Revolut Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Revolut Reviews

Updated 1 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Revolut Founder and CEO Nikolay Storonsky
Nikolay Storonsky
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "Company has a good reputation outside of itself as a fast-paced growing organisation(in 10 reviews)

  • "You get exposure to many different things so you learn a lot(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (38)

    "Intense work, big challenges, amazing vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Growth in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Revolut full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is trying to do something ridiculously hard and ground-breaking in record time. Many things are happening at once, and many bets are placed in the future of the company, so there is a lot you could do. Leaders here lead by example: you do see Nik and Vlad working hard, getting their hands dirty and pushing to improve things. You can't hide behind titles or politics, either you can show results or you are not going to thrive here. People like the work they do, the perks are amazing. We get ridiculous amount of holidays, you get stock options as bonuses, and the office is amazing.

    Cons

    This is not for the faint hearted, people who don't take feedback well, or people who think that work is limited to your 9-5 schedule. The management is intensely aware of their problems: few females in exec leaderships, work/life balance and burnout, improving HR, feedback, and communications within the company. I think things have improved positively since I joined, despite the press. If anything the articles have made the company more aware of their problems, and is beginning to double down in solutions and people to improve.

    Continue reading
    Revolut2019-04-27

    Revolut Response

    October 10, 2019Stronger Together.

    Thank you for your thoughtful and balanced review. You’ve captured perfectly the culture and business challenges, and the constant, relentless efforts that go into bettering ourselves. We are so fortunate to have colleagues like you who are passionate about Revolut. With regards to your “advice to management,” we certainly appreciate and value your feedback. Last week our new Head of Internal Communications joined us and she’s determined to run a tight ship. It’s not an easy ride and, like we’ve said before, we’re building a spaceship mid flight. We are grateful to all of those who join us on this amazing (even if sometimes bumpy) journey!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "The best job I've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Python Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Revolut full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary above the market average, free relocation, tons of small perks like free food delivery to the office

    Cons

    No cons have been found so far

    Revolut2020-02-25

    Revolut Response

    February 28, 2020Stronger Together

    Hey, thanks for this great review! We're glad that you're loving it!

    Continue reading
  3. "Amazing workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Backend Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Revolut full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced environment where you can see your impact from very start. Amazing perks and nice startup culture, you will find snacks and drinks stocked all day in kitchen. You will feel inclusiveness in company with stock options.

    Cons

    Sometimes, you have to work for more than 8 hours but honestly it depends totally on you. I am still in my probation period and there were days when i worked even less that 8 , so it is totally up to you how do you manage your time and their expectations from you. I would say you have to be A player if you want to work normal hours and deliver at the same time.

    Revolut2020-03-27
  4. "Not recommended even if Revolut brand name big"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Revolut full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good product Challenging and ambitious goals Great brand name

    Cons

    Very bad work culture Constant change in work strategy Unstable environment - hire as quickly as they fire without warning Very long hours (15hrs/day) + weekend

    Continue reading
    Revolut2020-04-02
  5. "Agile company - Not perfect but problems are fixed quickly."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Recruiter in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Revolut full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Quick decision making - Issues taken seriously and revolved in a timely fashion -Extreme growth - Great management

    Cons

    - Can be very hectic as in hyper growth

    Continue reading
    Revolut2020-02-18

    Revolut Response

    February 19, 2020Stronger Together

    Hey, thanks for this positive review! We value your advice to keep listening to employees, and we'll make sure that we're doing this through our various feedback channels. If you have suggestions on how we can improve internal comms to make sure we've got our ear to the ground, then let us know through our HR or People teams. We're always stronger together!

    Continue reading
  6. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Revolut full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good company learn a lot ...

    Cons

    sometimes need for long hours

    Revolut2020-02-07

    Revolut Response

    February 11, 2020Stronger Together

    Hey, thanks for your review! We appreciate your taking the time to let us know how you feel about working at Revolut. We know that as we're hyperscaling, it can mean longer hours sometimes, but we try to offer great benefits to make that easier on you!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Be wary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Revolut full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exciting to be part of the largest challenger bank in the world Impact can be made Tremendous amount of ownership

    Cons

    Expect to be treated as a metric Lots of first time managers and people with irrelevant / little experience in senior positions High turnover

    Revolut2020-02-09

    Revolut Response

    February 17, 2020Stronger Together

    Hi, thanks for your review. We really appreciate your honesty. There are a lot of exciting perks to being in a fast-paced, fast-growing challenger bank. We want you to know that your time and work is appreciated by us. We work hard to understand what we do well and what we can do better. Our people team is dedicated to making sure that we're enabling all our people to feel like they're happy, learning, and thriving. We urge you to respond to our peakon surveys and provide feedback to managers wherever possible to make sure that we understand where we can improve. We're working on providing great support and training for all our managers, including through the Management and Leadership guild, and our dedicated Management and Leadership Development Manager is in the process of planning trainings that will support this initiative.

    Continue reading
  8. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Risk Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Revolut full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interview process was great, had an offer after 2 months which I accepted. Working environment and people in Revolut are great. People working hard to have top results for the customers and that's a great challenge. Awesome experience so far :-)

    Cons

    Nothing so far. Everything seems great

    Continue reading
    Revolut2020-01-24

    Revolut Response

    January 27, 2020Stronger Together

    Hey, thanks for this great review! We're glad you're enjoying it and hope that feeling continues. Let's Never Settle!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (19)

    "Stay away, ropy business model and immature management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Revolut full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nice office, interesting work, smart piers, sparking water in the fridge :)

    Cons

    Horrendous probation period practices: probation period goals are poorly set. What was discussed in the first week of employment turned out to be completely irrelevant. Considering how much fuss was made by the HR on what one needed to do in the first 2 months, there was no attempt by the management to follow any structure or be involved in making me successful in my new job. No feedback: you are told here and there that you are doing well, but there were no direct conversations to point out areas of improvement. None cares to put time in the calendar to have regular catch-ups or check on the progress to give direction in the early weeks. People are treated like disposable cards (pun intended): I applied for a role that had a completely different profile and in a few weeks not only did my job title change, but also I was told 'you are not fit for the role' and was let go in a few weeks for no reason Company culture is set by managers, so there is no such thing, it's just bad management.

    Continue reading
    Revolut2020-02-13
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Revolut full-time

    Pros

    - Cool office space. - Many people I've meet were very nice, knowledgeable, and humble. - No one tells you how to do things, as long as you get things done (this also proved to be one of their issues).

    Cons

    - Arrogant management. - Probation period goals poorly defined and most of the times not measurable. - Lack of support or direction during your probation period. You'll have to constantly chase your line manager to give you feedback and luckily he/she won't be too busy. - No one will tell you whether you passed the probation period or not, even though they are supposed to give you a written confirmation. - Blame culture. Instead of focusing on solutions and fixing problems or educating people, some senior engineers / managers prefer to just make fun of other people's lack of skills or point fingers. - People are treated as disposable and will be let go during their probation period for no reason. With luck, they will tell you "you're not a good fit for the company". - They tell you that no one forces you to work long hours, but the tasks they give you during your probation force you to work many extra hours and during the weekend. - Job spec advertised completely different from the actual work you'll do (given the speed at which the company is growing, you'll end up doing really crappy work that other people who've been longer in the company don't want to do).

    Continue reading
    Revolut2020-01-30

    Revolut Response

    February 3, 2020Stronger Together

    Thank you for your honest review. We appreciate your taking the time to give us thorough feedback. We want you assure you that your probation experience was not representative of what we expect from our processes. We want to ensure that all our people are properly informed and know what's expected of them. We're working on addressing our probation period practices to ensure that everyone is fully informed on what is expected of them - both managers and employees. As we're hyperscaling, there might be periods where we ask our people to work a little harder to make sure that we get it done. While it might be difficult at times, our Revolut community is always there to support you. We try to ensure that all the work you do is aligned to your profile and the job description you applied for, but it might sometimes happen that you need to support us as we're hiring to fill gaps. We'll continue to provide support and training to our managers to make sure that they're getting the best from our people, and helping them thrive at work. If you have specific feedback about what we can improve in this area, please get in touch with us directly. We're committed to ensuring that everyone thrives in their work at Revolut. We assure you that your experience does not reflect the vast majority of our staff, and we'll continue to improve with your feedback.

    Continue reading
Found 136 reviews