Revolut Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 11 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
60%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Revolut Founder and CEO Nikolay Storonsky
Nikolay Storonsky
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast-paced environment, literally you see the result of your efforts on a constant basis(in 12 reviews)

  • "You get exposure to many different things so you learn a lot(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (38)

    "Intense work, big challenges, amazing vision"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Growth in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Revolut full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is trying to do something ridiculously hard and ground-breaking in record time. Many things are happening at once, and many bets are placed in the future of the company, so there is a lot you could do. Leaders here lead by example: you do see Nik and Vlad working hard, getting their hands dirty and pushing to improve things. You can't hide behind titles or politics, either you can show results or you are not going to thrive here. People like the work they do, the perks are amazing. We get ridiculous amount of holidays, you get stock options as bonuses, and the office is amazing.

    Cons

    This is not for the faint hearted, people who don't take feedback well, or people who think that work is limited to your 9-5 schedule. The management is intensely aware of their problems: few females in exec leaderships, work/life balance and burnout, improving HR, feedback, and communications within the company. I think things have improved positively since I joined, despite the press. If anything the articles have made the company more aware of their problems, and is beginning to double down in solutions and people to improve.

    Continue reading
    Revolut2019-04-27

    Revolut Response

    October 10, 2019Stronger Together.

    Thank you for your thoughtful and balanced review. You’ve captured perfectly the culture and business challenges, and the constant, relentless efforts that go into bettering ourselves. We are so fortunate to have colleagues like you who are passionate about Revolut. With regards to your “advice to management,” we certainly appreciate and value your feedback. Last week our new Head of Internal Communications joined us and she’s determined to run a tight ship. It’s not an easy ride and, like we’ve said before, we’re building a spaceship mid flight. We are grateful to all of those who join us on this amazing (even if sometimes bumpy) journey!

  2. Helpful (7)

    "Great work, but not so great culture"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IOS Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Revolut full-time

    Pros

    - Benefits - Good tech stack - Many people to learn from

    Cons

    - many people to report to - harsh timelines, expectations - no work life balance

    Continue reading
    Revolut2020-05-11

    Revolut Response

    May 22, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience so far with Revolut. Across the business, we have assigned line managers as well as functional managers, one is task and programme oriented and one an expert in skillsets who can help with realistic expectations and measures. This offers a double-pronged approach to development, learning and progression. We’d strongly recommend that you try to use this approach to your advantage, and communicate openly with both of your managers about what you hope to gain from your relationships with each of them. As Revolut continues through our hyper-growth stage, we do sometimes ask a little from our people, and we hope that the benefits on offer go some way to compensating for this. We are really glad to hear that you’re enjoying working on our tech stack, and that you feel you’re learning here from fellow smart Revoluters, and hope that your sentiment towards the management structure improves over time with a little adjustment.

  3. Helpful (5)

    "5 words review"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Revolut full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    interesting greenfield projects to develop from scratch

    Cons

    aggressive corporate culture with the lack of work life balance

    Revolut2020-04-28

    Revolut Response

    May 1, 2020Stronger Together

    Thanks for your honest review. We appreciate your taking the time to let us know about your experience at Revolut. Our People team has been working on improving our company culture and constantly providing updates to our employees on what they're doing. This is an ongoing process, but we'll be passing your feedback on to them to help inform their work going forward.

  4. Helpful (18)

    "Dire"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Revolut full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good Salaries - Great office space - Free Deliveroo

    Cons

    You only have to read some the most recent reviews to understand what it's like to work at Revolut. "A lot of good people around but culture is awful" "No work life balance, Management only cares about your works not you." "Top down micro management and unachievable targets" "Innovating company but complete wrong management" "Bad management, poor HR practices, would avoid" "Not recommended even if Revolut brand name big" There is no real autonomy to make a difference. Teams are not empowered to set and focus on longer term strategies. Senior leadership style is more of a dictatorship, with teams simply closing actions coming from the top. It's dire. Very open about company willingness to fire people with a '0% underperformance target by the end of 2020 at any cost' objective. General vibe is unfriendly and unsupportive. Glassdoor responses feel PR driven rather than respond to actual issues. You simply cannot sugar coat how the company acts. Yes, we may be building a rocket ship, but unless we develop a heart as a business, it's gonna crash.

    Continue reading
    Revolut2020-05-05

    Revolut Response

    May 22, 2020

    We’d like to thank you for taking the time to write this review, we do take these seriously and pass on all feedback to the appropriate people. Revolut’s performance review process includes time for informal and formal check ins on performance. Where people have been let go after a performance review, this follows formal review and discussion of their performance and where the company believes that the employee has not achieved the expected performance. We feel that we’re an organisation where everyone’s ideas are respected, and that people have the autonomy and support to be able to pursue those ideas, so it’s disappointing that this hasn’t been your experience so far with us. We would urge you to escalate this to anyone in management you feel you can speak to. Thanks again for your recommendations, please know that they will be passed on.

  5. Helpful (14)

    "No work life balance, Management only cares about your works not you."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Revolut full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Competitive salary/benefits - Talented people. - Some nice perks

    Cons

    - A lot of pressure going on in engineer area. - Developers are blame each others when someone accidentally break the dev environment/branch making them feels shame, rather than helping and stop blaming in the chat group. - No mistake are acceptable, if you are good in everything -> you got only 50% performance review (which is meets expectation). They raise the employee standard, but lack of engineering process and good culture. (They expect all of you to be "above" expectation) - No work life balance/ everyone works like 10+ hours a day to "Get things done". They was no real task estimation, product side are very keen to push their product because they are racing each others to proof them self and to showing off to their CEOs. Most of people left because of that. - They're doing task demo every 1-2 weeks and gather all developer (100+ people more) to watch what every teams are doing. Which is not necessary anymore when the company have more than 100+ people in tech team. It's kinda wasting time and I don't think everyone can remembered what is going on. - They was no engineering manager position which can solve and made a decision in some technical side, as a developer you will report to product owner in your team (Which is very bad, some of product owner doesn't even care about engineering process, they just want to "Get things done"). You also have functional manager (Which is some developer who have more seniority) But they can only help you in some advices for implementation. - They used to have QA department, which is good, because if your team & product are get bigger they should have some one who creating & responsible in quality assurance. But then they decided to collapsed it because they think focus on "pushing" features are more important. - Since there is no QA department, sometimes you & your team will got assigned to some bugs and complaints directly - Not so friendly environment, when everyone still working in the office, no one talking to you if they don't want some answer that related to works, (Because they have a lot of workloads and try to "get things done"). Some people are going have a lunch together, but that's all. - Even after all of the above complaints, CEOs and top management still saying that since the company get bigger, we are start to get lazy (What?!, everyone needs to work long hour for you guys everyday to be enough?) - Rather than try to encourage/help and give a constructive feedback to employee that underperform in some point. They probably fired you because they don't have time for that, they wants to "get things done"

    Continue reading
    Revolut2020-05-01

    Revolut Response

    May 22, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Revolut. We appreciate you letting us know how you feel it could be better and we’d like to address a few of the points you made. Regarding performance reviews, the process includes time for informal and formal check ins on performance. Where people leave after a performance review, this follows formal review and discussion of their performance and where the company believes that the employee has not achieved the expected performance. The purpose of having a line manager as well as a functional manager is that one is task and programme oriented and one an expert in skillsets who can help with realistic expectations and measures. This offers a double-pronged approach to development, learning and progression. If you feel this isn’t working with you, we’d strongly recommend getting together with both of your managers and work out how you might use the structure more to your advantage. Regarding the atmosphere in the office, as a company that has grown quickly, we’ve placed a big emphasis on making sure that our offices are friendly, warm and inclusive for everyone, and feel our workplace experience team and guilds do an excellent job in bringing our people together, both in a work and social context. We’re sorry that you haven’t felt that this has been the case for you so far. We are pleased that you’re satisfied with some important areas such as salary, benefits, perks and of course the people you’re surrounded by, and we’ll ensure that your thorough feedback is passed on.

  6. Helpful (23)

    "Working at Revolut"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I have been working at Revolut full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Revolut is in the process of scaling and scaling quickly, with that comes opportunities which are not normally afforded during the span of "standard career progression", e.g., working on projects to create a new bank, automating tasks, launching the product in new markets, etc. 2. You will encounter and work with some of the most engaged stakeholders, whether that is internally or externally on many varied topics. 3. The customer is at the heart of what the company does. 4. Flat working structure, this means you can openly approach any member of staff. 5. Self-reflection is part of the Revolut way, i.e., what could have been done differently to achieve a better outcome.

    Cons

    1. Revolut does not value emotional intelligence. 2. There are no females within senior management (London office). 3. At times KPIs are unrealistic. 4. Revolut tries to avoid workplace politics but in reality, it struggles with it, e.g., a set group within senior management sets the tone culturally. 5. Salaries and annual leave allowance should be improved, particularly as it scales to compete with bigger tech companies, not all employees are swayed by share options (or entitled to them). 6. Difficult to maintain a work-life balance and there is no real HR department.

    Continue reading
    Revolut2019-03-04
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Revolut full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - unlimited opportunities for growth; - open culture; - smart colleagues; - strong team spirit;

    Cons

    Very demanding company not for those who are used to "relaxed startup" atmosphere. Employees are ignited by the idea to change the global banking landscape and this requires full dedication and commitment to the company. In reality the company is as close as possible to it's stated values of "get things done". Forget about work/life balance.

    Continue reading
    Revolut2019-03-03
  8. Helpful (104)

    "Bad Culture / Overworked / Under-appreciated"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Revolut full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get a free metal card as an employee,free drinks in the fridge and Thirsty Thursday, however this is standard with most startups nowadays so nothing really unique.

    Cons

    This is not the place if value your mental health or work/life balance. You get told the company culture is work 12 hours a day for 7 days which the CEO constantly says in all his interviews. Which is understandable if you are were one of the first employees with lots of stock options to join however to expect someone to 84 hours a week for the same salary as you can make at Google or Facebook, doesn't make sense. Employees get spoken to like crap, the CEO sends out an email threatening employees with being fired if they don't meet their targets every 3-6 months which is always nice to know your CEO doesn't care. We've had 5 different people do the role of Head of People in 18 months, no-one sticks around as the CEO gets rid of them. I'll be leaving as soon as I find a better company and more competent senior management.

    Continue reading
    Revolut2019-01-31
  9. Helpful (23)

    "Stay away from Revolut!!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Revolut full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Product is good; - It's a fast moving company.

    Cons

    - Work life balance gone, expect to work over the weekend and long hours (12-14 hours p/day); - Management is bullying employees providing unrealistic KPIs to reach and then complaining about your incapability to reach the results; - Managers consider employees as a pure number; - There is no humanity in this company; you can read also the bad coverage about their culture; - Hiring/Firing company; - High employees turnover; average staying is below 6 months. Stay away from there.

    Continue reading
    Revolut2019-02-28
  10. Helpful (32)

    "Good product and PR, poor culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Revolut full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great exposure and involvement in many different projects Full accountability in many projects from day one

    Cons

    - Work life balance is poor but if you work in startups you should be fine with it as it happens in most of them. Good to mention that KPIs are more difficult to meet due to management high expectations so you will be working longer hours than in other startups. - Too many projects going on at the same time and all of them are urgent for management. This situation brings lots of pressure on employees not making days enjoyable at all. - Employee benefits don’t exist

    Revolut2018-04-09
Found 16 reviews