Reynolds American Sales Representative Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Reynolds American Sales Representative Reviews

Updated 9 Dec 2018

To filter reviews, or .

1.0
0%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Reynolds American CEO  Ricardo Oberlander
Ricardo Oberlander
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (14)

    "Not a good idea if I were you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Representative in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They have very good benefits. You can also buy company stock

    Cons

    It's all depends who your manager is. You can have a very good experience will you could have a very bad experience

    Advice to Management

    Take more time and train your management.

    Reynolds American2018-12-10
  2. Helpful (24)

    "Dissapointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Vacation, benefits, company car and 401k

    Cons

    I once loved working at Reynolds. I have even helped friends get jobs with the company. I now feel responsible for how miserable they have become. The company gives territory managers all the work and the least amount of pay. They overload us with new launches, resets, and unnecessary best practices. They have us sell in products that will not sell in which takes away all credibility we have built with our customers.... Management then has the audacity to force us to recall these products after we have sold them in. Its embarrassing. The customers that I had the best relationships with dont trust me anymore. This job has truthfully and honestly become the biggest stress in my life. I am so dissapointed in the fact NOTHING has been done with all these complaints. We are all simply replaceable so theres no need to change a thing.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You were once in our position and I would love for you to spend a week in the field. You would end up quitting or make an excuse and delegate all the work to us.

    Reynolds American2018-09-07
  3. Helpful (17)

    "Outdated Company Structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Representative in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Car Internet Phone Training program (somewhat) The company 401k plan is good and the culture used to be someplace you want to work at and the pay equaled expectations

    Cons

    This is life of a young TM with a family with Reynolds... - you have a 50/50 shot at best at getting promoted (this depends if your dm personally likes you btw) - you have 1 career path - the TM has to be mobile anywhere in the United States (regardless of the "fluff" you will hear) - the TM will not know when it occurs, yet has to uproot their family at many times in 10 days or less or live isolated in the... area until who knows when. - the workload you face keeps increasing, yet pay has remained the same minus inflation for the past 12 years - the "raise" is so minimal you could struggle even more at the new position

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    How about advice to the field? Get in and then get out with this company.... it's a Dinosaur culture now posing with progressive benefits in a dying industry

    Reynolds American2017-12-17
  4. "Territory Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time

    Pros

    Good people, room to advance if inclined to the work required

    Cons

    Declining industry, repetitive work, stigma of the core product

    Reynolds American2015-04-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Perfect opportunity for "hungry" College Grad's to kickstart their professional career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Opportunities for upward mobility if you are willing to RELOCATE and put in the work to get there. -Work Hard, Play Hard Company culture (if you're into that) -Developing Talent is highly valued... this company will invest in you! -All promotions are within the RAI talent pool (outside RAI hires are rare) -Benefits are fairly good (Vehicle/GAS, 401K, Health/Dental).

    Cons

    -little opportunity to be creative. Much of the work is execution and robotic based. Unfortunately, the job can get somewhat monotonous and boring. -inconsistency at entry level manager due to inexperienced manager's. Some manager's are excellent, some are horrible. In my opinion, much of this is due to RAI's "fast-track" strategy with succession candidates. -Some bureaucracy (like any other fortune 500). ... -Work Environment is primarily at Gas Stations and Convenience Stores... not exactly a glamorous work site.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give people the opportunity to share new ideas, practice creativity and innovation. The Tobacco Transformation you are trying to construct may be right under your nose.

    Reynolds American2014-01-24
  6. Helpful (2)

    "It was fun at first until new management took over"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There were no pros to this job

    Cons

    Always changed procedures and followed you around in your territory all of the time

    Advice to Management

    If you are unhappy with employee fire them do not make them miserable

    Reynolds American2013-10-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    pay and benefits, car, travel

    Cons

    limited mobility, deal with contracts

    Advice to Management

    none

    Reynolds American2013-08-07
  8. "Sales rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Well known name & many in demand products. Good salary and benefits. Company car.

    Cons

    Management more concerned with market share and distribution than with customers and ethics. Reps are required to act like they own the retail stores they deal with. It's RJR's way or no way.

    Advice to Management

    Without your customers you have nothing.

    Reynolds American2013-05-19
  9. "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Number two company in the industry.

    Cons

    If you don't want to relocate, don't expect to get promoted.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Reynolds American2013-03-09
  10. "Cold management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Representative in Winston-Salem, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American

    Pros

    Salary Is a great positive. Reason why most are there. I left in- spite of the high salary...

    Cons

    Top-down... Old management forever.. No change for 8 years I was there

    Advice to Management

    Shake it up at the top.

    Reynolds American2012-03-05
Found 13 reviews