Reynolds American Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Reynolds American Reviews

Updated 16 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
55%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Reynolds American President and CEO  Ricardo Oberlander
Ricardo Oberlander
109 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Account Manager - look elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not many currently looking at what other companies offer. Here are some : -Flexible schedule -Personal Gas -Masters Degree reimbursement -Car wash stipend -

    Cons

    Plenty of cons; -Poorly paid versus the competition -Workload of 2017 - Home Office is completely out of touch with the reality in the field. -Promotion structure - expect you to put your life on hold for a phone call and 30 days notice to move. No say at all in where you go. They expect your whole family to up and move their life for an average pay increase - Promotion process - you are at the mercy of management individuals who may have spent 1 or 2 days with you. Many are reluctant to promote. - Company hiring externally when many employees are ready for Promotion. - Company cares more about diversity statistics over hiring the right person. - Management cannot handle any type of challenging or criticism but expect TMs to take ALL feedback and implement without question. - Rigid progression path - not everyone wants to go the route RAI has mapped out. Be flexible not everyone wants to be a DM. Give the opportunities for varied career progression. - Technology in the company and given to employees is terrible. The job takes longer daily because of the poor technology. Get it right and spend money on a proper IT department! - Your career depends solely on having a good DM or KAM. If you don’t get this you will never get promoted

    Continue reading
    Reynolds American2017-12-27
  2. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanic in Oxford, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay is pretty good and fair. Work life balance is good. People and some managers are good to work with

    Cons

    Not that easy for some to move forward within company

    Reynolds American2020-02-16
  3. "Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time

    Pros

    Good to great based on what you want

    Cons

    It is Tobacco if that bothers you

    Reynolds American2020-02-06
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, good benefit. The company is growing fast, create many opportunities for career advancement

    Cons

    Winston-Salem is not the nicest city to live

    Reynolds American2020-01-22
  5. "Great Company with above an above average salary package"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance: Opportunity to work from remote The company is committed to professional growth: Several programs available to enhance leadership Dedicated to their employees professional development Great benefit package Top pay for entry level scientists (PhD with or without Post-doc)

    Cons

    Opportunity for promotions: The current structure can be a little frustrating

    Continue reading
    Reynolds American2020-01-12
  6. Helpful (12)

    "TM position not recommended...Save yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager 
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company Car Company training in NC Las Vegas Employee Convention Paid Time OFF Work/Life balance Working alone Strong Brand Portfolio Training

    Cons

    Work: The days can be very monotonous and draining. You will do the same task numerous times that you thought were complete. This is because the company constantly changes directions. Plan on doing numerous vapor and tobacco resets over and over again. It is more of a merchandising job than a sales job. Customers can also be difficult and not respectful of contracts. When territories are vacant other TMs have to cover the assignment, yet coverage expectations are the same. You may have to drive hours to go to a few stores, very unproductive. Innovation: Reynolds is innovative but always late introducing new products. Product launches are unorganized. Past cigarette launches have been a failure. Reynolds wants to dominate the market but will have a hard time increasing SOM with how they launch products. Barriers: New current and future legislation is turning the tobacco business upside down. Menthol bans, vapor bans, and flavor bans is creating chaos in the work life of a tobacco rep. In a troubled industry reps can clearly see that there is a problem. This is creating uncertainty with future job security and morale is fading. Pay: The pay is mediocre and not competitive in markets where the cost of living is higher. The cost of living adjustment is a joke. Management: If you have a good manager this will make work more enjoyable. If you have a manager that micro-manages life will be difficult for you in the TM position. Training: Best in class training and coaching. Best to retain and apply the knowledge at your next job.

    Continue reading
    Reynolds American2020-01-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time

    Pros

    Hardly Any. Company car.

    Cons

    Low Pay. Obsolete Structure. Pushing tobacco.

    Reynolds American2020-02-08
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A Nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager in Tulsa, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You will be provided with professional training that will take you a long way in sales -Depending on where you are located you will work with really amazing, and hard working people -The executives recognize its consumers are shifting; hence the focus is to transform the portfolio to reflect such products. I’m excited to see how it will continue to evolve -Employee resources such as company nurse, fitness groups, mental health advocates, etc.

    Cons

    Upon the start of my career I had the pleasure of reporting to people whom both embraced career growth and provided candid feedback to ensure I grew professionally. Once that person was promoted and replaced by someone only capable of provided coaching to get me to a point where I was able to preform the tasks of the TM role only. (After two years the TM role will become redundant, it’s important for you to take on other tasks outside of the scope of your assignment) Although my career goals were clear, I was met with reluctance, and even suggested to remain a TM after the pay scale was adjusted (which is laughable by other Talent Recruiters; my new base salary is substantially more than the TM III max base amount) After I shared that I was expecting (which I was already hesitant to do as its hard to trust someone whom talked to me negatively about my teammates) the following was said within the last 4 months of my tenure -Stop conducting Consumer Engagements, even though some of peers had more placements than I did -Stop placing doctors appts in my calendar, and to note the day in my calendar to fill out maternity leave (I would later learn this is the same day I would be terminated) - The only way I would be considered for promotion is to receive above the line 2 years in a row My termination write up was one paragraph, with no previous corrective actions or coaching on to improve such acts. I was surprised because I’ve been at retail, and sat in meetings where store manager(s) have said they haven’t seen a rep from other assignments within the division in over a year; the manager was present and did nothing about it (I have proof and can provide the names of the store managers whom were present). I was terminated when I was 36 weeks pregnant for actions I could truthfully provide responses for (I offered to return to the outlets to speak with whomever they wanted) the people whom carried out the separation process (had never previously worked with me) did not care to hear me out, or take into consideration the toll of being in my third trimester took on my body (high blood pressure and early dilation; all of which is documented by my personal doctor and the corporate nurse) *If you are a minority, with very little professional support If you happen to be placed on a team with no minority peers or unsupportive manager, my suggestion is to embrace the opportunity to grow but understand you will work exceedingly hard just to receive the same acknowledgement as your peers.* In my experience my teammates were very supportive, however the treatment provided for my peers was not extended to me; there was no room for failure and when I did fail I was terminated. (As were the last two minorities on the same exact team) *For any hopeful applicant* Remember that as an at will employee a company can terminate you at any time, with no cause or reason; always keep your resume updated

    Continue reading
    Reynolds American2020-02-05
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Not Recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not difficult, good benefits,

    Cons

    Management has no interest in feedback from people in the field. Your job happiness is almost entirely dependent on your manager. The annual review process is terrible. Tons of opportunity for favoritism and there is very little objective reviewing in relation to your actual job duties. They will move the bar based on what other people did so that even if you go above and beyond, management can say everyone did that so you just met the minimal expectations. Employees are underpaid at the job compared to the competition

    Continue reading
    Reynolds American2019-12-09
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Territory Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager in Spanish Fork, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Great Team Awesome Leadership

    Cons

    The "succession" or opportunities for advancement is somewhat frustrating.

    Continue reading
    Reynolds American2019-11-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 896 reviews