Rite Aid Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Rite Aid Reviews

Updated 18 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
41%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Rite Aid CEO Heyward Donigan
Heyward Donigan
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours, most everyone there I became close with(in 130 reviews)

  • "Pharmacist and Pharmacy manager are great people(in 113 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is stress at the company and the upper management is shady(in 228 reviews)

  • "There is not really any opportunity to "move up" unless you are in school to become a pharmacist(in 128 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rite Aid full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good wage and kind helpful co-workers, I love working here, it's great, I wouldn't change it for anything. Highly recommended!

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons so am just saying again this company is great to work for, you will never regret working here

    Continue reading
    Rite Aid2015-11-19
  2. "GREAT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rite Aid part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good enviroment good pay good managers

    Cons

    hours are ishy some empolyess are rude

    Continue reading
    Rite Aid2018-06-14
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Worst Job Ever. Run away and do it as quickly as possible!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rite Aid part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Barely any but here goes. 1. The 20% employee discount. 2. Has air conditioning and heat 3. Has lots of different products to choose from. 4. You may or may not have your own locker to choose from. 5. You receive your pay on a prepaid card so you do not have to go to a bank to cash your check.

    Cons

    This will be one of the longest lists of cons ever posted here: 1. Inadequate training. Computer Based Training (or "CBT's) do not teach you the specific skills required for the job. They only enforce corporate policy and basic customer service procedures. You basically have to learn everything on your own. 2. Nasty and foolish customers who often toss the money across the counter when making payments instead of handing it to you respectfully. It doesn't matter how nicely you greet them, they will treat you with the utmost disrespect. You also have to deal with the customers who give you an attitude when you card them for tobacco products. They still have to make a snide remark after you explain to them that it's the law and company policy. Customers also get mad at you when you tell them that there's a limit to how many coupons that they can use during one transaction. There's also the customers who believe that they are paying too much for a product or service and blame you for it because they have the preconceived notion that you are overcharging them. You'll also get some elderly customers who take several minutes just to find their wellness card and their money to pay for items but it's your fault that the line isn't moving fast enough. Many customers can't read or pay attention to simple details so you have to explain everything to them. 3. Terrible supervisors and management who refuse to communicate specific and important information. Many supervisors go on a power trip and believe that they can talk to you or treat you anyway they please even if it's in violation of company policy. HR and upper management will be very slow to respond to serious issues and will most likely take the side of upper management. You're expected to see through walls and predict the future. Some supervisors will scream and cuss at you just because they're having a bad day or simply because they hate you for some reason or another. Some of them are perverts, prejudice and most likely drug addicts. They always tell you how bad of a job you're doing without any sort of advice or coaching. Even if you do good, they have nothing to say about it. They also refuse to issue breaks even if you're going to work 6-8 hours. Working on your feet for that long while reaching, bending, squatting, kneeling, pushing, pulling and lifting is pretty extreme to say the least. District/upper management do not care about you or anybody else. They only care about numbers and to them, you ARE just a number. 4. The expectations are ridiculous and no matter how hard you work, it's never good enough. 5. Disrespectful and cocky co-workers who automatically assume that they're better than you are. Especially if they are the higher paid pharmacy workers. 6. It's a very careless and hateful environment. They taught me in the first month to only care about me and to see my co-workers as competition instead of a team. Also got wrote up in the first month for not affixing enough sales ad labels up at the rate they wanted me to while I was also expected to ring up customers which involved constantly stopping what I was doing. Interruptions will delay your progress and it's all your fault if you are not able to keep up. 7. The pay sucks and it's not enough to make a living off of unless you are a pharmacist, store manager or corporate. 8. Constant threats from corporate management and you're supposed to be afraid of them even when they only show up once every couple of months. 9. Every mistake is your fault even if you are not appropriately trained or new on the job. 10. Front end workers are expected to do everything on their own without any backup and if you fall behind slightly, management will not let you forget about it. In fact, you may be subject to harsh lectures and write ups. 11. Always cutting hours so there's no way to make real money there. 12. There's the classic features of favoritism and cliques. 13. You must provide your own work attire but this can be a pro or a con for some. 14. Outdated and often slow technology which can delay some transactions and enrage a lot of customers during busy times. That is your fault too. 15. Insane scheduling policy. For example, one day you'll be working a 7am-2pm, the next day could be a 4pm-10pm, the day after could be 6am-1pm and the next day could be 12pm-8pm. One week you might have 3 or 4 days off in a row and the next week you might be working 5-6 days in a row. Work/life balance can be difficult and schedules like those will negatively affect your sleep pattern and your plans. 16. They literally try to shove their vaccines down customers' throats. 17. Pretty high rate of turnover and I should have not accepted the job when I initially found out that was the case. I've seen 3 people leave in the course of about 4 months and I'll be leaving in less than a month after 7 months of pure torture. 18. Non-supervisors need approval for so many functions of the cash register that it disrupts productivity. You have to call the manager to the front of the store just to have them approve a return or a void because they believe that it's appropriate to assume that every employee is a thief and just waiting for the right moment to rob the store blind. 19. Dirty old store with a major pest problem that needs to be bulldozed or remodeled. 20. Benefits are nearly useless because the health and dental only run through one service that doesn't provide coverage everywhere. The 401k is questionable and not even interesting. The other benefits that come along with it are a joke and you cannot discover all of your benefits until you've been there long enough and have access to the Rite Aid Portal. 21. Very unprofessional environment and it is not a long term job unless you are desperate or out of your mind. 22. The occasional lazy vendor who just places new products on shelves or in cooling units without rotating and facing the products so you have to do extra work on top of all the other hordes of work that you're expected to complete. 23. New products that will not scan so you have to modify the price or call the manager on duty (MOD) to the front to resolve the issue. 24. Not a secure job but it might be good for a first job just to gain experience. It's best to tolerate as much of the nonsense as you can for about 3-6 months and find something much better and less degrading. 25. Jumbo sized cockroaches coming out of the crevices of the cracked concrete outside of the building. Also had a filthy ground area that's stained to the point where it's brown and black around the perimeter of the doorway. 26. They just throw away outdated products that are still good instead of donating them. 27. Not allowed to ring up your own purchases because you must be up to no good if you are. 28. You basically have to talk off of a script and constantly have to repeat yourself every time a customer approaches the counter. 29. The company constantly changes rules, policies, products, services and expectations. The manager might tell you about the changes but not in detail. 30. Lots of customer theft occurrences but corporate management refuses to hire loss prevention staff. 31. Constant interruptions make it difficult to complete a long list of tasks. For example: If you're towards the back of the store putting up sales tags or facing products, you have stop everything that you're doing, rush all the way to the front of the store, ring up a customer for a $2 soda or a $1 candy bar, walk all the way to the back of the store, try to finish what you were working on and repeat the interruption cycle over and over again. By the time your shift is over, you're behind on work and it's all your fault. Managers will write you up and chew you out for this. I could literally make this list much longer but these are just the cons that I can remember the most. I realize that every store may not be this bad but a lot of them are according to many of the other reviews here. If I could rate this job any lower than one star, it would be a negative 5. This has by far been the worst job that I've ever had in my life and words cannot describe how much I hate getting up and going in to work.

    Continue reading
    Rite Aid2015-07-12
  4. "Very busy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rite Aid part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fulltime benefits and 20% off employee discount

    Cons

    Very busy, extremely fast paced,

    Continue reading
    Rite Aid2020-02-18
  5. "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Rite Aid

    Pros

    A lot of friendly people

    Cons

    There’s Not fair working schedules

    Continue reading
    Rite Aid2020-02-17
  6. "Not a bad job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Portland, ME
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rite Aid full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Kind managers and good training with skills I have taken with me to other jobs. Also flexible with my schedule and nice regulars and coworkers.

    Cons

    Could be repetitive and pay was low to start.

    Rite Aid2020-02-18
  7. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Langhorne, PA

    I worked at Rite Aid part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy straight forward job, good job for the side

    Cons

    Minimum wage, long hours, company doesnt care for you

    Rite Aid2020-02-18
  8. "Warm and welcoming environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Rite Aid

    Pros

    Gray environment great place to learn something new

    Cons

    Not having enough staff and they get the high school kids and have security when it’s needed

    Rite Aid2020-02-15
  9. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Cumberland, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rite Aid full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The customers are the best reason to work at Rite aid.

    Cons

    Poor management personnel and provide no feedback.

    Continue reading
    Rite Aid2020-02-14
  10. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Barstow, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rite Aid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours. Good people.

    Cons

    Workload was sometimes too much.

    Continue reading
    Rite Aid2020-02-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 3973 reviews