Robert Walters Senior Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Robert Walters Senior Consultant Reviews

Updated 25 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Robert Walters CEO Robert Walters
Robert Walters
14 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work for if you put the effort in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Atmosphere, only sales company I know where your colleagues want you to do equally well as they do individually. You get a lot of encouragement which sometimes you dont in other places -Not a hire and fire place, they give you time to build your desk and market -Very strong culture, not many idiots, which says a lot working in a sales environment -They encourage events and have a fantastic marketing team that... enable you to produce relevant marketing material for clients and candidates alike -Good meritocratic structure. If you work hard and produce results it will be recognised

    Show More

    Cons

    The commission structure could be improved but if it was like other places it could also have an effect on the vibrancy of the firm and the team ethos culture that RW is built around

    Advice to Management

    More collaboration with other offices across the globe, utilise the global nature of the business better i.e. more transparency across international teams to enable better cross-selling opportunities

    Robert Walters2019-10-21
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Capped bonus - au revoir!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some great people (sadly soon to depart)

    Cons

    New French CEO has introduced a capped bonus in a sales business and then applied it retrospectively - despite the ethics of this being on dodgy ground to say the least (allowing people to work a full 3 months before “revealing” new bonus calculation that will then apply on their past billings), this represents a departure from a contractual discretionary bonus model to one that is formula based - breach of... contract? Staff are angry, upset and distraught to be treated in this way with many now financially vulnerable in the lead up to the Christmas period. Such a shame and a sad end to what WAS a great UK business - there is no coming back from this and mass exodus will follow with a total collapse in UK fee income.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If as a management team in recruitment you ever discard the link between the fee earners and the business you are commercially dead in the water - the people ARE the business. Enjoy the extra revenue from ripping hard working staff off from their bonus because you’ll soon be talking to yourself in an empty room - au revoir

    Robert Walters2019-10-25
  3. "3 years and 2 offices (and counting)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Robert Walters offers a great environment that allows for a productive and collegiate workplace. They are very supportive and can provide resources to allow you to focus on the work at hand and build relationships. RW is also getting much better about flexibility and benefits.

    Cons

    It is a large organization so can take a while to figure out how to best navigate and utilize the existing relationships. Additionally, they can do more to lower their environmental footprint.

    Robert Walters2018-11-20
  4. "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Encourage to be out of the office networking and meeting with clients and candidates

    Cons

    Hours can be a bit tedious (08:30 - 18:00). 09:00 would be a better start.

    Robert Walters2018-10-24
  5. "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team atmosphere, great incentives, work hard play hard, a lot of support and mentoring but also left to your own devises and treated like an adult

    Cons

    Training on systems and Profile

    Robert Walters2018-02-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Business to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Autonomous and Mature, yet fun working environment Provide mobile phones and laptops enabling you to work from home They understand the value of building relationships with clients and candidates and give you the freedom to go ahead and do that with very few limitations

    Cons

    As with all recruitment businesses, it's longer working hours in comparison to a basic 9-5, however, time goes quickly when you're busy and you enjoy the environment you work in.

    Robert Walters2017-12-11
  7. "Great leadership, team spirit and career opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Marketing is regional, with a budget to invest in local marketing activities that directly affect each individuals market. Resources and investment is channelled towards endeavours that enable the creation and maintenance close business relationships, meaning each individual and each team are encouraged to host events, both large scale (e.g. quiz / curry nights) and more close and tactile events (such as... Football boxes / Tennis / Cricket events) The business actively engages in local business community - participating in events such as the West Midlands Finance Awards, Birmingham Chambers Events and Women in Business events and encourages us all to get involved We are a big brand, we have a great back office and excellent central operations however locally, we can trade in a flexible enough way that we ensure our clients get a truly individual, flexible experience The local Management in each regional, and certain in my office are not time served veterans who have landed in a leadership role because of tenure and personal favour with the higher echelons - instead they are all proven deliverers at the coal face, who have a a good legacy of delivery in their local markets and add real value to the performance of the teams, the individuals in those teams and are never too far removed away from the coal face no matter how high they advance. The business constantly invests in technology, and have the best local infrastructure - which means our offices are in the right place, we have technology to be able to do our jobs where ever we are (home or at work or even on the move) and more so, the business encourages and trusts us with the flexibility that comes with being able to take our devices home and work from there. Flexibility is something that cant be overstated - all too often employers say that they are flexible but in reality people are chained to their office desks 95% of the working week - we really do have flexibility and a leadership team that trusts its people to embrace & value this flexibility, which is empowering in an industry that at times can be quite cynical of its own people's work ethic (hence chaining to their desks 95% of the time). Pay, bonus and benefits is brilliant - and is centred around everyone doing well, and benefiting from the fruits of this labour. What you don't have here is one or two person making eye wateringly colossal bonuses with everyone else being sold the promise of what they could earn but in reality, have to work 75 hours a week and feel like you are selling your soul to get a decent income / bonus... People get paid well, people get bonus and there really is a spirit of wanting to help everyone do well because well all benefit - we really are all in this together. Local leadership hire the right people, and consult with the team when making hiring decisions. In this way, we mitigate the risk that we hire the wrong type of personality for this environment so there is less frequency of people coming and going than in other places I have worked. I feel I have a career here, within a business that encourages me to be as good as I can be amongst a leadership team and peer group that I trust, are effective and will go above and beyond for me.. as I will for them. We have a big brand - and we actively seek to leverage of this brand - building local business relationships that in turn become national or tapping into global business that has presence in our local markets. We have a great culture here - locally the leadership team are attentive to ensuring the right type of culture and environment exists and persists.

    Show More

    Cons

    Our normal working hours are not too dissimilar usual working day of 9-5, and there is a lot of flexibility. Things can change all of a sudden, a client may have an urgent need, a candidate can only meet early in the morning, or the only time you can get feedback from candidate interviews is after work - this means that you will at times need to start earlier, or feel that you are working much later than your... normal working hours - that's the nature of recruitment, but what it may mean to some that the returns that come from meeting that candidate early in the morning (and placing them and making a decent fee) is not worth the sacrifice of the extra hour in bed, or the interruption to your evening meal... those who adhere too closely to the formal working hours may struggle / are disappointed as the occasional early morning or late night is the norm.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep trusting your local leaderships and ensure the tools and resources are consistently there to allow them to lead.

    Robert Walters2017-12-13
  8. "Great place to progress your career- if you work hard!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mature work environment incentivised well with good bonuses promotion is pretty transparent enjoyable work culture RW gives you all the tools in which to succeed Marketing team is second to none

    Cons

    Work life balance- but its recruitment and it is self inflicted!

    Advice to Management

    Continue along with the current culture- RW is very forward thinking, so keep remaining ahead of the trend is key

    Robert Walters2017-12-11
  9. "Fantastic Forward Thinking Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Autonomy, Collaboration & Communication from MD and all management within the business as well as the wider group is great Able to offer an excellent service to our clients and candidates. They embrace change and move with the times in order to be the best at what they do. Excellent employer. Very supportive and caring. Understands how to get the best out of us by encouragement, training, recognition! Great... benefits and commission scheme! Targets are not unrealistic and you are expected to work hard, but then that is to be expected!

    Show More

    Cons

    - Not for the faint hearted. - You will lose sleep - but if you cant handle a stressful job at one point in your life, then you should probably reconsider your ambition. - You must be willing to overcome adversity and believe that you will come out on top. - Long hours... but only if you work hard and not smart.

    Advice to Management

    - Get more of an insight as to what each consultant is actually doing. Make sure that they are actively expanding their market knowledge and making the effort to submerse themselves in to the area that they cover via their Seniors. -Increase the short term incentives to kick-start the newer recruits eg early finish etc It'll easily improve work efficiency.

    Robert Walters2017-12-08
  10. Helpful (4)

    "More clicky than the kardashians"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Robert Walters for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people for the most part. Lots of team based incentives.

    Cons

    Too slow to promote. Don't reward successes that well. Poor bonuses. The senior management is also a joke, never visible on the floor and they do not treat poor performers well.

    Advice to Management

    Think about who you have in management positions.

    Robert Walters2017-12-06
Found 40 reviews