Royal Bank of Scotland Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Royal Bank of Scotland Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3156 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Royal Bank of Scotland CEO Ross McEwan
Ross McEwan
1212 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Customer Support Direct Business Banking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time

    Pros

    Very very nice place to work. Easily accessible via public transport. It’s a great place to work and is very supportive no matter what your situation is. I fell ill on my first week and they said to me to take a few more days off if I still wasn’t well

    Cons

    it takes a long time for your passes and logins to come

    Advice to Management

    Great but need to help with more explanation on training programs

    Royal Bank of Scotland2019-03-31
  2. "Great People and support but job offshored"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Banking in Manchester City Centre, England

      I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time for more than 19 years

      Pros

      People and culture plus supportive management

      Cons

      Negative view of RBS due to financial crash Offshoring means many jobs are based in India

      Advice to Management

      Value the staff you have in the UK. In the rush to reduce costs and simplify the Bank you have lost a vast amount of experience. UK jobs remain in a number of areas, especially if you want to consider telephony roles.

      Royal Bank of Scotland2019-04-10
    • "Treasury Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time for more than 19 years

      Pros

      Interesting and lots to learn

      Cons

      Under resourced and underpaid

      Royal Bank of Scotland2019-04-02
    • "Good company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time

      Pros

      Flexible working Great boss Good perks

      Cons

      Perks not as good as they used to be Don’t promote

      Advice to Management

      Promote good staff.

      Royal Bank of Scotland2019-04-01
    • "Good place to start a career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Personal Banker in Inverness, Scotland
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      - Branch team was made up of good people - Supplied with the IT and training to do my job - Uniform free and looks fine - I was only here a short time but it looked like if you start as an APB very quickly you can move into a more senior role in branch and other parts of the business.

      Cons

      - Not enough staff although they try to get more but leaves people running about like madmen. People coming in and leaving after 4 months like me probably doesn't help this problem - A small minority of customers are disgusting in the way they speak to branch staff often as a result of having to wait because another customer was there before them - Customers get angry because the machines 'dont work'. The reason they...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      I was only here a few months and got offered a promotion with a previous employer so I left which means I have not got too many comments to leave. The new digital branch design is good. Just get on with shutting down the remaining rural branches and make them all like this and customers will be forced to get used to it. Or they can leave and go to the Nationwide and stand in a long queue that resembles the pharmacy...

      Show More
      Royal Bank of Scotland2019-03-30
    • "revolving door of leadership"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Director in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      some nice people generally, less aggressive than US banks perhaps

      Cons

      Where to start, people just always jumping over each other to further their career, whilst the rest of you working like dogs. the bank doesn't have enough clout to compete on certain transactions so you spend hours for nothing when the clients don't want to work with you. the name can leave a stigma on your cv

      Advice to Management

      reduce bureaucracy, pay up, promote and maybe actually stick to your own policies

      Royal Bank of Scotland2019-04-10
    • "Senior Business Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time

      Pros

      Modern offices. Flexible hours. Good pay.

      Cons

      Just a number. Progression only possible for managements 'favourites'.

      Royal Bank of Scotland2019-04-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "Delivery Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Delivery Manager in London, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time for more than 19 years

      Pros

      Good working relationship/culture. Able to work from home

      Cons

      Low paid salary. No bonus if not at a higher managerial level

      Advice to Management

      lmprove training and development Review salaries Offer a bonus regardless of the pay grade

      Royal Bank of Scotland2019-03-20
    • "Great work life balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time

        Pros

        Great work life balance, personal development opportunities and staff

        Cons

        Sometimes a lack of responsibility given to graduates

        Royal Bank of Scotland2019-03-22
      • "Customer service officer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time

        Pros

        good hours and work load

        Cons

        sometimes poor management put in place

        Advice to Management

        fairer opportunities at times

        Royal Bank of Scotland2019-03-14
      Found 3156 reviews