River Island Clothing Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

River Island Clothing Reviews

Updated 17 April 2018
365 reviews

Filter

Filter

UK - All CitiesFull-timePart-time

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Ben Lewis
Ben Lewis
125 Ratings

365 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • minimum wage is the only real con (in 40 reviews)

  • Quite long hours and can get very tiring (in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (2)

    "Cardiff St Davids review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Cardiff, Wales
    Current Employee - Operations in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    - Great camaraderie within each department and around the store
    - Good monthly incentives (Employee of the month etc)
    - Management are friendly and welcoming
    - Great discount
    - Management recognise hard work - be respectful and do your work and you will get respect in return.

    Cons

    - Sometimes, particularly during busy periods, there can be communication breakdowns between departments, resulting in unnecessary stress.
    - It is 'only' a retail job. This may cause lack of motivation to some part time staff who do not intend to make a career out of retail. This sometimes results in people not working to the best of their ability. However, this is not down to store management and can't really be helped.

    Advice to Management

    - Departments should work together more efficiently, particularly during busy periods. Sometimes they lose sight on the fact that we are all aspiring for the best results. The key is to communciate, to work together and to provide adequate resources all around.

    River Island Clothing Response

    26 Jan 2018 – Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your honest and constructive review. We will take on board your feedback and filter it to the relevant teams.


  2. "excellent pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Gillingham, England
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Gillingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    the pay is fair and one of the highest in retail I've known
    rewards such as gift cards
    healthy discount
    making friends

    Cons

    notice of hard work is lacking
    overtime is rare

    River Island Clothing Response

    23 Apr 2018 – Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad you are enjoying your time with us. We appreciate all the hard work our teams put in!

  3. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Brighton, England
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly staff and managers
    Good Training
    Discounts
    Fun job
    Easy to learn
    Encouragement from staff
    Help with any questions
    Great location
    Stylish clothes

    Cons

    Old computer systems, crashed a lot and slow
    Expensive
    Not enough tills
    No training for mens section
    Slow activation of account number

    Advice to Management

    Update operating systems

    River Island Clothing Response

    23 Apr 2018 – Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. If you feel you'd like some extra training, please discuss this with your Store Manager so as they can put a plan in place. We are constantly looking... More


  4. "Xmas temp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Edinburgh, Scotland

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent employee discount
    Overtime
    Clothing allowance

    Cons

    Staff shortages
    Over worked to meet targets

    Advice to Management

    Just to be nicer to staff

    River Island Clothing Response

    23 Apr 2018 – Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review, we'll take your feedback on board.


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glasgow, Scotland
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Good discount, good training, clothes are generaly nice, fashionable and up to date.

    Cons

    Salary is appauling. Long hours. Poor work life balance. Expected to do extra. Not paid for overtime and time owed never given. No progression. Poor communication from head office.

    Advice to Management

    Annual pay rises for management, not just staff. Bonus scheme for management, not just staff.

    River Island Clothing Response

    23 Apr 2018 – Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are confident our salary is competitive. We appreciate retail is extremely hard work and long hours are sometimes needed however we are grateful for... More


  6. "River island"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Sales Advisor in Glasgow, Scotland
    Current Employee - Customer Sales Advisor in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Met loads of great people, give extra hours when needed, 40% discount for part time and £65 to spend on uniform every season

    Cons

    Not great pay for the work you do

    Advice to Management

    Give bonuses

    River Island Clothing Response

    23 Apr 2018 – Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.


  7. "Bad manner and qualification for management and reception"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in London, England
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Staff discount for clothing and accessories.

    Cons

    - Reception maybe the worst among companies in London. One of the vendors have been told to 'go away' by the reception at World house building.
    - Our team head have not obtained any high school or university qualification, not even professional qualification

    Advice to Management

    - Recruit better staff with better qualification and experience.

    River Island Clothing Response

    23 Apr 2018 – Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Unfortunately, we cannot comment on the West World Reception team, as they aren't River Island.
    In terms of qualifications whilst they do hold weight... More

  8. "Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great team, benefits of the company, discount.

    Cons

    Quite difficult to move up in my specific job.


  9. "Sales And Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales in London, England
    Former Employee - Senior Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Free Uniform 25% discount good opportunity to move up.

    Cons

    high staff turnover can only use discount so much


  10. "Senior sales advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Associate in London, England
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    40% staff discount, not on sale items though

    Cons

    Managers do not look after their staff members , underpay you all the time, cut out your breaks, no respect, make up their own rules, not professional, poor working conditions, presure you to stay for 10 hour shifts as they are always under staffed, minimum wage in comparison to every other retail store, riverisland pages there staff the lowest, no progression in company

    Advice to Management

    Record employee work hours so that underpayment is not a constant issue, overtime is never paid, management are rude and take short cuts


Showing 402 of 727 reviews
Reset Filters