Regus Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated 14 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 130 of over 2K reviews

2.9
40%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Regus Chief Executive and Director Mark Dixon
Mark Dixon
939 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work environment is gorgeous(in 90 reviews)

  • "Amazing work life balance/ Great team(in 70 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "bad management, upper management does not know what they're doing(in 114 reviews)

  • "Putting people into management with NO experience and NO training(in 52 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Corporate giant

      23 Sep 2020 - Community Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relatively easy job once you get in the swing of things. Monday - Friday

      Cons

      Training is a lot to be desired, keep changing the goal posts, communication from upper management is poor

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Manager

      6 Aug 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great co-workers, some great clients as well. Looks good on your CV, opportunity to gain diverse experience across many disciplines. Some managers do really care about their staff. Opportunity to work in some prestigious locations. Good job for someone looking to make a move from retail or hospitality.

      Cons

      Upper management constantly moving goalposts Inconsistent management at local level Unachievable bonus structure, no raises or salary review Limited progression Centres understaffed Centre teams not supported by management Poor corporate culture, employees treated as disposable Huge disparity in pay between new and existing employees

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      12 Years at a company

      1 Feb 2019 - Customer Service Representative/CSM in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The time spent with the on-site staff was great and have great memories.

      Cons

      Middle and upper management just saw you as a number and offered no progression in mid to long term, if this was your first time in the Serviced office industry great start but much better opportunity.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Community Associate

      18 Mar 2018 - Community Associate in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Location, all centres are well connected with tube/bus - good for cv because people know the name

      Cons

      - they want to run centres with the minimum number of employees possible, so workload become unmanageable. Often there are just two people running a whole centre, so if someone is sick or in holiday there is just one person dealing with everything. - almost all centres in central London have no day cleaner, community associates have to do it (dishwashers and trash, sweeping floors, hoover and toilet etc). We are told off because the centre is not clean enough when is should not be our job in the first place. - no help from upper management, we know who they are just when they are due to visit the centre and the manager will ask you to fix everything to make the centre look presentable (and hide all the problems) - if there's a problem in the building expect to wait at least a month to fix it, if not more. Problems keep dragging and you will need to lie to clients to keep them quiet. - no real training. If the team can train you well you are lucky, otherwise you need to learn all by yourself. Training provided by Regus are only videos, but they don't show you anything practical that can be usefull on a day to day basis. - pay is not good, not for the amount of stress and work you will have to endure.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Regus Response

      Head of HR

      Thank you for your review. As a business seeking to drive efficiencies to assist employees, we have automated many of the tasks previously undertaken by employees, to free up their time. We have a full induction programme for all new employees, which has just been refreshed and re-launched. I am not sure what centre you were based in, but we have just recruited 40 additional Community Associates for London in response to employee feedback. Good luck in your next position. Kind regards Nicola, Head of HR

    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Not a company you like to work for

      26 Oct 2016 - Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Only pro is that workload is quite light, and not challenging.

      Cons

      This company gives you nothing that would make you excited or even just committed to do a good work: - No appreciation of good work/achievements, no promotions, no career plan, no performance reviews, no pay reviews - If you mention personal development needs they think you are joking: no training, no coaching, not even challenges you could learn from - Provides only the regulatory minimum of everything: no extra holiday days, no pension, no healthcare, no benefits, no team building budget, not even at Christmas - The single most important motivation of upper management is to keep costs down, at any cost (but of course excluding top management compensation) - this means very tight IT support, stone age infrastructure, miserable working environment - No honesty: major 'achievement' of 2016 is a totally ill designed and ridiculously implemented transformation, which caused the business and people tremendous harm - but those in charge would never admit that... All in all people are just unable to perform up to their potential, which makes them deeply unhappy. Cca. 9 out of 10 people is either about to leave, or wish to leave as soon as opportunity arise. Several senior people left, tightening leadership support and rendering any progress even more impossible.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Awful company to work for - avoid at all costs!

      24 Oct 2017 - Community Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility with taking lunch breaks. Allowed to use mobile phones within reason.

      Cons

      No paid sick leave, they deduct money from your pay slip. Only 20 days holiday a year and hardly any employee benefits. No support from upper management (it's always someone else's fault), and the computer systems are awful. Response times to anything from external colleagues are extremely slow, the billing and IT team take weeks to get back to you and when they do they pass the buck to someone else and you have to start the process again meaning your clients are getting more and more annoyed at you. The salary is absolutely shocking, and unfair as you realise that people doing the job below you are getting paid the same and there is a clear gender pay gap. Senior managers never recognise any hard work and there are no rewards, Regus seem to rule with fear, threatening your job stability if targets aren't hit. You are expected to spend money out of your own pocket as they don't trust employees with petty cash and it sometimes takes over 3 weeks to see that money back.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee

      A potentially great company, hamstrung by inept and vindictive management at all levels

      18 Mar 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people on the workface - the representatives in centre, the actual workers in the back offices - are on the whole intelligent and exceptional people. There's an understanding of the things that need to happen, and the direction that the company should take, which would transform the company if listened to and actioned.

      Cons

      As soon as someone gets in a position of management, they turn nasty. Whether this is in middle-low supervisory positions or upper management, it's all about the power and position. This goes all the way to the top. Some managers are especially vicious and vindictive, and more than one person I know was forced out of the company by malicious practices and actions by management that forced them to leave for health and sanity reasons. I would not be able to name a single person currently in management at Regus that I would trust or employ.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Regus Response

      Head of HR

      Thank you for your review. This sounds very much like a personal issue and i am sorry this has been your experience. There is a whistle blowing policy, which is open to all employees in the UK and is taken very seriously. I have not received any whistle blowing claims, but i would be happy to review your concerns if you would like to contact me directly. Kind regards Nicola, Head of HR

    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Sales general manager

      16 Oct 2013 - AREA SALES MANAGER 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The teams u may be lucky to work with in your own centre and meeting some nice clients.

      Cons

      Where do I start. I discovered early on this was an awful company to work for, but persevered due to the current climate. Under paid over worked, the more u do the more they expect and want. No bonus paid, no commission paid despite doing monthly sales. No support. Constant upper management changes showing an insecure company with lack of direction. I could go on forever, but I think y get the point. Never knew a company could treat staff of all levels so badly and not have a clue when it come to HR, looking after your employees and the benefits it delivers 3 fold. The business is not financially stable in the UK, making rash decisions and wasting money but won't pay staff or have enough in centres to look after clients and business properly. Avoid avoid avoid!!!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      It's getting worse and worse

      15 Mar 2013 - Senior Customer Service Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've spent 5 years with the company, it was my first ever job, and during my firts 2 years I have been promoted 2 times up to Senior CSR. The work environment is good, although it really depends on the people. Regus is such a large corporation that, in some areas you don't even feel you're a part of the group. This can lead to both a positive or negative situation.

      Cons

      To be honest me and my former colleagues are pretty sure more than half of these reviews are fake, and created by the global marketing department in an effort to mask the harsh reality. You are responsible for everything in the company and everything is mostly your fault. The idea behind the Regus concept is good, but adapting this to local markets is not done at all. Global Management close unprofitable contracts and create extremely unprofitable departments, just for their own better control, which ultimately leads to a centre to stop being profitable and, of course, the pressure is on you. You do cleaning, IT, reception, mail handling, security, selling of services, billing, debt collection, suppliers, part of finance, cost management, revenue increase strategies, reporting, etc. Often, medium sized centres will employ 2 people. The contracts never state the full job responsability and are very vague. The idea behind 2nd line management (outside the centre) is to increase the revenue of the company and keep things under control. This makes sense until you watch them put pressure on you to increase the revenue - so far so good, and when you've reached the limit as to what can be done, you are declared incompetent. This was fortunately not my case, as I have struggled until my last day with the company, and always shouted my suggestions of improving revenue, but I was only laughed at and ridiculed. They have no intentions to adapt. Salaries are incredibly small and have not been raised for more than 5 years for some. They are under 50% of the market, and bonuses have recently been cut, targets put so high they are almost impossible to reach. Nevertheless, don't expect to get any points for trying as, again, you are declared incompetent if you don't reach such ridiculous targets. They make you wave your bonus if you leave, and engage in any possible activity to persuade the employee or customers to their own monetary increase, most of activities of a questionable legal compliance. I've seen people stop caring and being offered 2 salaries to walk away from Regus, I've left because it was my time to do so and worked hard doing overtime until my last day. As a reward I was not granted my last bonus. After 2010, no promotions whatsoever have been made within the company. What's worse is that when the actual position came, they've hired new help which, judging by the salaries they offer, are nowhere near the level of knowledge required for the job. This and the total lack of communication, an attitude of "if you don't like it then quit" and the overall pressure put on the employees for no reason causes frustration among the team, and a general disorientation as to what the company specifically wants. All in all, I've left the company being good friends with everyone, but it may just yet be one of the worst work experience I will ever encounter. Feedback may vary through different parts of the globe, as local and immediate upper management may be of better competence. Mind you, I am not an angry employee that frustratingly shouts everything that is wrong with the company in my own subjective way, I am only putting out general ideas of my past experience. I am currently very happily employed. I am not saying walk away from Regus, but be aware, things can get bad.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Regus could do better

      28 Aug 2018 - Community Associate in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fixed work schedules Free weekends and bank holidays Networking oportunities

      Cons

      Low pay compared to duties requested Not enough support from upper management

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 130 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Regus Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Regus? Share Your Experiences

    Regus logo
    or