River Island Clothing Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated Dec 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 of over 1,848 reviews

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Staff discount lovely people good management(in 183 reviews)

  • "Friednly culture with an emphasis on teamwork - also get a uniform allowance and 40% discount(in 173 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours managers had there own agenda(in 83 reviews)

  • "Poor wage rate, minimum wage for those at base level(in 56 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "minimum wage"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Sales advisor

      Sep 29, 2016 - Sales Advisor in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff discount and felixble working hours.

      Cons

      Pay is minimum wage, no bonus

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      River Island Clothing Response

      Recruitment Officer

      Thanks for your review and taking the time to complete it.

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Unprofessional management

      Jun 21, 2021 - Sales Assistant in Sheffield, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Discounted clothes (20%) ?? no more perks

      Cons

      Poor management, very low uniform allowance £65 on full price clothing which you MUST wear R.I clothing on shop floor, bag searched and waft T-shirt’s (to show ur hiding nothing) every time you finish your shift, minimum wage!!!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Ok for a student

      Feb 3, 2021 - Sales Associate in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      40% discount Overtime usually available if you want it Nice colleagues Fun environment

      Cons

      Management aren’t great Minimum wage

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Unprofessional management

      Apr 27, 2018 - Sales Advisor in Bury St Edmunds, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Uniform allowance and the staff discount was very generous (40%) Holiday was generally approved if submitted well in advance

      Cons

      Minimum wage, poor hours, management unprofessional Pay was often wrong and needed correcting

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      River Island Clothing Response

      Recruitment Officer

      Thanks for the review, we'll take your comments on board.

    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Senior sales advisor

      Apr 12, 2018 - Senior Sales Associate in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      40% staff discount, not on sale items though

      Cons

      Managers do not look after their staff members , underpay you all the time, cut out your breaks, no respect, make up their own rules, not professional, poor working conditions, presure you to stay for 10 hour shifts as they are always under staffed, minimum wage in comparison to every other retail store, riverisland pages there staff the lowest, no progression in company

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      River Island Clothing Response

      Recruitment Officer

      Thanks for your feedback.

    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Managers were rude and lacked communication skills, poor pay, long hours.

      Aug 3, 2017 - Retail Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The staff discount was good. The other people on the same level as me were very friendly.

      Cons

      Supervisors often spoke in a rude manner if they had an issue with an employee. I worked in Glasgow and all the Supervisors/shop floor managers were friends so it was obvious they were only promoted because of that and all of them were woman, not a single male member of staff was promoted there. I was part-time but the hours I did were far too long, I did an 8 hour shift and a 6 hour shift twice a week. The pay was terrible for the amount of work I was doing during the Christmas period. It was close to minimum wage. \ No progression unless you're a friend of the supervisors and managers.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      River Island Clothing Response

      Recruitment Officer

      Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're sorry your feel this way. As a current employee please feel comfortable to raise your concerns with Management or HR. Promotions are based on the successful candidates performance and their ability to demonstrate that they're ready for the next move. With regards to pay, we pay all our Sales Advisors at least the National Living Wage ensuring we remain competitive with the rest of the high street. Progression is down to how much the individual wish to progress. We have all the tools in place to support them but ultimately we would expect our employees to drive this themselves.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Treated like cattle.

      Sep 13, 2016 - Sales Assistant in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Expensed uniform every three months. Discount monthly although it was limited to £150 before discount. Made some good friends amongst staff.

      Cons

      Management were unkind, there were constantly people crying in the staffroom. Minimum wage and constantly hounded into doing overtime. Would be forced to work during unpaid breaks.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      River Island Clothing Response

      Recruitment Officer

      Thanks for your review.

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Mixed Bag

      Apr 29, 2016 - Customer Service in Liverpool, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Loads of young staff so always someone to chat to 40% staff discount Quarterly uniform allowance In-store DJ on payday weekend which gave a fun atmosphere Always kept busy so shifts don't drag as much

      Cons

      Management are useless Lots of rude senior staff with terrible attitudes Have to empty your bag and pockets into a clear plastic box when leaving work at store closure, time consuming and an invasion of privacy Frequently underpaid Poor pay, basic minimum wage Always got out of work late Nobody in the company seems to have a clue what's going on, nobody even realised I'd left my job until several months later! They were still paying me odd amounts for 3 months after I worked my final shift which was good for me but I'd imagine not so good for the company. Such a high turnover of staff anyone could walk in off the street and claim to work there and I don't think anyone would question them.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      River Island Clothing Response

      Recruitment Officer

      Thanks for taking the time to submit a review.

    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Would not recommend

      Feb 8, 2016 - Style Advisor in Leeds, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great relationship between staff at store level. Service is its main priority which is good in todays retail experience. Excellent uniform and discount allowances.

      Cons

      Minimum wage for staff, should be higher, very little reward goes to the staff- have known management take rewards intended for staff. Poor internal progression unless you can change stores a lot. A lot of changes need to be made, costs are often cut at the expense of its staff reducing morale and can often seem unfair.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      River Island Clothing Response

      Head of Talent Acquisition

      I am sorry that you did not enjoy your time with River Island - we are working on the points you raised

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Operations Assistant

      Dec 17, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked in River Island for 6 months and the best of the job was defenetly interacting with my colleagues. You could meet in one building so many people from all over the world.

      Cons

      You get paid in River Island the minimum wage and the Managers don't care about you. Actually, in River Island there are to many managers who feel frustrated to be in a very fast pace job with constant changes of staff. And if you want to apply for a different position within the company it is very difficult because the managers don't put the vacancies that are available within the store in the staff room so you will never know if you don't ask the manager in the right time. The process is very unfair!!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      River Island Clothing Response

      Head of Talent Acquisition

      I am disappointed to read your review and apologises that you did not enjoy your time with us - I will pass on your comments

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 32 Reviews

    Popular Careers with River Island Clothing Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at River Island Clothing? Share Your Experiences

    River Island Clothing logo
    or