River Island Clothing Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

River Island Clothing Reviews

Updated 14 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
61%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Will Kernan
Will Kernan
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "40% staff discount after working a month(in 130 reviews)

  • "There is 40% discount off for employees and there is a uniform allowance every three months(in 121 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, targets to meet can be hard(in 52 reviews)

  • "Although the pay is slightly over minimum wage I don’t think the company do enough for their staff(in 47 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Assistant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Darren the regional manager was really nice and took the time to get to know everyone, even the sales assistants

    Cons

    holidays- have to take a week off

    River Island Clothing2019-11-13
  2. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor - Sales and Service in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is 40% discount off for employees and there is a uniform allowance every three months. The allowance is dependant on the days/hours you works but starts from £65.

    Cons

    It all depends on the people.

    Advice to Management

    Equality to all members of staff

    River Island Clothing2019-11-08
  3. "Great company progression into head office not possible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fantastic company, worked for them on and off for over 5 years through uni and college then full time post graduation

    Cons

    Wanted to develop a career in buying and merchandising and wasn’t given any opportunities or guidance and ultimately left for that reason

    Advice to Management

    Relook at a talent programme

    River Island Clothing2019-11-05
  4. "Overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant Merchandiser in London, England

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazig staff discount and staff shop

    Cons

    Long hours with minimal rewards

    River Island Clothing2019-11-14
  5. "Turbulent Transformation... but for all the right reasons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Human Resources in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing

    Pros

    Amazing team and highly talented people ... brilliant benefits and discount

    Cons

    It’s tough in retail right now ... but we are moving in the right direction

    Advice to Management

    I feel really proud to be part of such a brilliant business and team. Working in HR can be really hard in any industry but we are a HR team that wants to do the best for everyone that works with us. Making improvements to how we work means lots of change and sometimes people just don’t like change so we’ve seen a lot of movement in our team recently which is no bad thing because it helps to move us forward. Senior... leadership and managers need keep helping us to to progress and make sure we continue to feel motivated.

    Show More
    River Island Clothing2019-10-29
  6. "Front of House"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good clothing discounts available for staff.

    Cons

    Immature middle management who would purposely call people that they didn’t like the wrong name very loudly in store.

    Advice to Management

    Encourage staff to put forward their views about satisfaction levels.

    River Island Clothing2019-11-12
  7. "OK for supplementary cash, not for personal livelihood"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Edinburgh, Scotland

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Generous discount on clothing, sense of camaraderie between fellow sales advisors

    Cons

    Bad organisation in terms of rotas and shifts, sales advisors often expected to go above and beyond with no compensation or thanks for their efforts

    River Island Clothing2019-11-03
  8. "Enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time

    Pros

    Great team Decent consideration for staff Good recognition and rewards initiatives

    Cons

    Unrealistic targets Worked very hard for the bare minimum pay Doing jobs well beyond paygrade for a long time before promotion

    River Island Clothing2019-11-04
  9. "Absolutely LOVED working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Cheshunt, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - 40% discount - Lots of holiday (Really well paid holiday) - Lots of overtime - Excellent training - Many opportunities to progress

    Cons

    - Pay was basic - A lot of pressure - Unable to transfer when I went to uni

    Advice to Management

    I could not fault the managers at my store. I loved my three years here, although only a sales adviser I was treated with the respect and responsibilities of a manager (which I loved) mean I was given the opportunity to implement floor layouts, travel to other stores to cover and manage teams of employees. My managers spent time training me to their standards, so now applying for jobs I have so much experience from... only one small part time job! My store was understanding of not only study commitments, but mental health and family issues. They were lenient with holiday and always had plenty of overtime if needed, I was only on a 9 month contract but was almost always guaranteed at least 15 hours (But only if i wanted). I would of gladly stayed in the business whilst completing my degree but was unable to get a student transfers.

    Show More
    River Island Clothing2019-10-19
  10. "nice place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Adviser in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    friendly staff and mangement , nice clothes

    Cons

    not all management are nice

    Advice to Management

    be more understanding of employees and situations

    River Island Clothing2019-10-12
Found 484 reviews