Royal Bank of Scotland Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Royal Bank of Scotland Reviews

Updated 23 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Royal Bank of Scotland CEO Alison Rose
Alison Rose
23 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "38 year career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent company. Great opportunities. Very focused on staff well-being.

    Cons

    All good in my experience. Would have preferred to have stayed a little longer but VER offer could not be refused.

    Royal Bank of Scotland2019-11-12
  2. "Short term contract initially"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Finance Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland

    I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked with some great colleagues

    Cons

    Induction was non existent, some managers are ineffective.

    Royal Bank of Scotland2020-02-23
  3. "Yes yes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Bank of Scotland part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great salary great staff

    Cons

    Long hours short hoildays

    Continue reading
    Royal Bank of Scotland2020-02-17
  4. "Good working environment with progression opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fraud Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Bank of Scotland part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly environment - Progression opportunities - Good pay for job

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of.

    Royal Bank of Scotland2020-02-14
  5. "RBS Financial Crime"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager Financial Crime Controls in London, England

    I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work especially with work life balance

    Cons

    legacy technology and convoluted HR processes

    Royal Bank of Scotland2020-02-13
  6. "Great flexibility, atmosphere and supportive colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Edinburgh, Scotland

    I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of flexibility with work times and schedules - Excellent support for wellebeing (health, mental etc) - Great colleagues - Lovely cafeteria (Drummond House) with lots of choices - Also lots of training provided - Great perks and benefits - A lot of staff are either newbies beginning their careers and eager to learn or older staff who are happy with where they are - Lots of opportunity for learning (Prof. Banker's Cert etc)

    Cons

    - Remuneration is understandably on the lower side for banks, the debacle of 2008 still casts a shadow over the organisation and limits higher pay and bonus payouts. This in turn leads to high staff turnover as people leave seeking higher pay

    Continue reading
    Royal Bank of Scotland2020-02-11
  7. "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    support, very good place to work.

    Cons

    limited progression in some areas of banking but great in others

    Royal Bank of Scotland2020-02-07
  8. "Inclusive and great place to work - Fraud"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My previous work experience consistent of working in retail environments. Working in Fraud for the royal bank of Scotland has given me endless opportunities to grow to support my career and be the best I can be. I started off my role as an agency member of staff and within 2 years, achieved a role as a people leader.

    Cons

    No cons to comment.

    Royal Bank of Scotland2020-02-06
  9. "Slowly becoming Agile"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    General flexibility to work from home or other office locations with remote login. Slowly becoming Agile, and recovering

    Cons

    Redundancy rounds have been regular the last few years as RBS recovers, leading to pockets of good and poor morale

    Continue reading
    Royal Bank of Scotland2020-02-05
  10. "Could do so much more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Journey Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good overall benefit package and flexible working offered to many

    Cons

    To often staff undertake tasks you are not suitably trained for Can be a high stress environment within the journey teams Opportunities for progression are now predominantly Scotland based

    Continue reading
    Royal Bank of Scotland2020-02-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 3563 reviews