Reed Exhibitions Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Reed Exhibitions Reviews

Updated 13 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
34%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Reed Exhibitions CEO Chet Burchett
Chet Burchett
96 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun, friendly, diverse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Richmond, London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reed Exhibitions full-time

    Pros

    Flexible culture, leadership is open to learning and improving, nice perks, lovely office, super friendly colleagues, helpful, interesting industry

    Cons

    Some teams are having to go through some uncomfortable transformations

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening and learning

    Reed Exhibitions2019-08-19
  2. "Gave me a step up in my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Marketing Manager in Richmond, London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Had well resourced central teams (HR etc) - Allowed me to step in to a Manager role - Allowed autonomy in my role - Good training - Flexible working conditions

    Cons

    - Happiness is relative to the event team you work within as very silod - Not much learning between event teams, can almost be competitive - Slow process changes - Digital roles do not allow much progression or promotion/salary changes

    Reed Exhibitions2019-11-13
  3. "World travel market"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Richmond, London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Reed Exhibitions part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good like minded team nice atmosphere with Opportunities to progress

    Cons

    Very staid in process but think that’s changed since I was there

    Advice to Management

    Listen

    Reed Exhibitions2019-11-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Incredibly siloed company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you’re in the right team/dept you’ll get to travel quite often, and that’s about it.

    Cons

    Where to start. Such a siloed company with individual teams/depts working separately. Little to no cross team communication and very burdensome corporate environment.

    Advice to Management

    Root and branch reform is needed. You have to break the silos down as this is one of the least efficient companies I’ve ever worked for.

    Reed Exhibitions2019-11-06
  5. "Awful company culture, avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    At a push, flexible working. although most companies offer this.

    Cons

    Silos within silos leading to zero communication or collaboration. No focus on personal development of staff leading to high turnover and best employees leaving. No calibration of salary reviews etc so bonuses etc are based purely on perception and not value added. No clear vision or contiguous plans for strategy.

    Advice to Management

    Have a plan and stick to it. Treat employees like people.

    Reed Exhibitions2019-11-06
  6. "More and more for less and less"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Richmond Hill, England

    I worked at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    International travel, good salary, good products

    Cons

    High y-o-y growth targets make environment unpleasant and detract from offering

    Reed Exhibitions2019-10-02
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Terrible place to work, atrocious top line management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun to work on pop culture shows, especially if you're a fan.

    Cons

    You have to be one of the "chosen few" and worship at the altar of top management to get anywhere in the company. Terrible structure, unrealistic expectations, and generally terrible place to work. Tons of bullying from top management. Hate you if you try and stick up for yourself. UK pop culture shows are absolutely terrible. Forced all of the talented people out with their terrible culture.

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating people like slaves and quit thinking you're God's gift to exhibitions. You're not.

    Reed Exhibitions2019-09-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Apalling company culture with no progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Richmond, London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Location, agile working and car park.

    Cons

    If you are looking to progress your career in marketing, this is not the place. High rotation of personel, almost 70% of the marketing team has resigned due to the new structure. People are overworked and with no support from their line managers. Too many middle men leading and the few below doing the work for them to shine. The culture is toxic and the number of people requiring medical help due stress has... spiked in the last year. Targets for marketing are totally unrealistic and under the new structure marketing roles are pure admin.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Leaders that dont listen will end up surrounded by people than dont talk.

    Reed Exhibitions2019-08-28
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Worst company I have ever seen in 10+ years of my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible working and chance to wok with thoughtwork

    Cons

    outdated and inane management style. total chaos, no clear direction. engineering directors are immature and use improper strategy to get things done

    Advice to Management

    get rid of the three directors in altas platform and you will see amazing results. the team is really good. don't lose all your good engineers because of the inadequate directors.

    Reed Exhibitions2019-08-21
  10. "Doesn’t Benchmark"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 

    I worked at Reed Exhibitions full-time

    Pros

    Great work ethics, great colleagues,

    Cons

    Shocking bonus structure no recognition

    Reed Exhibitions2019-07-26
Found 248 reviews