River Island Clothing Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

River Island Clothing Reviews

Updated 28 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Will Kernan
Will Kernan
12 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Fast pace can mean long hours depending on team(in 54 reviews)

  • "Although the pay is slightly over minimum wage I don’t think the company do enough for their staff(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Assistant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Darren the regional manager was really nice and took the time to get to know everyone, even the sales assistants

    Cons

    holidays- have to take a week off

    River Island Clothing2019-11-13
  2. "Good part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good management, free clothing, supportive team, younger workforce

    Cons

    Cutting back on hours so the team would be short on staff

    River Island Clothing2020-02-26
  3. "Understanding management but not very rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Royal Leamington Spa, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good employee discount and interesting interview process

    Cons

    Takes a long time to receive your uniform allowance (made me wait longer than I should have) and can be very dull, especially on the men's floor

    River Island Clothing2020-02-22
  4. "Couldn't recommend this company more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Manager in Gravesend, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When part of either and small or large team you immediately gained a good team ethic. Working hard got you places. If you set a high pace, showed huge amounts of enthusiasm and was keen to learn then you succeeded in this business. I started as a 21 Year old Sales Manager and each year set myself goals to achieve, if you have high ambitions this was portrayed to the management who are keen to progress people that showed that enthusiasm. I ended up leaving as 26 year old into a new industry and left with no bad feeling with this company. If I was to go back into Retail I would 100% consider River Island. Bluewater and Thurrock Stores were the best stores that I experienced. If you showed all of the above, pay reflected this, as did mine.

    Cons

    Christmas is tough, like anywhere else, but I found Christmas tough due to long hours. This is a reflection across Retail.

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2020-02-20
  5. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Glasgow, Scotland

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are helpful and friendly

    Cons

    Working hours lare very long

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2020-02-28
  6. "Challenging but Enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Allocator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are honestly many, the best of which is flexihours. This new initiative of being able to start or finish at an appropriate time demonstrates their employees come first.

    Cons

    The office is slightly remote, unlike other buying offices - so the location would be a con to some.

    River Island Clothing2020-02-10
  7. "Standard Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Cambridge, England

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team to work with Not too much pressure Quarterly uniform

    Cons

    Pay could be better Stressful at times

    River Island Clothing2020-02-09
  8. "River island"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good for a university student

    Cons

    Not a career Not enough over time Micro management

    River Island Clothing2020-02-22
  9. "Okay place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Plymouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and discount In store.

    Cons

    Poor communication, management would comment on my appearance and would talk down to me and be rude.

    River Island Clothing2020-02-20
  10. "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stock Replenishment in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Understanding. Great Environment. Lovely Staff

    Cons

    Hours. Tedious. Stale. Slow. Draining

    River Island Clothing2020-02-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 578 reviews