with no accountability or recourse for that manager. Last annual survey completed showed agents felt overworked, underpaid, undervalued with no work life balance. New committees were formed to address these issues and nothing was done. Still same environment. When Redfin did big layoff, in April, top agents were furloughed or laid off and existing escrows/clients were given away to remaining agents with very little or no pay to departing agents.

    Continue reading
    Redfin2020-04-27
  2. "Not Bad for Contract work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Associate Agent in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Redfin for more than a year

    Pros

    Good way to break into real estate industry

    Cons

    Good for part time work, not a long term career

    Redfin2020-05-28
  3. "Flexible Work, Fun Job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Associate Agent in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Redfin for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work, fun, set your own hours.

    Cons

    Unclear how to get more work/gigs, supervisors were often overwhelmed.

    Redfin2020-05-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not Too Bad"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Agent 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Redfin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great Management and amazing benefits. Company pays for phone and mileage reimbursement.

    Cons

    No 401k company match, was laid off due to Covid-19

    Redfin2020-04-26
  5. Helpful (7)

    "The McDonalds of Real Estate"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Real Estate Agent in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Redfin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Full Time Employment, not having to hunt for leads, decent tools.

    Cons

    I really liked my job and believed in the mission right up to the point that they laid me off. The CEO- loves to think of himself as a good guy and not a tech scumbag, but in the end it turned out he was just as sleazy as a business leader could be. We all thought he had our backs, in one of his 10,000 company addresses he once told us that if the investors did not like the way he ran the company he would simply buy them out. Well once the Covid-19 hit it was a much different tune. One week he sent out an email to the company that the execs were forgoing salary and bonus money for the year and the rank and file were all set. 10 days later he was handing out pink slips like they were candy. The market ws down before the Covid and when I dove into the finances I noticed a month prior the top execs were offloading stock options at .18 cents per share and selling that same day for $28 per share. Im sure it is a lot easier to give up your salary when you are pulling in a millions all on a single keystroke. He took great pride in himself as being an disruptor in the industry. Just think of the thousands of lives you have now disrupted. Not only the employees but the lives of all the spouses and children, who only made the mistake of believing what they were told buy the company. In the Boston market there was not job that had a woman of power, totally disgusting in this day and age. Total Boys Club. They have dangled the carrot a little bit, but never really executed it. Unless you are on the friends & family plan, or a friend of family, or a friend of a friend of family.

    Continue reading
    Redfin2020-05-16
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Super sketchy company...."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Associate Agent in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Redfin for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It’s fun to look at houses, some great coworkers, flexible schedule.

    Cons

    Multiple pay cuts over the last few years, extremely disorganized, huge disconnect between management and the ONLY PEOPLE BRING IN MONEY TO THE COMPANY: the real estate agents. Horrible “tools” for the agents; the agent-only Redfin app doesn’t work half the time and when it does has tons of features that make no sense for what our daily job actually is. The engineers refuse to take our feedback and build tools that could actually be great. Really subpar for a “tech company”.

    Continue reading
    Redfin2020-04-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great PT FLEX Gig"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Contractor - Associate Agent in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Redfin for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work when you want.

    Cons

    No feedback given as to your performance

    Redfin2020-04-21
  8. "Love...and hate the flexibility"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Associate Agent in Longmont, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Redfin for less than a year

    Pros

    Make your own hours Make your own "territory" Decent Compensation Meet lots of people

    Cons

    Working when others are playing You don't truly make your own schedule Rules and practices often change

    Redfin2020-03-31
  9. Helpful (17)

    "Company doesn't live their values"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Agent in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Redfin full-time

    Pros

    Health Care, steady stream of leads

    Cons

    Base Pay is below poverty level. Upper management is disconnected with the world of real estate. Metrics are not clear.

    Continue reading
    Redfin2020-04-12
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Avoid"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Agent in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Redfin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Health Insurance benefits. Paid leave. That’s it.

    Cons

    Everything else. And you can buy your own health insurance.

    Continue reading
    Redfin2020-04-10
Found 258 reviews