Ross Stores Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Ross Stores Reviews

Updated 26 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Ross Stores CEO Barbara Rentler
Barbara Rentler
1,109 Ratings
Pros
  • "Definitely the employee discount and tuition reimbursement(in 286 reviews)

  • "20% discount on total purchase (unless it's Double Discount Week which is then 40%)(in 240 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "I’m not sure But good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time

    Pros

    FlexiBle hours and can accommodate to school

    Cons

    Long hours Working till 5 am

    Ross Stores2020-02-25
  2. "Working at Ross comes with its pros and cons."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Stock Associate in Hoover, AL

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    During peak season (Christmas) you get a lot of overtime.

    Cons

    Not enough hours and scheduling is inconsistent.

    Ross Stores2020-02-25
  3. "Decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time

    Pros

    Easy job nice co workers

    Cons

    The only con I have are the hours

    Ross Stores2020-02-26
  4. "Nice staff & make sure your fast at your job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Supervisor in Upland, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No time for gossip, ways busy, everyone is nice, get 20% discount

    Cons

    Pay is minimum wage no higher pay for FES, and more responsibility. They time you on everything.

    Continue reading
    Ross Stores2020-02-23
  5. "The company gives lots of opportunities to move up but it’s hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time

    Pros

    Benefits discounts that is it

    Cons

    Demanding that’s all I can say

    Ross Stores2020-02-23
  6. "Company as a whole is good, local management has problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Fitting Room/Cashier/Stock 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Hours are good. Work is demanding, but fair. Pay is ok

    Cons

    My manager knows how to work the system so they get their yearly bonus; -- limit supplies so not to go over budget. Area manager dating employee so they spend hours in office alone and leave the store to run by itself. Said employee not required to do any thing they do not want to. Long lunches, late to work, sometimes hours. Have contacted the hotline, but was called in manager's office next morning and reprimanded for doing so. I fear my employment is at stake if I were to contact it again. I have tried to apply for different positions, but because manager has personal issues with me will not offer me, or even let me know when positions are available. Instead of picking the best person for the job, they select someone that will not outperform them. Longtime employees just know that they must tow the line or there will be hell to pay.

    Continue reading
    Ross Stores2020-02-16

    Ross Stores Response

    February 24, 2020Sr. HR Coordinator

    We value your feedback and appreciate you taking time to reach out to us. With your permission we would like to contact you directly to personally address your comments. Please email us at customer.service@ros.com with the best number to reach you at and we would be happy to give you a call back. Alternatively, you are welcome to call our confidential associate Alertline to discuss your comments. At Ross, we have a no retaliation policy. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  7. "#BeABoss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Excellent Full Time Benefits -Strong organization culture focused on development

    Cons

    -Field leaders are not given the ability to innovate

    Ross Stores2020-02-14

    Ross Stores Response

    February 24, 2020Sr. HR Coordinator

    This is important feedback, thank you for making us aware. Training is key to developing our Associates. Many times the changes we make take time and a few versions before we get it right. Insights like this help us to adjust and make improvements for all Associates.

    Continue reading
  8. "Ross"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Stock Room Associate 

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and friendly managers and coworkers.

    Cons

    There were no downsides to working here

    Ross Stores2020-02-12

    Ross Stores Response

    February 24, 2020Sr. HR Coordinator

    We’re proud of our brand and the people who work here. It’s always nice to be able to recognize our great Associates. Thanks for sharing!

    Continue reading
  9. "Fair Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Twin Falls, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The merchandise was great, good discount. A great business model, stable company to work for. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Never enough payroll to keep the store clean. Customers trash the store and then complain. Hard to keep people (entry level) because the work is very demanding and has time constraints on all areas of productivity.

    Continue reading
    Ross Stores2020-02-26
  10. "Great company, horrible Dept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Manager in Dublin, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary is competitive, stable company

    Cons

    Negative, always pointing fingers, no positive feedback, lack of support, improperly staffed compared to work load

    Continue reading
    Ross Stores2020-02-26

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 4758 reviews