Ricardo Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated 4 Nov 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Ricardo CEO and Managing Director, International Dave Shemmans
Dave Shemmans
139 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Only the senior management get bonuses despite the work being done by the far superior skilled and experienced lower graded and lower paid workers(in 20 reviews)

  • "Pay - no bonus, insulting (or cancelled) pay rise(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "senior management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great projects, people and clients"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Worthing, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ricardo full-time

    Pros

    People are amazing Projects are interesting and worthwhile Client base

    Cons

    Senior management structure. Promoted engineers into non engineering positions

    Continue reading

    Ricardo Response

    September 21, 2020HR Intern

    Thanks for the 5* review! It is great that you listed so many positives about working here, but it is understandable that you have some constructive feedback for us too. We really pride ourselves on the friendly culture that you mentioned, and we value the positive internal structure we have through our employees. Our staff regularly say they love the varied, interesting projects that we work on and we have found that they often enjoy the fast-paced work environment which opens up lots of different opportunities to work with high profile clients. We’re really glad that you have benefitted from both of these things! It is, however, also important to us that we ensure employees feel represented and led by a management team that they support. It is understandable that, in some cases, employees may not agree with the company’s choices, but we do make these with the best interests of the company in mind. If you wish to discuss anything further, we encourage you to open up to your Team Leaders or to contact your Human Resources team. They will be more than happy to help!

  2. "Needs some big changes"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Shoreham-by-Sea, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ricardo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The varied work can be interesting, location, work-life balance can be good if not too busy (flexitime)

    Cons

    Non-competitive salary, extremely slow progression, no bonus, ruthless senior management

    Continue reading

    Ricardo Response

    November 27, 2020HR Intern

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We take your comments very seriously and would like to address some of the points you have mentioned. We’re really glad that you found the project work here interesting and were able to make the most of the flexible working options we have available. We are, however, saddened that some of your experience was much less positive. Our ambition for our company is to become an employer of choice. We really value the contribution all employees make to the success of the business and therefore we try to reward each individual accordingly. As a company, it is also important to us that we provide a positive working environment and that employees feel represented and led by a management team that they support. I am sorry if you feel this was not the case for you. We wish you the best of luck in the rest of your career!


  3. "Great company with lots of work flexibility"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ricardo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong focus on work-life balance and flexibility, high levels of concern about staff as people, focus on staff development, the staff / team are highly committed to making a difference.

    Cons

    The bonus scheme is pointless is not an inventive - you never get it (or we do well but its all taken by group), communication and visibility by senior management is poor, with a strong preference to the short term

    Continue reading

    Ricardo Response

    November 2, 2020HR Intern

    Thanks for leaving a 4* review! It is really great to see such positive comments from our current employees. We really care about employee welfare, so we’re delighted to hear that you’ve found a working pattern that suits you. It’s also great that you feel that there is always a chance to grow and develop here! We try to make sure we are an open, transparent employer as we know that every decision made at the top-level impacts not only the strategic direction of the business, but most importantly, our employees. In some cases, employees may not agree with our decisions, and that is understandable, but they are always made in the best interests of our goals as a company. We continually discuss how we can better improve channels of communication across the company, and we welcome all feedback. If you wish to discuss anything further, we would really encourage you to get in touch with your Team Leader or a member of HR. They will be happy to help!

  4. "Great company, great projects, great clients.... but management are awful"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Lead Process Engineer in Shoreham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ricardo for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great team spirit. Good social side. Career opportunities but ONLY if you have a degree... if not, you'll be treated like a second class worker and likely not even be offered an interview for other roles despite having the experience and skill to carry out the role.

    Cons

    Only the senior management get bonuses despite the work being done by the far superior skilled and experienced lower graded and lower paid workers. Most senior management are 'one project wonders' and have no depth to their ability or experience

    Continue reading

    Ricardo Response

    March 16, 2020Human Resources

    Thanks for the review, we agree that we have a fantastic culture. However if you do have concerns about your personal career development please talk to us in HR, we are here to listen and can help signpost you to development opportunities.

  5. "Poor management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing in Royal Leamington Spa, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ricardo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Co workers, some interesting work

    Cons

    Poor senior management, do not respect shop floor, push through ideas no matter how ill-conceived they are, constantly changing them to suit their agenda even if it is not good for company, people leaving because of this but management do not care about that at all, Morale is very poor among workforce and getting worse.

    Continue reading

    Ricardo Response

    January 6, 2020Marketing Intern

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It is great that you have enjoyed the work and who you do it with. At Ricardo, these are some of the qualities that we strive for most. We also work hard to make sure our management system works well for employees and clients alike, so we%E2%80%99re sorry to hear that you have found it challenging at times. It is understandable that with some decision%E2%80%99s employees may not agree with the company%E2%80%99s choices. However, we strongly believe that these are made in the best interest of our goals as a company. If you wish to discuss anything further or you have ideas about how we can improve, we encourage you to get in touch with your manager or our HR department, who would be happy to discuss any feedback that you wish to give us.

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Still a great place to work, but..."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ricardo part-time

    Pros

    Interesting, varied, and technically challenging project work at an organisation that is great at developing young talent. Supportive line management, flexible benefits, flexible working arrangements, and competitive pay are all real positives for Ricardo. Ricardo remains a well respected organisation, a valuable name to have on your CV.

    Cons

    A medium sized PLC driven by short term returns often resulting in inadequate investment in core capabilities, and loss of key experience through staff churn. Senior management don't always follow the company's stated 'Respect' value, meaning that Ricardo can be a stressful place to work although in recent times this has improved. Many of the office spaces are in need of modernisation, and are really not the sort working environment that you'd expect from a leading consultancy.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Ricardo review"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ricardo full-time

    Pros

    Work alongside some brilliant engineers. Opportunity to work with large number of different manufacturers and in different cultures. Shoreham and Leamington Spa are nice locations in UK.

    Cons

    The Salary and benefits are not competitive. Senior management team disconnected from engineering. Odd decisions from management and constantly restructuring.

    Continue reading

    Ricardo Response

    August 31, 2018Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We agree that we have many brilliant engineers. We are pleased that during your time with Ricardo you had the benefit of working alongside them, and also had the opportunity to work with different companies and cultures. We are proud of our client diversity and international scope. We routinely benchmark our salaries and believe our benefits schemes are competitive.

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Constant threat of redundancy"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ricardo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very challenging and diverse projects. Talented and experienced engineers. Strong capabilities in engineering, consulting, low volume manufacturing.

    Cons

    A constant threat of redundancy due to incredibly short-term approach from Senior Management. The culture stems from Board level; individual MD's are engaged, driven and generally attempt to apply their own strategic vision but their hands are tied by the Board. The sub-divisions are supposedly much better (rail, AEA, strategic consulting). No employee development, progression or retention strategy. Staff regarded as a commodity which is a shame as the reputation suggests the loyal employees are the company's strongest asset. Salaries not particularly competitive although that's not the biggest problem. I know of a person that was let go on a Friday and hired back on a Monday.

    Continue reading

    Ricardo Response

    August 16, 2018Human Resources

    Thank you for leaving your review. We are pleased to see you have left a number of pros from your time working with Ricardo. We are sorry you feel there is a constant threat of redundancy, we see redundancy as a last resort and there have been no redundancy exercises undertaken this year nor are any planned. Unfortunately in some circumstances they become necessary however it would be helpful to understand more about this perceived threat and strongly recommend that you speak to your Team Leader and/or HR Manager to address these concerns. In terms of development and progression we have the R-Learn portal which provides a variety of planned courses, on-line learning and other information to support personal learning and development. Additionally, each Practice also has its own shadowing budget for on-the-job training. Your Team Leader will be able to provide support and guidance as to your learning and skills development and, with the annual PDR process live now, this provides an ideal opportunity for you to have this discussion. However, your Team Leader and HR Manager are always willing to hear your thoughts on your learning and career aspirations throughout the year. Employee engagement is highly valued by us and as such is central to our HR Strategy which includes wellbeing, reward and benefits, high performance and optimising capability and skill as overarching strands, all of which have a member of the senior leadership team as sponsor. Please contact your HR Manager or Team Leader to discuss anything you mentioned in more detail.

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Interesting Work, Poor Senior Management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Royal Leamington Spa, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ricardo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Wide variety of projects - Ability to change department - Great engineers

    Cons

    - Old fashioned feel to working environment - Limited benefits, no bonuses - Training is rare - Senior management seem too focused on the share price at the expense of the employees and the quality of our work

    Continue reading

    Ricardo Response

    June 22, 2018Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your views with us, we very much value all feedback, and recognise your commitment over the 5 years you have worked for Ricardo. We are pleased to see you praise the wide variety of projects available and we agree that we have great engineers who work for us. We aim to provide appropriate development opportunities for all our employees, so do please discuss this directly with your manager/team leader. We recongise that working environment is an important factor and we have ongoing plans to modernise our offices, for example the Manchester team has recently moved into a brand new building, take a look at their location page https://careers.ricardo.com/our-culture/locations/united-kingdom/england/manchester.

  10. Helpful (8)

    "Practice Director "The priority of a business is to its shareholders" It shows"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oxford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ricardo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are some very nice people.

    Cons

    This statement was made recently by a practice director. He (yes he there are no female practice directors – there is no diversity policy) could of said customers or employees etc. There are continuous promises of training opportunities which never come to fruition. There is under investment in IT facilities which hinders the ability to work quickly and efficiently. If you are an analyst consultant the wages are poor and uncompetitive and you are treated as cheap labour. The company takes advantage of their younger employees natively. Most of the senior management team have spent too long in Ricardo and no longer understand what other business are offering their employees.

    Continue reading
Viewing 1 - 10 of 20 English Reviews