Reynolds American Territory Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Reynolds American Territory Manager Reviews

Updated 9 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
52%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Reynolds American CEO  Ricardo Oberlander
Ricardo Oberlander
59 Ratings
  1. "Not Recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not difficult, good benefits,

    Cons

    Management has no interest in feedback from people in the field. Your job happiness is almost entirely dependent on your manager. The annual review process is terrible. Tons of opportunity for favoritism and there is very little objective reviewing in relation to your actual job duties. They will move the bar based on what other people did so that even if you go above and beyond, management can say everyone did... that so you just met the minimal expectations. Employees are underpaid at the job compared to the competition

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make the annual review process based on actual numbers, don't have management present their employees in a panel style. It is not transparent at all. Keep district managers on the same page, the job is currently entirely different between regions and DMs. There are vastly different expectations out of different regions

    Reynolds American2019-12-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Territory Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager in Spanish Fork, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Great Team Awesome Leadership

    Cons

    The "succession" or opportunities for advancement is somewhat frustrating.

    Advice to Management

    If employees who are applying for internal jobs to reach their career goals is not going to be considered then posting jobs in the internal job postings shouldn't be continued.

    Reynolds American2019-11-30
  3. "Great company, great people, awesome benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Always learning, and fast transforming business

    Cons

    None, sometimes things get frustrating but that’s with any job .

    Reynolds American2019-11-24
  4. "Be ready to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay People Company car Flexibility People

    Cons

    Everyone is super busy. Downtime is minimal if you want to succeed.

    Reynolds American2019-11-22
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Stable company with solid pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company has fantastic benefits and the expectations are low for their employees.

    Cons

    The company does not promote based on merit at all.

    Reynolds American2019-11-01
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager 

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very flexible autonomy of daily schedule.

    Cons

    Store managers and owners can be difficult to work with.

    Reynolds American2019-09-28
  7. Helpful (3)

    "TM's do alot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager 

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time

    Pros

    TM's and the teams

    Cons

    Upper management can be a little worried about job stability therefore creating extra work for the TMs who have enough going on

    Reynolds American2019-09-18
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Just my outlook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits such as vacation allocation and tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    Everything else! Work load is unreasonable. Marketing strategies are questionable. They claim to be innovating but are always 2 to 3 years begins from the competition.

    Advice to Management

    YOU need more diversity within upper management. You have a sprinkle of women and race diversity just to meet the status quo.

    Reynolds American2019-08-20
  9. Helpful (22)

    "Nurtured by Reynolds - Blossoming with JUUL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Just like other reviews on here. Great hard working people. Company car (you have to pay for) and matching 401k 6%

    Cons

    • Car This has been mentioned several times here. Company charges $175 per month. My company over pays me to pick my own company car and stash the rest in case of something. But I don’t have to pay $175 of my net salary to the company. • Competitive salary. This is the most common compliant out of all the reviews. The salary is very substandard in today’s market. Salary in the 50k range in high cost of living... areas are not sustainable. Companies inside and outside the area are paying wages way beyond this company. This is also demoralizing the TMs witnessing this. • Tenured Turnover Companies as large as this already anticipate turnover and its to be assumed that they have a certain number of an acceptable percentage of turnover. But from my region you just see a plethora of TM3’s with a wide array of experience and best practices to share leave for JUUL. This is just the beginning as it will continue to be a chain reaction. When 1 TM leaves there are 5 other TMs waiting a few months more to hear the feedback of how much better it is. Then those 5 will leave and tell 5 more and so on. This has been happening for about 2 years at least. And the candidates coming in are people that have been fired, laid off, or desperately looking for any type of work because their savings ran out. Do you want to hire these people? Sure you can replace the team lead TM with someone else. But the combination of poor candidates coming in and exceptional, experienced TM leaders going out is not by any means a wash. Average starting salary in my area for a field sales position is 70k. At 50k no one is going to leave their positions for less pay unless it’s for the reasons listed above.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make salary competitive enough for people to stay or else the exchange of TM3’s go out and desperate candidates that have been unemployed for 6-9 months will join which I have see a lot these last 18 months. Starting someone at 50k when the market pays 20-30k more is ridiculous. Also, giving your most experienced TMs nothing on the last pay adjustment really opened the door for JUUL. Give tenured TMs (the ones you... still have hanging by a thread) way more salary so they are not going to get recruited by JUUL like I was. I suggest 90k immediately for your highest performing TMs to stay. This will be competitive and your most talented will stay. The alternative is watch them trickle out one by one and take 2-3 TMs with them. Because of all the turnover, I know at least half the region I’m in have applied to JUUL because of the word of mouth others previously left. RJRT TMs are responsible for 120+ SKUs and JUUL only has a handful SKUs , for more salary and better compensation package. It has already been at least 2 years of seeing JUUL snatch TMs. I just read that another review on here that a high performing TM was making very low comp after 10 years. Can you blame them for walking out with all that experience if you won’t pay a decent wage for experience? It’s not just turnover either. Someone high performing to the region leaving is definitely a huge hit on morale for all the other TMs. Their “go to” person is gone and most managers don’t know the day to day answers. Like I’ve read in other reviews, I have to agree that I would still be in the company today if RJRT paid a tenured TM the proper pay to retain and protect that experience.

    Show More
    Reynolds American2019-09-18
  10. Helpful (2)

    "RJ Reynolds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and work/life balance

    Cons

    Direction changes very often. Often reactive.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to promote employees internally

    Reynolds American2019-08-03
Found 375 reviews