Ross Stores Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Ross Stores Reviews

Updated 26 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4401 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Ross Stores CEO Barbara Rentler
Barbara Rentler
991 Ratings
Pros
  • "Awesome employee discount that doubles for a week every quarter of the year(in 266 reviews)

  • "20% discount applies everyday and as many times as you want(in 225 reviews)

Cons
  • "No overtime, limited hours if part time(in 198 reviews)

  • "As far as I was aware people who had been there years hadnt gotten one until our minimum wage went up(in 176 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Super family oriented, amazing hours, able to work from home!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Specialist in Dublin, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They Inspire Accept all creative thoughts Authenticity Passion – Enthusiasm – Fun – Weird – Happiness Integrity – Empower – Transparent; Focus – Leadership; Freedom – Driven; Quality – Service-oriented; Teamwork – Sharing – Communication – Collaboration;

    Cons

    Location - Commute is horrible if coming from Concord area

    Advice to Management

    Working from home more would be great. This would make me want to come into work on the days that I should be in office! Sometimes driving an hour a day each way can be super draining.

    Ross Stores2019-06-25
  2. "Excellent Corporate Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful perks, benefits, hours, company events, scheduled reviews & raises. Just fantastic experience and no complaints at all.

    Cons

    I seriously can't think of any at all.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Ross Stores2019-06-26
  3. "I have learned a lot working in my first mall and also a very large shopping center."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Hacienda Heights, Los Angeles, CA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Team work is always a top priority I was always given help when I was lost and or unsure of specific items I was properly trained

    Cons

    Lots of clothes were always thrown on the floor People would steal clothes and leave the security tags on the floor. A lot of people had there child running around unsupervised.

    Advice to Management

    Include more then just one loss and prevention employee in the store at all times,I do believe that every single store should have a minimum of two security guards and or personnel, at all times one person can be inside of the store and one person can stand outside of the store.

    Ross Stores2019-06-24
  4. "Ross is great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great store glad I was able to work here

    Cons

    Not able to make store manager

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Ross Stores2019-06-21
  5. "I enjoy working for Ross"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investigative Analyst in Dublin, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My commute. My team are a fun group, we laugh everyday!

    Cons

    My schedule is not great.

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for the Flex Friday's, morale seems to be up!

    Ross Stores2019-06-19
  6. "It was challenging but I enjoyed every minute of it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They gave you opportunities to try different areas of the store to see how everything functions.

    Cons

    They sometimes expect way to much from employees.

    Ross Stores2019-06-14
  7. "Great for the Older Generation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fashion Assistant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Way above average salary - Easy hours - Generally friendly people

    Cons

    - Extremely old fashioned: outdated policies, outlook on the market, what they "think" employees want, office building - Not much room for innovation in business practices - Stark difference between assistants and higher-ups; not many people in-between... - Too many people who've been there for years who aren't open to hearing insight and won't take younger generations seriously - Communication and meetings lag...

    Show More
    Ross Stores2019-06-26
  8. "Not amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some good leadership, somewhat competitive wage

    Cons

    Most everything. Field leadership was awful. No support. No positive feedback ever.

    Ross Stores2019-06-26
  9. "Experience as a worker in a Ross Distribution Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DC Area Supervisor in Rock Hill, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It has a pretty good working environment, senior management is very professional and associates are friendly in general. It felt good to be part of this company. The bonus (blue chip) is a good deal if you work hard

    Cons

    The health care package is way too expensive

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up, you are doing an excellent job.

    Ross Stores2019-06-11
  10. "Stepping stone job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Cashier 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Ross Stores part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Part time, easy job, they work with school schedules if you have a decent manager.

      Cons

      Not enough hours, managers can be power hungry and micro managing, Raises are only 20 cents, pay is not worth the work

      Ross Stores2019-06-25
    Found 4401 reviews