Relief International Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Relief International Reviews

Updated 13 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Nancy Wilson
19 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Offer more incentives for employees to stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Relief International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Passionate and friendly HQ office. Very multicultural, diverse group of individuals, you could learn something from everyone. Providing assistance to those in need afflicted by natural disasters, civil conflicts etc.

    Cons

    Little incentive to stay with other NGO's offering more. Employee retention was very low, it seemed like someone left every week.

    Relief International2016-01-25

    Relief International Response

    March 1, 2016

    Dear sender, Thank you for your service at RI and for your feedback. We take input seriously and use it to constantly improve our workplace environment. Let me address some of your concerns. Regarding salary and benefits, each year we benchmark our compensation packages to ...

    Show More
  2. "Heading in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Relief International

    Pros

    Great people, everyone is eager to learn and contribute to the mission

    Cons

    Lack of communication between the departments and GSO/RSO/Field Offices

    Advice to Management

    I recommend we hire more employees so that we can better service the organization and our beneficiaries. We shouldn't spread ourselves too thin.

    Relief International2015-11-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Relief International

    Pros

    Small neat community, most people are friendly and helpful. Good place to be and gain experience in international development right after college.

    Cons

    No opporunities for growth within the company, very low pay and benefits

    Advice to Management

    Pay higher wages and create more opportunities for younger talent

    Relief International2015-11-11
  4. "Sr. Admin & IT Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rangoon
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Relief International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Humanitarian organization, Safety working environment, Great Team Work, Strong Management Team and excellent policy and procedure

    Cons

    Slow response in some emergency response, top level approval needed

    Relief International2015-10-14
  5. "A great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Relief International

    Pros

    Mission driven with transparant and positive culture. Great people to work with. Very reasonable benefits and time can be flexible. Pay is good. Opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    Some Country leaders do bad program management and some creat tension between field and head office. Some systems need to improve.

    Advice to Management

    You don't have to do everything yourself. That is NOT what management is. You have great staff.

    Relief International2015-08-27
  6. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Relief International

    Pros

    Can't think of any advantages

    Cons

    The CFO seems to be a dictator. Has a strong preference towards one group of people at Finance department while has an aggressive viewpoint towards the the other group at Finance department. Ultimately leading office politics.That's why there is a high turnover rate.

    Advice to Management

    Be respectful towards your employees

    Relief International2015-08-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to grow and break into the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Relief International full-time

    Pros

    RI is a great place to break into the humanitarian sector, you learn a ton and it prepares you well for your future career. They hire a lot from within especially with interns. The staff are kind, hard-working, and dedicated. With the new CEO, there is tons of potential and a bright future for the years ahead.

    Cons

    Staff need more opportunities to travel to the field to see the programs first hand.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the great momentum going!

    Relief International2015-02-01
  8. "Overall, a good experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Relief International

    Pros

    Supportive environment, good for understanding NGO work.

    Cons

    Depending on location and role, you may feel bored, sometimes not every role is used to its full potential, need to be proactive in making it known what you want to do.

    Relief International2015-01-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "The worst ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Relief International

      Pros

      Some of the executives are great people to work with

      Cons

      Organizational structure is a mass, the outcomes of any program is lower than what should be expected from an INGO

      Relief International2015-01-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Growing, tons of potential"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Program Officer in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Relief International full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      RI spent 2013 and early 2014 doing some soul searching, with a very inclusive process soliciting information from all staff worldwide, which culminated in both the strategic plan and an excellent new CEO. They were always open to innovative ideas, they trust their employees and they hire good people. Their SMT is excellent and there is a concerted, whole organization supported push for program quality and learning.

      Cons

      Because of the competitive landscape of humanitarian response - funding is difficult. RI has to work twice as hard to win opportunities for funding to provide essential humanitarian services around the world. They need an infusion of cash from a private donor to start funding emergency response.

      Advice to Management

      Keep the good momentum that the new CEO brings, I hope you can raise enough money to smooth out your program cycles and to support business development. I wish RI all the best.

      Relief International2014-12-07
    Found 48 reviews