Reynolds American Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Reynolds American Reviews

Updated 30 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
57%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Reynolds American CEO  Ricardo Oberlander
Ricardo Oberlander
104 Ratings
  1. "Overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Disbursements in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Excellent salary Work environment

    Cons

    Flexible Long hours Worn out

    Reynolds American2019-10-15
  2. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American

    Pros

    -Great people -Great company culture - Great leadership team in the area I was in -The company stresses the importance of the TM role and you can have a great career and retire very comfortably in that position. -Great work/life balance. Management entrust that you are performing in your position. Not a whole lot of stress by management as long as you are executing on the initiatives. -Absolutely should be... considered one of the best companies you can work for. Made the wrong decision leaving. -The company invest in sales training that helps you in your everyday life.

    Show More

    Cons

    -Little chance of advancement if not mobile. Just the nature of a global company. -The TM role can get monotonous each day going in and out of convenience stores but that is the nature of the position. -The company changed the pay structure after I left but at the time with the TM top out on salary and no upward mobility it left in a place for no more growth financially. Still a comfortable living depending on... location.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Involve the TMs in local chain meetings and decisions as the tenured TMs are the constant in their territories as AMs are usually in the position for a short term. -Allow some opportunities for the TMs to get out of the field and do other projects from time to time.

    Reynolds American2019-10-15
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager 

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very flexible autonomy of daily schedule.

    Cons

    Store managers and owners can be difficult to work with.

    Reynolds American2019-09-28
  4. "Retired after over 40 years with RJR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tm3 in Mount Pleasant, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Training you receive is the best . Empowerment to make decisions using the tools provided . There are 2 types of decisions the right and the wrong , but the only bad decisions is to not make a decision. If you are looking for advancement the oppitunity is there for you. Benifits are good , vacation , car and health

    Cons

    More upside the down . Have lost good people in the past waiting to be promoted.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and continue to look to the future

    Reynolds American2019-09-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mgr in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good people, good benefits, good location

    Cons

    tough industry that can be volatile

    Advice to Management

    be flexible, understand the US market

    Reynolds American2019-09-15
  6. Helpful (3)

    "TM's do alot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager 

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time

    Pros

    TM's and the teams

    Cons

    Upper management can be a little worried about job stability therefore creating extra work for the TMs who have enough going on

    Reynolds American2019-09-18
  7. Helpful (16)

    "Zero business opportunity and future!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    6% 401 k match Hard working peers Top talent

    Cons

    -The company boasts about being a recognized best place to work but look closely because it is not for field or marketing employees. It’s is for manufacturing and production which is completely different and not even in the same bundling or campus. -The organization is filled with so many solid employees but fail to develop their business acumen. Really, the training is not sales but more industrial making sure... you are able to swing open retail doors and reset fixtures. The budget cuts have begun and will continue to force down greater work to field employees with zero pay increase. The organization is hoping you leave and will replace you with a fresh body at a cheaper price. People will continue to leave for greater pay and opportunity. Currently the company is built like enterprise rent a car where you have to every job and all employees floppier the same exact path. -Extremely dated promotion path process where you have to complete the same path as all people before you. -Zero work life balance! -RJR s constantly playing catch up to the competition and failing to implement anything really impactful. Only copying what Marlboro does with only half the funding which usually ends up complicating everything and failing. -Paying for a required company car at $175 a month where no other CPG firm does. -Our systems and processes are antiquated and dated causing so many complications and frustrations in the field. Speaking with all customers they express how RJR is the most complicated to deal with and zero resources to help. -Marlboro has a team of account manners who work with accounts where we have one person who does all job. Customers see how little we provide our own employees with resources. -It is clearly evident the business strategy is to underpay and overwork employees until they leave and then fill the position with a cheap body that does not question.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees and hire more people to divide the work. There is zero work life balance and the amount of “ see what sticks” initiatives is ridiculous and unmanageable.

    Reynolds American2019-09-25
  8. Helpful (22)

    "Nurtured by Reynolds - Blossoming with JUUL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Just like other reviews on here. Great hard working people. Company car (you have to pay for) and matching 401k 6%

    Cons

    • Car This has been mentioned several times here. Company charges $175 per month. My company over pays me to pick my own company car and stash the rest in case of something. But I don’t have to pay $175 of my net salary to the company. • Competitive salary. This is the most common compliant out of all the reviews. The salary is very substandard in today’s market. Salary in the 50k range in high cost of living... areas are not sustainable. Companies inside and outside the area are paying wages way beyond this company. This is also demoralizing the TMs witnessing this. • Tenured Turnover Companies as large as this already anticipate turnover and its to be assumed that they have a certain number of an acceptable percentage of turnover. But from my region you just see a plethora of TM3’s with a wide array of experience and best practices to share leave for JUUL. This is just the beginning as it will continue to be a chain reaction. When 1 TM leaves there are 5 other TMs waiting a few months more to hear the feedback of how much better it is. Then those 5 will leave and tell 5 more and so on. This has been happening for about 2 years at least. And the candidates coming in are people that have been fired, laid off, or desperately looking for any type of work because their savings ran out. Do you want to hire these people? Sure you can replace the team lead TM with someone else. But the combination of poor candidates coming in and exceptional, experienced TM leaders going out is not by any means a wash. Average starting salary in my area for a field sales position is 70k. At 50k no one is going to leave their positions for less pay unless it’s for the reasons listed above.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make salary competitive enough for people to stay or else the exchange of TM3’s go out and desperate candidates that have been unemployed for 6-9 months will join which I have see a lot these last 18 months. Starting someone at 50k when the market pays 20-30k more is ridiculous. Also, giving your most experienced TMs nothing on the last pay adjustment really opened the door for JUUL. Give tenured TMs (the ones you... still have hanging by a thread) way more salary so they are not going to get recruited by JUUL like I was. I suggest 90k immediately for your highest performing TMs to stay. This will be competitive and your most talented will stay. The alternative is watch them trickle out one by one and take 2-3 TMs with them. Because of all the turnover, I know at least half the region I’m in have applied to JUUL because of the word of mouth others previously left. RJRT TMs are responsible for 120+ SKUs and JUUL only has a handful SKUs , for more salary and better compensation package. It has already been at least 2 years of seeing JUUL snatch TMs. I just read that another review on here that a high performing TM was making very low comp after 10 years. Can you blame them for walking out with all that experience if you won’t pay a decent wage for experience? It’s not just turnover either. Someone high performing to the region leaving is definitely a huge hit on morale for all the other TMs. Their “go to” person is gone and most managers don’t know the day to day answers. Like I’ve read in other reviews, I have to agree that I would still be in the company today if RJRT paid a tenured TM the proper pay to retain and protect that experience.

    Show More
    Reynolds American2019-09-18
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Just my outlook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits such as vacation allocation and tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    Everything else! Work load is unreasonable. Marketing strategies are questionable. They claim to be innovating but are always 2 to 3 years begins from the competition.

    Advice to Management

    YOU need more diversity within upper management. You have a sprinkle of women and race diversity just to meet the status quo.

    Reynolds American2019-08-20
  10. Helpful (2)

    "RJ Reynolds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and work/life balance

    Cons

    Direction changes very often. Often reactive.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to promote employees internally

    Reynolds American2019-08-03
Found 887 reviews