River Island Clothing "minimum wage" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

River Island Clothing Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated 19 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Will Kernan
Will Kernan
12 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Fast pace can mean long hours depending on team(in 53 reviews)

  • "Although the pay is slightly over minimum wage I don’t think the company do enough for their staff(in 47 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "minimum wage"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Sales advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing

    Pros

    Great staff discount and felixble working hours.

    Cons

    Pay is minimum wage, no bonus

    River Island Clothing2016-09-29

    River Island Clothing Response

    October 14, 2016Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review and taking the time to complete it.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Unprofessional management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Bury St Edmunds, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Uniform allowance and the staff discount was very generous (40%) Holiday was generally approved if submitted well in advance

    Cons

    Minimum wage, poor hours, management unprofessional Pay was often wrong and needed correcting

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2018-04-28

    River Island Clothing Response

    November 2, 2018Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for the review, we'll take your comments on board.

    Continue reading
  3. "Senior sales advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    40% staff discount, not on sale items though

    Cons

    Managers do not look after their staff members , underpay you all the time, cut out your breaks, no respect, make up their own rules, not professional, poor working conditions, presure you to stay for 10 hour shifts as they are always under staffed, minimum wage in comparison to every other retail store, riverisland pages there staff the lowest, no progression in company

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2018-04-12

    River Island Clothing Response

    November 2, 2018Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Managers were rude and lacked communication skills, poor pay, long hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff discount was good. The other people on the same level as me were very friendly.

    Cons

    Supervisors often spoke in a rude manner if they had an issue with an employee. I worked in Glasgow and all the Supervisors/shop floor managers were friends so it was obvious they were only promoted because of that and all of them were woman, not a single male member of staff was promoted there. I was part-time but the hours I did were far too long, I did an 8 hour shift and a 6 hour shift twice a week. The pay was terrible for the amount of work I was doing during the Christmas period. It was close to minimum wage. \ No progression unless you're a friend of the supervisors and managers.

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2017-08-03

    River Island Clothing Response

    August 4, 2017Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're sorry your feel this way. As a current employee please feel comfortable to raise your concerns with Management or HR. Promotions are based on the successful candidates performance and their ability to demonstrate that they're ready for the next move. With regards to pay, we pay all our Sales Advisors at least the National Living Wage ensuring we remain competitive with the rest of the high street. Progression is down to how much the individual wish to progress. We have all the tools in place to support them but ultimately we would expect our employees to drive this themselves.

    Continue reading
  5. "Treated like cattle."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Expensed uniform every three months. Discount monthly although it was limited to £150 before discount. Made some good friends amongst staff.

    Cons

    Management were unkind, there were constantly people crying in the staffroom. Minimum wage and constantly hounded into doing overtime. Would be forced to work during unpaid breaks.

    River Island Clothing2016-09-13

    River Island Clothing Response

    September 14, 2016Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review.

    Continue reading
  6. "Mixed Bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Liverpool, England

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Loads of young staff so always someone to chat to 40% staff discount Quarterly uniform allowance In-store DJ on payday weekend which gave a fun atmosphere Always kept busy so shifts don't drag as much

    Cons

    Management are useless Lots of rude senior staff with terrible attitudes Have to empty your bag and pockets into a clear plastic box when leaving work at store closure, time consuming and an invasion of privacy Frequently underpaid Poor pay, basic minimum wage Always got out of work late Nobody in the company seems to have a clue what's going on, nobody even realised I'd left my job until several months later! They were still paying me odd amounts for 3 months after I worked my final shift which was good for me but I'd imagine not so good for the company. Such a high turnover of staff anyone could walk in off the street and claim to work there and I don't think anyone would question them.

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2016-04-29

    River Island Clothing Response

    May 24, 2016Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to submit a review.

    Continue reading
  7. "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Style Advisor in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing for less than a year

    Pros

    Great relationship between staff at store level. Service is its main priority which is good in todays retail experience. Excellent uniform and discount allowances.

    Cons

    Minimum wage for staff, should be higher, very little reward goes to the staff- have known management take rewards intended for staff. Poor internal progression unless you can change stores a lot. A lot of changes need to be made, costs are often cut at the expense of its staff reducing morale and can often seem unfair.

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2016-02-08

    River Island Clothing Response

    April 22, 2016Head of Talent Acquisition

    I am sorry that you did not enjoy your time with River Island - we are working on the points you raised

    Continue reading
  8. "Operations Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked in River Island for 6 months and the best of the job was defenetly interacting with my colleagues. You could meet in one building so many people from all over the world.

    Cons

    You get paid in River Island the minimum wage and the Managers don't care about you. Actually, in River Island there are to many managers who feel frustrated to be in a very fast pace job with constant changes of staff. And if you want to apply for a different position within the company it is very difficult because the managers don't put the vacancies that are available within the store in the staff room so you will never know if you don't ask the manager in the right time. The process is very unfair!!

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2015-12-17

    River Island Clothing Response

    December 29, 2015Head of Talent Acquisition

    I am disappointed to read your review and apologises that you did not enjoy your time with us - I will pass on your comments

    Continue reading
  9. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Watford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount - 40% Free uniform several times a year Co-workers were nice and friendly Offered a lot of overtime. Were sometimes flexible with hours Got discount of other shows within the shopping centre

    Cons

    Rude entitled bosses Overworked Basically minimum wage for under 18's even though they do the same work Treated like slaves - sent me on a coffee and lunch run for the managers even though it is not in my job description.

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2015-11-08

    River Island Clothing Response

    December 29, 2015Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your River Island experience - I will pass on your comments.

    Continue reading
  10. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Getting to know the latest trends and staff discount are okay

    Cons

    Management are always changing, getting paid the minimum wage for a lot of hard labour. Hardly any hours given and not a lot of care towards their staff

    River Island Clothing2015-06-03

    River Island Clothing Response

    May 27, 2016Recruitment Officer

    We're sorry you felt this way. Thanks for your review on River Island.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 26 reviews