Robert Half Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Robert Half Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Robert Half CEO Harold M. Messmer Jr.
Harold M. Messmer Jr.
49 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance as a recruiter may be difficult for some(in 228 reviews)

  • "Very long hours required to build book of business(in 192 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic Leeds office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Leeds, England

    I worked at Robert Half full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked in the Leeds office of Robert Half for 4 years, and thoroughly enjoyed my time there. The best element of the Leeds office is the people, who yes work hard, but also try and make each day a positive working environment. The management structure is based upon merit and experience, with senior managers always present in the office to support teams. The Leeds office also benefits from an excellent sales... support team who do a huge amount to assist the recruitment consultant teams. The director of the Leeds office was actively involved with each employee, and invested a lot of time supporting me during my time there. I received excellent training during my time, and the company has also recently invested in upgrading its software and hardware to improve working efficiency. I thought this was a great place to work, and would happily recommend tomanyone interested in a career in recruitment.

    Show More

    Cons

    Occasional long hours, but standard for the recruitment industry

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing time in people as you did with me, and encouraging a happy working environment

    Robert Half2018-12-31
  2. "good employers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Half full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great culture, good pay and good progression

    Cons

    constant target, but reasonable

    Robert Half2019-10-03
  3. "Good people, tough culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Bristol, England

    I worked at Robert Half full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, sales driven, high earning potential

    Cons

    Antiquated culture, no ownership as it is highly micromanaged. Not for everyone

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your consultants and do something about about it

    Robert Half2019-10-01
  4. "Great Birmingham office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Half full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Vibrant office - Great support from managers - Clear training and development goals

    Cons

    Work hours but it is expected in recruitment!

    Robert Half2019-09-03
  5. "Avoid unless you want to be treated like a child and want to have any sort of life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Robert Half full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Sometimes the banter is quite funny

    Cons

    Management tried to force me to lie to candidates about vacancies that don't exist Management tried to force me to place adverts for fictitious jobs You are expected to work really long hours (08:30 - 19:00 Monday to Friday) Culture of misogyny, drinking, drugs, racism Lack of training and support Commission can be hard / take a while to earn

    Advice to Management

    Change the culture, don't force employees to work on burn-out... You may think that you need to work from 08:30-19:00 to be successful but you don't. Above all... Stop actively encouraging staff to lie to customers and candidates (Some of whom are struggling and financially vulnerable)

    Robert Half2019-10-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great training ground but not a place for a long career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Services Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Robert Half full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Will give anyone a shot and it is a phenomenal place to train in your early twenties, both in terms of technique and work ethic.

    Cons

    Awful culture and values, no professional or personal ethics at management level

    Robert Half2019-09-09
  7. "Birmingham Office UK - Growth Engine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Half full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I joined the Birmingham business as a 23 year old 14 years ago with a bit of sales experience but no recruitment experience I have been in the top 3% of performers in the world twice and on my forth opportunity in building a business from scratch; that exposure, development, support and experience I would not get financing those opportunities independently I can honestly say it has been a joy, a challenge,... developmental, tough, enjoyable, rewarding and hilarious ! I have built friendships for life and trust the business implicitly to support and look after my well being My career working for the Birmingham Robert Half office and the company as a whole has been both personally and financially rewarding I can highly recommend our leadership and the opportunities for growth and career development

    Show More

    Cons

    Keeping control of working hours can be a challenging when building a business - this takes personal discipline and working smart

    Robert Half2019-08-16
  8. "Working at Robert Half"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Half full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive atmosphere Great team Only been with RHT for 3 months, but felt very welcomed by everyone Flexible if I have events outside of work which I need to attend

    Cons

    Long hours (Expected in this role, and was made very clear - so no surprises)

    Robert Half2019-08-28
  9. "Excellent all round"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pa to Vice President in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Half full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I wanted to take a minute to express my sincere appreciation and how much I have valued Mackenny's contribution and professionalism in assisting me with securing a new role. Not only did he exceed expectations for himself he also promoted your Company as a highly committed , client focused , competent Recruitment Agency. I have been working with Recruitment Agencies now for over 5 years and can... honestly say the service level I have received from Mackenny has been excellent on all fronts. Please pass on my thanks and gratitude.

    Show More

    Cons

    No cons found as yet

    Robert Half2019-05-24
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Poor Management, Not a diverse tem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruiter in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Robert Half full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team around you, fun, outgoing.

    Cons

    Management is very male dominated with a relaxed approach to drug taking and I watched grads who never touched a drop in the past join in just to fit in. I witnessed non stop bullying of new people coming into the business and inevitable burn out. They have had a huge turnover of staff under a new leader and it's difficult to see what they're doing to stop it. It's a bit of a joke at desk now. Leaders within... the business cannot be trusted and no one feels comfortable to speak honestly about how they're feeling. It feels like the UK business has no actual idea how to improve or change for the times but instead force people to work harder. (Never smarter!) The technology team is a mess and that's just the perm team- the tech temp team are forgotten about and no one cares! The times they are a changin and Robert Half are stuck in 2003! People are leaving in their droves but inevitably the leadership will say they were just average and couldn't hack it. WAKE UP BOYS!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Trust people, change your Senior Management team, trust that someone who is quiet has the ability to do the job and doesn't need to be laddy. Promote female leaders Do what is right, not what is easy

    Robert Half2019-06-13
Found 4052 reviews