Robert Walters Reviews

Updated 11 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
67%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Robert Walters Chief Executive Officer Robert Walters
Robert Walters
89 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly, collaborative working environment(in 48 reviews)

  • "good training and support, international environment(in 34 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours but to be expected in recruitment(in 50 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance, flexibility, KPI based progression(in 27 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing company culture and fantastic progression opportunities

      2 Mar 2021 - Recruitment Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun working environment, great people, lots of learning and development opportunities, chance to earn great commission

      Cons

      Long hours and lots of cold calling

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Thank you for sharing such positive feedback about your experience working for Robert Walters. We are so glad that you would recommend us to your network as a great place to work. Robert Walters was recognised as a Great Place To Work® UK in 2020 which was fundamental to keeping morale high and maintaining business productivity and efficiency during a tough and turbulent year by following COVID-19.

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      awful staff management

      7 May 2021 - Recruitment Consultant in Birmingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      training courses very efficient great

      Cons

      very clicky, not a friendly environment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      If you're not a recruiter you get shafted - back office, IT in particular stay away.

      15 Jan 2021 - IT Support in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Better than being unemployed I suppose

      Cons

      Work hard all year round, go above and beyond to get a disgrace (if anything) come bonus/review time. - 3 years in a row now and always a new excuse "poor year/Covid/Brexit" even though if you check the annual reports the company always seems to be making a decent profit. Long hours, expected to work evenings and weekends for a pat on the back and a "this will be remembered come bonus time", which clearly is not the case. A new CIO came in a couple of years ago and to be fair he seems good, but should have cycled out some of the old SMT's in particular ones who change country every 3 months, cant really be productive when constantly changing country/continent. Will be blocked for promotion/team change by a certain SMT despite educating yourself and proving you are capable of doing the job and the manger of said team wants you in the team, if you are not a favourite for bowing down to him.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for your review. I understand your frustrations and appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I am, of course, disappointed to read your comments; I want all our team members to have access to the opportunities they deserve. I’d been keen to get a few more details about your experience — if you’re keen to do so, please email me (kevin.bulmer@robertwalters.com) directly and we can set up a completely confidential call. Kev Bulmer Group IT Director

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Recruitment

      23 Mar 2021 - Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have a good culture

      Cons

      The bonus is discretionary and not structured

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      cool company to work for

      16 Mar 2021 - Web Developer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      team driven, relaxed atmosphere an supportive

      Cons

      could pay more - not sure about cons during this period.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and for sharing your experience of working for Robert Walters. Here at Robert Walters we value and encourage a collaborative, team-based workplace culture, breaking down barriers to communication across the business, to help guide decision-making and improve overall business workflow.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company culture

      14 Jan 2021 - Senior Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Collaborative - Nice people - Good social events - Path to progress fairly clear - International opportunities

      Cons

      - Discretionary bonus scheme means you often do not know what you'll be taking home until the month of pay day after the last quarter - Team based profit model means bonuses can often be impacted if team has not had a good quarter (although if you bill £60k+ often they'll make sure you'll be compensated, though anything less than this is unlikely) - Bonuses are usually around 10%-12% when billing from £60k-£90k - much lower than most agencies

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good company to work for

      2 Mar 2021 - Trainee Solicitor in City of London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Established company with a global presence and room for continuous growth.

      Cons

      No cons to flag at present.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Team orientated & collaborative

      15 Feb 2021 - Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very team orientated, strong leadership team & invested in through training & personal development

      Cons

      Longer hours but it that is natural for recruitment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company to Work for

      10 Feb 2021 - IT Technician in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Robert Walters is a progressive company that values staff members and provides a great working environment to excel.

      Cons

      None that I an think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Recruitment consultant

      23 Mar 2021 - Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun working environment & really awesome people

      Cons

      Low pay & unequal distribution of bonus

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for your review — I’m glad you enjoyed the working environment here; indeed, we believe our people make our outstanding culture what it is. Nevertheless, we can assure you that we always offer competitive salaries (in line with an individual’s skills and experience). Further, we understand that you weren’t satisfied with our bonus model, but we believe it’s something that really sets us apart — it helps us make sure that our candidates and clients always come first, and that we’re able to reward people for the total job they do, not just how much they bill. If there’s anything else you’d like to discuss, you can email us at hr.admin@robertwalters.com so that we can set up a confidential chat with the appropriate person from the team.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 492 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Robert Walters Job Seekers

    Recruitment Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Senior Recruitment Consultant
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Robert Walters? Share Your Experiences

    Robert Walters logo
    or