Royal Bank of Scotland Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Royal Bank of Scotland Reviews

Updated 14 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3364 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Royal Bank of Scotland CEO Ross McEwan
Ross McEwan
1,334 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Customer Support Direct Business Banking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time

    Pros

    Very very nice place to work. Easily accessible via public transport. It’s a great place to work and is very supportive no matter what your situation is. I fell ill on my first week and they said to me to take a few more days off if I still wasn’t well

    Cons

    it takes a long time for your passes and logins to come

    Advice to Management

    Great but need to help with more explanation on training programs

    Royal Bank of Scotland2019-03-31
  2. "RBS HR review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Business Partner in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Large HR function with many different specialities, so opportunities to grow your skills and move within the company Offices in different locations UK wide and beyone Salaries at professional level are good and higher than other companies in the market place

    Cons

    HR roles can be high pressured and you are at the beck and call of the business HR seek to be advisors to the business, but in many circumstances the business dictate what they want to happen, including timescales, and you have to make it happen. Can be a lot of pressure, and no let up between projects

    Advice to Management

    Need for better outlets for HR to seek support in managing workload, and to make business areas prioritise better

    Royal Bank of Scotland2019-09-12
  3. "Middle of the road bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Lead - EC Solutions in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, flexible working

    Cons

    Slow paced (but thinks it is fast!). Bureaucratic

    Royal Bank of Scotland2019-09-09
  4. "Supportive and development opportunities are great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexible working and being able to have a great work life balance

    Cons

    direction from Senior management can sometimes stifle projects

    Advice to Management

    embrace agile ways of working and empower the Solution development teams on projects.

    Royal Bank of Scotland2019-09-06
  5. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Risk Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent work life balance, positive outlook, great people, sufficient developments opportunities

    Cons

    Cost reductions at every corners

    Royal Bank of Scotland2019-09-05
  6. "Really strong values with a continued focus to turn the bank around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Bank of Scotland

    Pros

    Supports work life balance and personal development

    Cons

    Limits your experience of working with different businesses and organisations, especially in the project Manager field where it can be transferable

    Advice to Management

    Whilst the focus has to be cost reduction in the current climate don’t lose sight of your own peoples capabilities

    Royal Bank of Scotland2019-09-04
  7. "HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible working and great people

    Cons

    Can be a bit bureaucratic. Parking at gogarburn.

    Royal Bank of Scotland2019-09-03
  8. "Banks are not boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EDR Team Manager in Rotherham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stimulating varied working days. Great people with inspirational managers that create a great working environment.

    Cons

    Very little opportunity for agency staff to gain full time employment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, loved every minute working with inspirational leaders that want to make a difference.

    Royal Bank of Scotland2019-09-03
  9. "Great role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Advisor in Gogar, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Bank of Scotland part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working, option to work some days from home, great colleagues who work to high standards, great management support. Workplace is fantastic, beautiful site, great restaurant and loads of on site activities.

    Cons

    So much going on it’s a challenge to keep track of it all sometimes

    Royal Bank of Scotland2019-09-01
  10. "I dont know what im doing here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Manchester City Centre, England

    I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, fun to work here and great people

    Cons

    No carpark so have to park far and walk 15-20 mins

    Advice to Management

    I want to come back

    Royal Bank of Scotland2019-08-31
Found 3364 reviews