Robert Gordon University Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Robert Gordon University Reviews

Updated 3 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
10%
Approve of CEO
Robert Gordon University CEO Ferdinand von Prondzynski
Ferdinand von Prondzynski
15 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Officer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Gordon University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good employee benefits such as pension and holiday allowance. Staff are very friendly.

    Cons

    N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

    Continue reading
    Robert Gordon University2019-07-02
  2. "Great job but shocking management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Education Liaison Officer in Aberdeen, Scotland

    I worked at Robert Gordon University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best bits - working with colleagues at other universities. Most schools in university were a pleasure to work with.

    Cons

    Phenomenally demanding senior management. Unrealistic expectations. They had no idea what they were doing half the time. High staff turnover in this department.

    Continue reading
    Robert Gordon University2019-07-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "It is very public bureaucracy like organisation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Fellow in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Robert Gordon University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    new buildings, good hardware, but lack of research/true academic culture

    Cons

    high administrative, loose and lack of incentive to research, negative attitude to academic excellence in some instances, kakistocracy or idiocracy (instead of meritocracy), Lack of Efficiency

    Continue reading
    Robert Gordon University2019-06-21
  4. "Student Caller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Robert Gordon University part-time

    Pros

    Training; Good pay for part time student job; could choose which days/shifts to work on; nice colleagues

    Cons

    None; it was a good experience

    Continue reading
    Robert Gordon University2019-04-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not what, but who you know"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Robert Gordon University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pension, flexible working, beautiful campus. Pay above average.

    Cons

    Staff appear to be recruited and / or given key opportunities not based on merit but on connection e.g. being related to or liked by senior members of staff. This appears to happen both at very senior level and at School level. If you're not in the 'in' group you have little chance of progression or recognition. The gap between what the University displays to the outside world and what really goes on is staggering, yet one is repeatedly being asked to sing its praises. Money is spent on vanity projects to please whoever is the highest up and therefore has decision making power. HIPPO syndrome ever-present. As many others have stated here, one also has to pass every student regardless of their ability. Recent shift to 'student experience' will continue to encourage the spoon feeding approach resulting in very demanding but not very willing or capable graduates who will struggle in the real world.

    Continue reading
    Robert Gordon University2019-04-11
  6. "Quite happy at RGU!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Gordon University full-time

    Pros

    - Great working atmosphere - Working in support services I find that most staff are very friendly and approachable which makes my job that much easier - Time off over Christmas and bank holidays - Flexible working and able to take time off when required - Good work / life balance

    Cons

    My only issue is that I work on a team with a couple of other colleagues who, to be frank, are incompetent and/or lazy. Instead of these individuals being addressed directly we are spoken to as a group so that management can be seen to be addressing the issue, which is quite disheartening for those of us who are competent and can stay on top of their workload. I am often asked to carry out more technical tasks or take work away from some of my colleagues for fear of them "messing it up" or "taking too long".

    Continue reading
    Robert Gordon University2019-01-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Negative Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Robert Gordon University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pension, holidays and flexibility of working hours was great.

    Cons

    - Management provide no training and pay little attention to your needs. - Horrible environment where you are only listened to if you are senior management. The University has a high employee turnover for a reason. - No progression. - Out of date procedures, aims and outlook. Constantly changes their priorities, you can't keep up.

    Continue reading
    Robert Gordon University2019-02-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "RGU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lecturer in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Gordon University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    In my department, at least, flexibility with working time is excellent. In addition, I have always felt very well supported by my immediate managers.

    Cons

    1. The possibility of career progression for academic staff is all but zero. In most universities, one can advance through excellence in research. Teaching is properly valued in fewer universities than it should be, but is at least valued in some. At RGU, unfortunately, neither is valued at all by senior management. Research is seen as an add-on to the University's business rather than a core part of it, and excellence in teaching is subordinated to the need to ensure that under-performing students pass at almost any cost. Neither research nor teaching is a sure path to advancement. 2. Senior management is high-handed, arrogant and dictatorial, "talking the talk" of staff engagement but failing to "walk the walk". The impression given is that, when senior management think of the University, they are thinking of the central administration of the institution, with those who carry out the actual business of the University being seen as existing in a peripheral, satellite relationship to the institution proper. 3. There is considerable disquiet among staff (both administrative and non-administrative) about the manner in which the current principal was appointed, and also considerable resentment at the University's decision to issue press-releases putting words into our mouths about it.

    Continue reading
    Robert Gordon University2018-11-20
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Negative culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aberdeen, Scotland

    I worked at Robert Gordon University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pension was good Holidays Pay Flexible working

    Cons

    Manegment attitude Lack of progression

    Continue reading
    Robert Gordon University2018-09-17
  10. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Gordon University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, diverse range of courses

    Cons

    The Course didn't meet my needs

    Continue reading
    Robert Gordon University2018-08-14
Found 34 reviews