Rocket Fuel Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Rocket Fuel Analyst Reviews

Updated 6 Jan 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
46%
Recommend to a Friend
Rocket Fuel CEO George John
George John
0 Rating
  1. "Not going well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Rocket Fuel for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Perks, Office, location, tech stack

    Cons

    Management, lack of transparency, competition

    Continue reading
    Rocket Fuel2019-01-06
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Solid Tech Stack but Shaky Business (at the moment)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rocket Fuel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - good benefits - nice offices - relatively cutting edge (mostly) open source tech stack

    Cons

    - Below market wages - Static, hierarchical management structure unbefitting of modern tech company - Largely un-meritocratic, fixed schedule of raises/promotions - Gap between rhetoric regarding company values and actual daily life on the ground

    Continue reading
    Rocket Fuel2016-05-07

    Rocket Fuel Response

    June 23, 2016Employer Representative

    Thanks for the advice. Good idea around rebalancing wages / perks. Our recent crowdsourcing from employees surfaced this suggestion a few times. We will look into it more.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Rocket Fuel was everyone's best-time-of-their-lives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rocket Fuel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Rocket Fuel was a family.... It really was, and we were all rich for 5 minutes, lol. Thank you to all of the people there that made it possible.

    Cons

    Apparently ad-tech was a dog-shit product because consumers were completely unable to differentiate hype from science - also, some of our competitors had a better program with publishers, which is a game with apparently chose not to play. (dumb).

    Continue reading
    Rocket Fuel2018-03-06
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Just Plain Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Fuel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The non-managers were very good to work with there.

    Cons

    The managers were horrible, which is why the company went out of business.

    Continue reading
    Rocket Fuel2018-03-07
  5. Helpful (6)

    "A Great Place to Work and Jumpstart your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Operations Analyst in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rocket Fuel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Smart People - Competitive Salary - Positive Work/Life Balance

    Cons

    - Not every team has a great manager - 401k plan is not as competitive as other large companies

    Continue reading
    Rocket Fuel2017-04-19

    Rocket Fuel Response

    May 9, 2017SVP, People

    Thanks for keeping it real and reminding management to leverage the positive.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Changing Landscape With Good Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Fuel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch, ESPP, Unlimited PTO, Work/Life Balance

    Cons

    Young industry that is constantly changing which has led to layoffs twice in the past 2 years

    Rocket Fuel2017-04-19
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Credit Analyst in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Fuel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nothing good about g people off

    Cons

    Laying employees off now and then

    Continue reading
    Rocket Fuel2017-02-07
  8. Helpful (17)

    "Going down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Fuel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunches, flexible time off (basically unlimited if you are cool with your manager)

    Cons

    Terrible executive staff, constant CFO turnover. CEO really doesn't care about employees, in huddles constantly says "well if you don't like it, leave", that is the absolute worst mentality to have and terrible to raise morale at a dying company.

    Continue reading
    Rocket Fuel2017-01-24
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Analyst in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rocket Fuel for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work culture and balance

    Cons

    Politica should reduce and poor communication

    Continue reading
    Rocket Fuel2017-01-09

    Rocket Fuel Response

    January 13, 2017SVP, People & Executive Operations

    Thank you for the review. It would be so helpful if you could share directly with myself or Randy suggestion on how to improve communications and in particular understand more your reference to "politics".

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rocket Fuel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free catered lunches, snacks of all kinds as well (chips, yogurt, bars, cereal etc). Tons of different drinks. Even strawberries, blueberries, nuts and stuff to make your own huge breakfast. Flexible work environment, everything is cloud based so you can take your work home easily. Everyone starts off with a macbook air or lenovo x1 carbon, so both are super lightweight and you don't need much processing power because of the aformentioned cloud based capability. Our tech/product is actually very great for a company that has had issues with its stock price, and you will work with tons of intelligent yet cool people. The motto here is nerdy but lovable, and that actually seems to be true. I think RF expanded too quickly with headcount which is why the stock has been tanking as we are now trying to cut back expenses like unnecessary hiring, and hopefully the turnaround will be soon. But I'm not worried, what we're doing here is good stuff.

    Cons

    Please make 401K match (of anyk kind) top HR priority after we cut enough expenses. Aside from that, I haven't experienced any yet, perhaps some people getting a little anxious because the stock price has been tanking recently but we just got a new CEO last week and he seems to have a strong vision and definitely has the salesman skills to pull it off. Only time will tell. I will say comp package of RSU's can be a little more competitive given the strong downward trend of the stock.

    Rocket Fuel2015-11-19

    Rocket Fuel Response

    November 23, 2015Employer Representative

    Thank you for the review. Many US employees have raised the request to have 401k matching. Once we consistently demonstrate delivering profitability, we will absolutely have this on the roadmap to offer to our employees.

    Continue reading
Found 19 reviews