Reed Exhibitions Reviews

Updated 29 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Reed Exhibitions CEO Hugh Jones
Hugh Jones
7 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "I actually really like working for Reed and would recommend to others"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Freedom to innovate, ample PTO, summer Fridays, great 401k match, they've paid for me to take many classes/courses that I was interested in, pay is decent, all of my managers/directors I've had seem to care about me and my growth, travelling to and working on-site at shows is fun and a great way to form work friendships, work/life balance is very highly valued here. If you're a smart and hard working individual, you'll do well here and will be recognized for your contributions.

    Cons

    Getting new initiatives started can be difficult sometimes due to superfluous legal, privacy and security assessments.

    Reed Exhibitions2020-05-15
  2. "Software Engineer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Richmond, London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team and interesting project Good technology Good benefits Solid company

    Cons

    As you would expect in such a big company, in some occasions there’s too much red tape. The PDP ritual is borderline useless and quite annoying.

    Reed Exhibitions2020-05-24
  3. "Good company - bad pay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Marketing Manager in Richmond, London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working Work from home

    Cons

    They admit they know they pay badly Do not pay commission to central teams Do not pay men and women equally

    Continue reading
    Reed Exhibitions2020-05-17

    Reed Exhibitions Response

    June 2, 2020TA Director

    Concerning the issue of equal pay for men and for women, we carry out regular equal pay reviews and take any appropriate action where needed. We have also seen a significant reduction in our gender pay gap during 2019 and have a broad number of initiatives underway to further narrow the remaining gap.

  4. "Avoid puppet role jobs solely meant for mental torture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in Richmond, London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Reed Exhibitions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Richmond is a nice town

    Cons

    If you are at a sales exec/manager level and hit your targets it's all straight forward. If you end up at corporate level you will be subjected to gas lighting and other manipulation tactics never really knowing if it was your fault in the first place.

    Continue reading
    Reed Exhibitions2020-05-29

    Reed Exhibitions Response

    June 2, 2020TA Director

    We are very sorry to hear that you did not seem to enjoy your time working for Reed. We work constantly to ensure that the working environment is positive for all our employees. May we suggest that you get in contact with the local HR team to discuss the issues you faced so that they can understand and put any necessary actions in place. Kind regards

  5. "Positive working environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working, plenty of travel

    Cons

    Lower salary than competitors in some areas

    Reed Exhibitions2020-03-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Products, Great People"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Richmond, London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Within my team, there is great dynamic and a great work ethic. Everyone is proud and passionate about the products they work on. Strong brands and great communication within teams and senior management. Travel is great and your opinion is valued. Good work/home life balance

    Cons

    Commission structure is a bit on the low side. Opportunities to progress can be limited. Certain departments over the years have been reduced and outsourced. No doubt there is a significant cost saving but this comes with major drawbacks. Pay is static

    Continue reading
    Reed Exhibitions2020-03-12
  7. "A place for progress, support and passion."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Customer Service in Richmond, London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management Support, Talented Workforce, Great Team Culture, Collaboration Encouraged, Pride in Product, Development Opportunities, World Class Operations Team, Flexible Working/Hours, Great Location in Richmond, Excellent Office Environment, Employee Diversity

    Cons

    I have been at Reed Exhibitions for nearly 6 years now and would struggle to suggest a con that is persistent.

    Reed Exhibitions2020-02-13
  8. "Sales"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Executive 

    I have been working at Reed Exhibitions full-time

    Pros

    Great opportunities to travel places

    Cons

    Pressure and stress is normal in the event industry

    Reed Exhibitions2020-02-03
  9. "Not for the ambitious"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Richmond, London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - work from home 1 day/week - 35 hour work week - some travel abroad opportunities - modern open-plan office - very low performance expectations for staff - some lovely people across the business

    Cons

    - no salary reviews (bar annual 1% increase) - no professional training opportunities - limited promotions available, typically for service-length, rather than ability or merit - marketing senior leaders are not skilled in marketing - slow and resistant to change (no best practice) - very negative environment: people frequently crying, others telling you they can't wait to quit - limited line manager training, makes for some very poor people managers - abundant administration processes for every task, yet the business is exceptionally unorganised, and very reactive - clunky outdated tech: systems not integrated, laptops frequently crash and freeze - layer of unskilled management doing very little, not enough staff working on campaigns or tasks - junior teams completely overloaded, limiting campaign creativity, and meaning delivering the basics is a hurdle

    Reed Exhibitions2020-03-08
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Run like the wind"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Richmond, London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home & flexible hours (most companies have this)

    Cons

    Poor management, low salary, underpaid sales commission, no progression or recognition for hard work, low resources in marketing, outdated software & useless computers. Team spirit does not exist - it is a morbid depressing environment.

    Continue reading
    Reed Exhibitions2020-03-01
Found 266 reviews