River Island Clothing "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

River Island Clothing Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 19 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Will Kernan
Will Kernan
13 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Christmas is tough, like anywhere else, but I found Christmas tough due to long hours(in 55 reviews)

  • "Although the pay is slightly over minimum wage I don’t think the company do enough for their staff(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Couldn't recommend this company more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Manager in Gravesend, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When part of either and small or large team you immediately gained a good team ethic. Working hard got you places. If you set a high pace, showed huge amounts of enthusiasm and was keen to learn then you succeeded in this business. I started as a 21 Year old Sales Manager and each year set myself goals to achieve, if you have high ambitions this was portrayed to the management who are keen to progress people that showed that enthusiasm. I ended up leaving as 26 year old into a new industry and left with no bad feeling with this company. If I was to go back into Retail I would 100% consider River Island. Bluewater and Thurrock Stores were the best stores that I experienced. If you showed all of the above, pay reflected this, as did mine.

    Cons

    Christmas is tough, like anywhere else, but I found Christmas tough due to long hours. This is a reflection across Retail.

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2020-02-20
  2. "Overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant Merchandiser in London, England

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazig staff discount and staff shop

    Cons

    Long hours with minimal rewards

    River Island Clothing2019-11-14
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training and learning / development team Nice office with good selection of food/ drinks/canteen Interesting / compelling work

    Cons

    Slow progression Fast pace can mean long hours depending on team Office is next to a tip so can be a bit smelly in the summer

    River Island Clothing2019-10-12
  4. "River Island"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deputy Manager in Belfast, Northern Ireland

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    50% staff discount Good uniform allowance

    Cons

    Long hours Lack of progression Poor planning

    River Island Clothing2019-09-06
  5. "River Island"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good discount, friendly staff, modern

    Cons

    Poor wage, long hours, poor management

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2019-02-13
  6. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great communication, great organisation and fantastic discounts

    Cons

    Long hours and constant changing dates of sale launch

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2018-09-27

    River Island Clothing Response

    November 2, 2018Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your feedback. We'll take it on board for the future.

    Continue reading
  7. "Depends what you're looking for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BAA in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice Canteen, great office, lots of social activites

    Cons

    Over stretched, long hours, expect overtime without pay, hierarchical culture, location zone 3

    River Island Clothing2018-09-06

    River Island Clothing Response

    November 2, 2018Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and our head office facilities. Our teams work extremely hard to keep up with demand - we're very aware of this and extremely grateful for their continued efforts.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "River Island"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deputy Manager in Llandudno, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff Discount, fun team, great product

    Cons

    long hours, demanding, not very flexible

    River Island Clothing2018-09-01

    River Island Clothing Response

    November 2, 2018Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review.

    Continue reading
  9. "Enjoyable but unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount Uniform allowance Friendly staff Kept busy so never boring

    Cons

    Poor pay (salary non competitive- about 20p per hour difference between manager and advisor rates) Unprofessional- some managers very bias and don’t treat everyone equally. Recruitment team ignore you. Rude and unprofessional. Unpaid overtime (management) No incentives. Long hours A few bad apples spoil the bunch.

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2018-08-02

    River Island Clothing Response

    November 2, 2018Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good discount, good training, clothes are generaly nice, fashionable and up to date.

    Cons

    Salary is appauling. Long hours. Poor work life balance. Expected to do extra. Not paid for overtime and time owed never given. No progression. Poor communication from head office.

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2018-04-04

    River Island Clothing Response

    April 23, 2018Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are confident our salary is competitive. We appreciate retail is extremely hard work and long hours are sometimes needed however we are grateful for all the effort our store teams put in to make our store experiences what they are.

    Continue reading
Found 31 reviews