Robert Walters Senior Recruiter Reviews

Updated 24 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .
5.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Robert Walters Chief Executive Officer Robert Walters
Robert Walters
1 Rating
  1. "Senior Recruitment Conultant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Career prospects and supportive management team

    Cons

    Although I have had no complaints, having zero viability over the bonus structure can be difficult at times

    Robert Walters2016-11-09
  2. "Meh"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruiter in Brisbane

    I worked at Robert Walters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some nice people and tools

    Cons

    The manager treated people with hostility

    Continue reading
    Robert Walters2019-12-24

    Robert Walters Response

    January 6, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to read that you felt there was hostility from the management — if you like, I’d appreciate setting up a confidential conversation with you so that I can get a few more details about your experience—you can contact me at sinead.hourigan@robertwalters.com.au. Your feedback is much appreciated and helps us improve our employee experience. Many thanks, Sinead Hourigan Director, Robert Walters Brisbane

  3. "Great Growth Opportunities & Team Culture!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Office Culture - we are a small but mighty Team at the moment, and the culture is really wonderful. We work hard, but it is very collaborative and team members are recognized and commended for the hard work they put in. As we continue to grow, we look for people to join the Team who have values that mirror ours, who we know are good humans and who we know we'd like to spend time with! Diversity of thought and experience is highly valued by RW CA which I really love as well. 2. Career Growth Opportunities - if you work hard, and provide value to the business you will be offered great career progression opportunities, and quite quickly. There is also great support & resources to learn and develop your skills/ weakness & whatever focus areas you'd like to take on. 3. 360 approach - this means you get to do it all. Business develop, manage clients, lead searches, etc. Vs. being silo'd to one specific piece of the recruitment process (not as engaging/ dynamic imo) 4. Long Term/ Consultative Approach as a Business - We aren't a staffing firm. Our practice is focused more on the quality of the relationships we build than the volume. And most of the candidates we are in touch with are not active. We play the long game, and as such the role is more engaging as you get to be higher touch with candidates and clients and add-value by advising our partners. You are also offered quite a bit of autonomy if the trust is there. 5. International Opportunities - Once you are with a practice for a min of 2yrs, you have the ability to transfer to any office in the world (we have 65 office internationally)! RW CA truly keeps their word with this, and will help you make the transfer happen.

    Cons

    1. Large Public Corporate Company - this has its' advantages and disadvantages depending on what you value and what's important to you. But my nature of our size, there are parts of the culture that are a bit more "old school" in nature. Keep in mind, this is coming from someone who came from the start-up/ entrepreneurial world. All that to say, RW US leadership is quite progressive and for the last year has been implementing all sorts of new policies to foster more flexibility, tech optimizations, and trust in employees. It's been really neat to see the changes come to life, and it has positively impacted our culture even more. If the trust in you is there, they are very adaptable in making things work (i.e.: kids, health issues, geography/commute, etc.) 2. Can be longer hours, especially since we're building a business, but management is very upfront about this from the get go. Also - putting in the extra time is made easier, bc the work culture is fun, kind, collaborative and you know people always have your back.

    Continue reading
    Robert Walters2019-05-09
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Robert Walters - San Francisco, CA Office"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Robert Walters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to start a recruiting career from the beginning or refine your recruiting skills and learn from people who have been in the recruiting industries for many years! Prior to joining RW, I had 3 years of inside sales experience and found RW as a great opportunity to make a career switch into a field driven by relationships & networking in person. It gave me exposure to a wide variety of business industries, helped me learn how startups are typically structured and broadened my business acumen. HIGHLIGHTS: - the types of clients RW partners with in the SF office are venture backed tech startups primarily so there is a wide variety of industries to learn about, you get to meet with founders/CEOs/VPs/VC Firm Partners in an ever growing and hot candidate market in Silicon Valley where generally candidates are very opportunistic and open to speaking with recruiters. - Team oriented environment leads to a really strong internal culture. This is not a boiler room/ cold-calling old school recruitment style environment, rather you are incentivized to work collaboratively as a team, helping your teammates as well as helping your clients & candidates find the perfect match which just feels like a win/win all around. - on the culture note... ONE OF THE BEST! The office is large enough to have a variety of personalities for a diverse mix of thought but small enough that you really get to know your coworkers. Lots of people hang out together outside of work, quarterly offsites are always fun and planned with unique activities around the Bay Area and all around you’re guaranteed to laugh with supportive coworkers who genuinely care about each other. Plus they just moved the SF office into a snazzy new building that is really modern and has some of the classic tech startup perks (standup desks, snacks, coffee, ping pong, comfy chairs etc) - there is more of an emphasis on being strategic with your clients/candidates, if you are a people person who values face to face coffees/lunches/meetings, you will do well here as leadership understands the value of getting out in front of clients/candidates in person. - opportunity for transfers internationally or to other domestic offices is very real, RW is one of the few companies I know that make it easy and encourage any interest to work abroad with other offices (~60 office worldwide to choose from as well) - Incredible philanthropic opportunities within the company like Charity Days & Fundraisers/Donations... I was lucky enough to go on a company sponsored volunteer trip to Kenya, Africa in partnership with a charity RW works closely with which was life-changing. - Leadership will invest time in you, just take the initiative to show that you hustle and want to learn and it will pay off. Lots of upward growth potential and career promotions available as well.

    Cons

    - Long hours but truly it’s a sales job (and compensated accordingly which is nice) so that’s not anything outside of what you’d expect with other similar jobs - the harder you work, the more it pays off. - It’s a bit of a learn by doing type of job, you will mess up at some point but be open to feedback with management and learn from mistakes. - Tech platforms weren't the latest and greatest as you'd expect being in the Bay Area but recently before I left there was upgrades happening and leadership would ensure tech/tools that were needed (we did get Macbook laptops approved for example).

    Continue reading
    Robert Walters2018-11-21
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company, Culture & People!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Executive Recruiter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Out of the companies I've worked for in the past, RW is one of the best. With the opportunities that they provide as far as learning and global mobility, it is by far an exceptional organization with a lot of room for growth. Personally, I can say that recruiting is not for everyone. As such there are some bad reviews based on their individual experience, however, if you are dedicated and focused then you will go far here. Plus after 2 years, they have an awesome global mobility policy that allows you to transfer to another one of their 56 offices around the world in 28 countries, and the opportunities to move up from an Associate to a Manager, up to a Director are vast. Hard work is key. The Managing Director's door is always open if your manager isn't around and you have questions. Happy hours and working alongside great co-workers are just an added bonus!

    Cons

    Every company has some cons but I'm truly hard pressed to think of any. I've had a great experience during my career here.

    Continue reading
    Robert Walters2017-09-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Professional, Rewarding and Enjoyable"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Executive Recruiter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent leadership from the President and senior managers. If you work hard and are dedicated you will be set up to succeed . Career development is promoted within the firm and the commission structure is uncapped. New employees are always given time to produce and benefit from both on the job and off the job training. The office is designed in a way where hard work and performance is rewarded and this is evident as there are a number of senior people who have been there for 5,10 and 15 years +. This alone is an excellent indicator of how supportive the environment is at Robert Walters and in general is an excellent place to work!

    Cons

    It is hard to think of any cons really. Recruitment as an industry can be challenging but Robert Walters provides a great environment to help recruiters through tough markets.

    Continue reading
    Robert Walters2017-06-17
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Not a great experience"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruiter in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Robert Walters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working team who collaborated together.

    Cons

    poor management and growth opportunities

    Continue reading
    Robert Walters2017-01-16

    Robert Walters Response

    January 18, 2017HR

    It is unfortunate that you didn’t have a great experience at Robert Walters, but we understand that recruitment is not for everyone. The management team at Robert Walters in New York has been together for several years. We all work in an open plan environment, and open communication has been a hallmark of our success. We have weekly meetings discussing targets and appraisals every six months, where we go over the path to success and promotion. Additionally, all of our managers have been promoted from within the organization. If you would like to discuss this further please don’t hesitate to contact me, Kurt Kraeger, on kurt.kraeger@robertwalters.com.

  8. "Good company but was mismanaged at the time"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruiter in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Robert Walters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very international, vibrant, worked with colleagues and clients, candidates from all over the world. Fun loving culture and the company provided Friday fresh fruits, weekly or monthly parties / recreational activities. High quality employees, smart people in the company. Very driven culture with regular all-staff meeting conducted to charge everyone up with go-getter energy

    Cons

    too KPI focused. Almost rigid about the number of phone calls made, meetings made. It sometimes made employees go for these metrics than going for final deals, which means people waste lots of productive time, just to get the stress off their mind. At the mid of 2012, many people resigned and the company suffered from low morale. Everyone felt they could be kicked out any point of time and the company did not treasure any individual. Another problem is their discretionary bonus which had no transparency. Consultants complain about that a lot.

    Continue reading
    Robert Walters2014-11-19

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews