Robert Half Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Robert Half Reviews

Updated 18 April 2019
93 reviews

Filter

Filter

UK - All Cities

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Robert Half Chairman and CEO Harold M. Messmer Jr.
Harold M. Messmer Jr.
43 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "They have been doing a better job over the past couple of years in promoting work-life balance" (in 95 reviews)

  • "Great company, fast pace atmosphere big on life balance and very team oriented" (in 115 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance as a recruiter may be difficult for some" (in 207 reviews)

  • "Long hours and pressure to hit targets" (in 179 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Recruiting in London, England
    Current Employee - Director of Recruiting in London, England
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Half full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Fun and financially rewarding. Pushes you to your limits.

    Cons

    Politics of a large us corporate and pressures on margins.


  2. "Great & rewarding place to work. Be prepared to graft though!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant in Southampton, England
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Robert Half full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The training provided is outstanding, with trips to the Shard office in London and other cities, and you are constantly supported to keep improving.
    Lively environments, when deals close and there's a real buzz in the office it is so enjoyable.
    They will really invest in you, especially the branch manager Nikki, which is often unexpected in such a large organisation.

    Cons

    Certainly isn't easy, long hours and strict targets. But this should be a given if you are looking to get into recruitment!

  3. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Leeds, England
    Former Employee - Consultant in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Robert Half full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Robert Half was my first role in an office environment following university and from day one the help and guidance they gave me was excellent. I always found them very understanding and they would tailor the role to suit different requirements. I joined the permanent team and my manager Kelsey was extremely helpful throughout and was the main reason I persisted through the tough times. The Leeds office is extremely successful and the atmosphere is great, especially for new starters. The managers are very committed to helping new starters and they genuinely want them to succeed.
    Unfortunately for me I didn't think I was particularly suited to the role so I felt it was time to move on and go travelling.

    Cons

    The hours are long, but you know what you're signing up to. They have become far more flexible over the last few months as well.

    Robert Half Response

    18 Jan 2019

    It's great to hear that you have enjoyed your time with Robert Half Leeds. All the best for your travels and we wish you luck in finding a role that that is the right fit for you in the future.


  4. "Great place to work - fun and supportive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Robert Half full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great company, fun culture, fantastic management, in depth training

    Cons

    Long hours, and recruitment is often stressful

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    Robert Half Response

    18 Jan 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. All the best for your future endeavours.


  5. "Fantastic Leeds office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Leeds, England
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Leeds, England

    I worked at Robert Half full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I worked in the Leeds office of Robert Half for 4 years, and thoroughly enjoyed my time there. The best element of the Leeds office is the people, who yes work hard, but also try and make each day a positive working environment. The management structure is based upon merit and experience, with senior managers always present in the office to support teams. The Leeds office also benefits from an excellent sales support team who do
    a huge amount to assist the recruitment consultant teams. The director of the Leeds office was actively involved with each employee, and invested a lot of time supporting me during my time there.
    I received excellent training during my time, and the company has also recently invested in upgrading its software and hardware to improve working efficiency.
    I thought this was a great place to work, and would happily recommend tomanyone interested in a career in recruitment.

    Cons

    Occasional long hours, but standard for the recruitment industry

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing time in people as you did with me, and encouraging a happy working environment

    Robert Half Response

    9 Jan 2019

    A positive work environment, hands-on support from our leadership teams and offering training and development opportunities are key benefits of working for Robert Half. It's great to hear that you... More


  6. "no management, no training, stupid meetings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in London, England
    Current Employee - Recruiter in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Half full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    the location is the only pro, life there is toxic

    Cons

    the people, the managers, the interview rooms, the salaries, the recruiters who have no idea of what they're doing

    Advice to Management

    change careers, this one is obviously not right for you


  7. "Recruitment consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Reading, England
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Half full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Brilliant culture and space to develop as an individual

    Cons

    Work life balance is fairly limited

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing forward, try and create a less internally competitive business model

    Robert Half Response

    9 Jan 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

  8. "One of the best recruiters to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Guildford, England
    Current Employee - Consultant in Guildford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Half full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Potential to earn is fantastic - the more you put in the more you get out
    - Training is second to none, even a year into working here there is still constant support and development which makes you feel valued.
    - State of the art system + all employees get a Microsoft tablet to work on.
    - Family feeling despite the business being so large, regionally everyone works very well together
    - Fun and inclusive atmosphere within the office
    - Meritocracy, if you work hard you will be rewarded
    - Promotional prospects great

    Cons

    - Work hours are long, the more you put in the more you get out though
    - Very intensive when you first start so people must be resilient.

    Robert Half Response

    9 Jan 2019

    If you are willing to work hard and make the most of the training opportunities we provide, then you will be rewarded. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.


  9. "Business Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Director in Bristol, England
    Current Employee - Business Director in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Half full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great company to work with. Highly supportive. Strong on praise and reward.

    Cons

    Less well know for our strong Technology recruitment proposition

    Robert Half Response

    9 Jan 2019

    Thank you for leaving a review! It's great to hear that you enjoy working for Robert Half.


  10. "Senior Business Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Manager in Manchester, England
    Current Employee - Senior Business Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Half part-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    A constantly evolving company that cares about their people, always ready with opportunities when employees are ready to step up.

    Cons

    Working for such a large corporate does have many benefits, but at times it means we do not have the flexibility at local level to make big decisions that can impact our clients and candidates.

    Advice to Management

    For all businesses new colleagues need time and investment, always invest your time to make sure they understand what is expected of them and give them the tools to succeed, the rest is then down to them.

    Robert Half Response

    9 Jan 2019

    People are at the heart of our business. We are launching a new induction and training programme to ensure that best practice advice and tools are always available for our employees. Thank you for... More