Ricardo Graduate Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Ricardo Graduate Engineer Reviews

Updated 26 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Ricardo CEO and Managing Director, International Dave Shemmans
Dave Shemmans
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great graduate scheme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Engineer in Royal Leamington Spa, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ricardo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great graduate scheme with lots of opportunites for hard workers

    Cons

    Need a strong work ethic to suceed.

    Continue reading
    Ricardo2018-12-07
  2. "Friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Engineer in Shoreham-by-Sea, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ricardo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is very friendly. Get the chance to work on a broad variety of projects. Excellent exposure to knowledge as a graduate.

    Cons

    Unrealistic deadlines sometimes set for tasks.

    Ricardo2020-02-26
  3. "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Engineer in Shoreham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ricardo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mission driven, good bunch of people working together. Quality projects and flexible working hours

    Cons

    As with consulting, the down times can get frustrating. The pay does not reflect the profession or experience. Slow progression routes. Low investment into future tech and short term / immediate result focussed.

    Ricardo2019-10-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Opportunities, Albeit Not Without Frustrations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ricardo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a graduate there's a lot of opportunity to develop across the board, from rotating through different departments and working on a large range of projects throughout the scheme, to international rotations and opportunities to work off site at various customer sites.

    Cons

    Because of the nature of a consultancy the workload can vary quite significantly throughout the year, ranging from incredibly busy to incredibly quiet in certain departments. This can be quite frustrating if you want to rotate into a department that doesn't have much work on at the time.

    Continue reading
    Ricardo2018-04-26
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Fading glory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Engineer in Shoreham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ricardo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very knowledgeable people in some areas. Everybody seems to be friendly and professional (more or less). Still has a good name in the industry. If you are lucky, you are going to be working on very interesting and challenging engineering projects.

    Cons

    Typical problems of a corporation. If you are unlucky, you will be stuck at your desk with very little work to do or with work that you do not need a Masters Degree for. Working conditions in, Shoreham especially, are abysmal. Personal space is a joke, no kitchen, toilets are prehistoric and in general a lot of mess (as a result of lacking personal space). Prague offices are much better though, cannot comment on Midlands. Lack of clear, decisive structure of the management as well as lack of enforcement of whatever structure there currently present which results in chaos. Projects are being done but solely due to the people being used to the chaos not because of a working managerial system. High average age, almost no women. In general, very stiff feeling regarding the structure of the company and its ability to adapt to 21st century. Raising these issues results in sympathetic nod and soothing words rather than action.

    Continue reading
    Ricardo2018-03-12

    Ricardo Response

    April 10, 2018Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback, as you are a current graduate employed by Ricardo we have ensured that your feedback has been seen by our Graduate programme leader. On our graduate scheme our graduates are given real projects to work on as soon as they start and they add value to our business from Day 1. At Ricardo, we encourage our graduates to speak to their line managers or HR if they have concerns about the fit of their skills to their work in any of their rotations. We aim to tailor the Graduate rotations in line with the skills or subject areas of interest. We are proud that our Shoreham site has grown and developed over 100 years and we recognise that some areas are more modern than others. Our site team work hard to maintain our space and if you have any specific feedback about an area I would encourage you to contact them. With regards to personal desk space, we encourage all staff to complete a work station assessment to ensure that they are comfortable. If you are not sure how to do this, please contact the health and safety team. The R-Ideas forum is where employees can make suggestions for improvements or new ideas which are panel reviewed on a regular basis. Senior management deliver regular Pulse meetings in which they discuss the bigger picture and how Ricardo fits within the Industry. This is an open forum in which individuals are able to ask questions about that fit. We would love to see more female engineers at our Shoreham site and our careers website has a section on diversity and inclusion for those who would like more information https://careers.ricardo.com/our-culture/diversity-and-inclusion-at-ricardo . We have a delivery excellence programme in place and if you have ideas as to how projects could be more efficiently managed then the working party would be happy to hear your feedback. Our induction programme is extended for our graduates and we also issue on-boarding surveys to allow new starters to feed back to us on how their first 3 months of employment has been. This allows us to establish possible areas where we could improve. Thank you for leaving your feedback, we wish you every success in your current Graduate scheme.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Could be fantastic, let down by some poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Engineer in Shoreham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ricardo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Huge variety of work, will not be doing the same thing every day, everyone is ridiculously clever and willing to help. There is a lot of on-the-job and off-the-job training. Can get involved in most projects if you ask.

    Cons

    The pay is very low. They only hire people with a master's degree in engineering from a top uni (for the graduate positions) but they pay significantly less. The company is based in one of the most expensive places in the UK so you will still have to live like a student.

    Continue reading
    Ricardo2018-02-02

    Ricardo Response

    March 1, 2018Human Resources

    Thank you for your great review. We really appreciate all of the positive points you listed. Varied project work is something our employees like most about working for us. Having employees that are so passionate about their work really resonates with the core values of Ricardo. We try to provide career development opportunities for our young professionals to gain experience in the early stages of their careers. All of our applications go through the same process and we are open to candidates from a variety of academic study backgrounds. In terms of the comments regarding salary, for our Graduates we provide a separate twice yearly review and benchmark against our competitors and other graduate schemes. However, if you have any specific queries with regards to pay please discuss this with your HR Manager or Department manager.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Neglect of employees over shareholder satisfaction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Engineer in Shoreham-by-Sea, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ricardo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good wealth of knowledge, very good place to learn. Location is fantastic (for the HQ in shoreham anyway) Great graduate program

    Cons

    office conditions and atmosphere are abysmal no bonuses to speak of, and the salary progression is very secretive. Not enough transparency about pay distribution within the comapny

    Ricardo2016-11-30
  8. "Good experience opportunities for young engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Engineer in Shoreham-by-Sea, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ricardo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The graduate scheme is good for gaining experience in a wide variety of departments, and graduates are given a lot of responsibility Very wide range of projects, no two days are the same

    Cons

    Salary and yearly pay reviews are disappointing Company benefits are awful Top heavy management structure

    Continue reading
    Ricardo2015-09-06
  9. "Bright minds around ..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Graduate Engineer in Shoreham-by-Sea, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Ricardo

    Pros

    Complex and diverse projects Growing 80% Automotive Engineering related projects

    Cons

    Few opportunities for travelling either in projects or within the company

    Ricardo2012-01-19

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews