Ross Stores Reviews

Updated 13 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Ross Stores CEO Barbara Rentler
Barbara Rentler
1,522 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is a nice employee discount that I greatly enjoyed(in 326 reviews)

  • "20% discount on total purchase (unless it's Double Discount Week which is then 40%)(in 254 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No benefits for part time employees(in 233 reviews)

  • "Minimum wage is not the greatest play(in 186 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Good Company

      29 Nov 2020 - Merchant Support Administrator in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good management and really amazing coworkers. they did an amazing job handling WFH because of Covid

      Cons

      pay is on the lower side- must advocate for yourself in the hiring process

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Former employee review

      11 May 2021 - Front End Supervisor/Cash Office Clerk in Yuba City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The time I worked at Ross I was moved up from a sales associate to front end supervisor & cash office supervisor within a month. This was my first job & I admired the managers who really looked into their associates who have the potential to help the company and also ways to help others be better.

      Cons

      Cut hours after Christmas hit hard. Some associates went from working 5+ hours almost everyday to only working 4 hours almost once or twice a week. From the time i was hired till after Christmas I worked at least 40 hours sometimes a little more but after Christmas I was only scheduled 4 hours for only 2 sometimes only one day of the week.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Store Protection Specialist

      4 May 2021 - SPS in Euless, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It’s a very, very easy job (also boring beyond words). They always give you your minimum hours if you’re a full time employee; they do honor PTO after you’ve worked there long enough, do offer *decent health benefits.

      Cons

      Interpersonal workplace drama made the whole experience unsavory. (That’s in general for Ross retail stores). In regards to working in Loss Prevention: at Ross, you are essentially treated as a glorified “door greeter”. As I actually have an education in Criminal Justice (along with a moral compass), I found this job to be impossible. Without being able to leave the front door area of the store without being berated, or actually take any measures to PREVENT theft, this is a case where the job description does not match its reality. If you want to pace back and forth for 8 hours and watch people steal while being able to do nothing about it, this is the job for you.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Friendly Co-workers and Management

      13 May 2021 - Sales Associate/Cashier in Brentwood, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly Co-workers and Management, but otherwise needs work.

      Cons

      I think there is a big disbalance of upper-management and sales floor associates' pay and duties. Long lines, but management cannot do anything about it. Sales associates that tends to do more should get paid more, but it is not that way.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      A

      12 May 2021 - Assistant Manager in Grand Prairie, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits vacation, sick pay, dental health eye care. Other benefits available like pet insurance home rent car insurance. flexible scheduling,

      Cons

      Managers lack of HR training

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      This company is a mess

      7 Apr 2021 - Area Supervisor in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nothing makes this job worth it.

      Cons

      Ross as a company does not care about its employees. They make it hard to report any unethical behavior or harassment within the company. Full time positions are essentially reserved for management only, something that is not disclosed in the hiring process. They would have me working up to 10 days in a row before I got a scheduled day off and some days I would be there for up to 13 hours. During holidays when hours were extended, they would schedule me to close and open the next morning with only 5 hours in between shifts. No matter how hard or long you work, your job will never be done. The company doesn't provide enough payroll for stores to be adequately staffed, so I was regularly scolded by customers for not having enough cashiers to keep the line down or the store tidy. As a manager I was only paid $12.50 an hour, which is only $1 more than other positions make- such as SPS, whose job is to stand at the door for their entire shift, greeting and counting customers. You will not be paid adequately for the amount of work they ask you to do and the stress load is not worth your while. There is no room for a work/life balance- my entire life became my job. All I did was work then come home and rest before my next shift. A horrible experience in all aspects.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Distribution Centers

      20 Apr 2021 - Unit ID in Perris, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits and pay. Nice associate discount.

      Cons

      You will literally have no life if you apply to thier Southwest Distribution center. There will be constant 8 hr 6 day work weeks and if that's not enough some weeks they want 9 hour days. Your body will never have time to rest or heal. If you have no life or hate spending time with family this place is for you. Don't worry though they will constantly thank you for your flexibility even though all the overtime is mandatory. They also will not excuse an absence even if you have note from your doctor to stay home. Instead they make you jump through hoops. HR is never around when you need them and supervisors and managers can rarely answer your questions. If I could I would rate work/life balance a Zero as Ross thinks thier employees are machines. Also thier bonus program is a joke as it really is just an excuse to keep tabs on people. Bonus program doesn't allow time for unusual procedures. Remember if you apply you are disposable ROSS doesn't care about you they only care about the number you are easily replaced

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Hard work but worth it

      12 May 2021 - Store Manager in Crestwood, Cook, IL, Optional[IL]
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Discount is good, respect, friendly atmosphere

      Cons

      Pay, late nights, no security

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Ab1

      11 May 2021 - Assistant Buyer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competitive benefits, the onboarding program is helpful and they offer classes to really *grow their own*

      Cons

      Managers are very different from each other. if you’re lucky you get a manager who was an intern or assistant at some point so they know what it’s like/ are familiar with the systems. Some managers/buyers don’t care to learn that side of it and won’t fight for your growth. Assistants do a huge chunk of the reports for the big meetings with CEO but do not get to attend meetings. Some divisions are catty/ gossipy.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great for a college part time job

      4 May 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -very flexible with schedule -coworkers are nice -managers are great -feel very safe with all the COVID precautions they take -sometime provide snacks, water, pizza, candy in the break room

      Cons

      Cashiering can be hectic if they’re not enough cashiers on shift or sometimes multiple people can call out in a day leaving extra work

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 6,150 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Ross Stores Job Seekers

    Assistant Buyer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Ross Stores? Share Your Experiences

    Ross Stores logo
    or