River Island Clothing Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

River Island Clothing Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 449 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Ben Lewis
Ben Lewis
162 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "below minimum wage if under 20, 8 hours a week to begin(in 45 reviews)

  • "long hours on your feet, often have to cover shifts at late notice(in 44 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "River Islannd"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good staff discount Friendly environment

    Cons

    Some of the managers are lazy and make you do their work

    River Island Clothing2019-07-17
  2. "Good place to work, poor location and pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and people to work with

    Cons

    Underpaying, bad location of head office, no growth

    River Island Clothing2019-08-07
  3. "Positive opportunities but stressful/underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Bournemouth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good community and staff, charity work and fundraising, opportunities for fast progression, training in management, good discount

    Cons

    Understaffed, overworked, technology constantly problematic, stockloss a constant concern, unrealistic bonus structure

    Advice to Management

    Learn to delegate and give yourself the time to do your own tasks. Don’t overstretch yourself or work overtime, just do what you can, delegate and follow up and feedback to your AM if you have concerns.

    River Island Clothing2019-08-03
  4. "Nice People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PPC Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Communication needs improvement from upper management

    River Island Clothing2019-07-24
  5. "You get out what you put in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Merchandise Planner in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training from job specific to people managing and presenting. Usually pretty quick progression, depends what division or team you’re on though. Opportunity to move channels, divisions and job roles. Some really inspiring people work here, some excellent managers and leaders.

    Cons

    The huge pressure put on everyone to deliver, often unrealistic expectations. Heads of are brutal and sometimes cruel. However if you can cope with all of the above, you will go far. If you’re liked, you will do well. If you’re not, you will be held back.

    Advice to Management

    Reduce the amount of times the plan/strategy is changed, stop asking for the same work to be done repeatedly.

    River Island Clothing2019-07-21
  6. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retoucher in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed environment and good teams

    Cons

    Poor management no care for team only those above them.

    Advice to Management

    Get a clue and understand what your team actually does and what they need

    River Island Clothing2019-08-04
  7. "Wouldn’t recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and nice people

    Cons

    Don’t get paid for breaks and low salary

    River Island Clothing2019-07-30
  8. "Hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Floor Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fast paced good people

    Cons

    Lower level management don't get appreciated unrealistic timescales for moves that are required at the drop of a hat

    Advice to Management

    Area managers etc need to recognise hard work put in by floor managers and not just reward the store manager

    River Island Clothing2019-07-04
  9. "meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    average pay,the staff in my store are chatty and easy to get along with, i have been able to work in a couple of store other than my base store, good discount

    Cons

    not many perks/benefits, if the store isnt busy it can be hard to find things to do

    River Island Clothing2019-07-14
  10. "My experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Stratford, London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team Standard pay Good discounts Good for customer service work experience

    Cons

    Can get very busy and demanding Pay attention to how many hours you work and the rate per hour because I have been underpaid at times.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate effectively with teams and show more support and offer more training to new starters

    River Island Clothing2019-07-15
Found 449 reviews