Royal College of Nursing "flexible working" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Royal College of Nursing Employee Reviews about "flexible working"

Updated 12 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Royal College of Nursing  Acting CEO and General Secretary Donna Kinnair
Donna Kinnair
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "I have stayed with the RCN longer than any of my previous employers - what keeps me here(in 12 reviews)

  • "Flexible working , great holiday entitlement(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "RCN treats permanent staff well but if you are on a fixed term contract some of the practices are not so good(in 7 reviews)

  • "Career progression can be limited(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "flexible working"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "A positive place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Events Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal College of Nursing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are the best and everyone pulls together as a team to support each other, i've made some really good friends for life. The offices are nice and in a good location too. Really great perks and flexible working opportunities with lots of opportunity for personal/career development.

    Cons

    It's hard to let your creative side out, to implement real change there are a lot of hoops to jump through.

    Royal College of Nursing 2020-01-12

    Royal College of Nursing Response

    March 4, 2020Business Ops Manager

    The People &OD team (HR) at the RCN wanted to let you know that we are aware that you have posted this feedback about how you feel about working at the RCN and we are really pleased to hear that you think that teamwork is good and you also think that the benefits, career opportunities and flexible working are great too! We’d like to learn more about why you feel your creativity is restricted and about how we could manage change better. We know that our Chief Executive would want to hear about it too if you felt able to talk to her. If you feel comfortable having a conversation with us please do feel free to speak to Steve or Jackie in the People team or indeed to contact Donna directly. Thank you - the People &OD team at the RCN

    Continue reading
  2. "Lots of management games, and an Exec team who haven't a clue!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal College of Nursing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working (if your boss supports it), Good pension scheme (if you are in the CARE scheme)

    Cons

    Lack of ability of the executive team to change the organisation. Managers do not look within for the skills that already exist and trust the opinion of contractors or so called external experts over their own staff. This is a really uncomfortable place to work with staff constantly being overlooked and loads of games at the very senior level.

    Continue reading
    Royal College of Nursing 2020-01-07

    Royal College of Nursing Response

    January 7, 2020Business Ops Manager

    The People and OD team (HR) at the RCN wanted to let you know that we are aware that today you have posted this feedback about how you feel about working at the RCN. We’re sorry to hear that you feel this way and would welcome the opportunity to talk to you about your feedback so that we can better understand your experiences. We know that our Chief Executive would want to hear about it too if you felt able to talk to her. If you feel comfortable having a conversation with us please do feel free to speak to Liz or Steve, or indeed to contact Donna directly. Thank you - the People and OD team at the RCN.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Royal College of Nursing part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working options. Good pay

    Cons

    Management don't always listen. Bullying going on

    Royal College of Nursing 2019-12-11

    Royal College of Nursing Response

    December 17, 2019Business Ops Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on Glassdoor. We aim to do our very best to ensure that the RCN is a great place to work and it’s good to hear that you appreciated the rate of pay and the flexible working options we offer. As an organisation we are always looking for ways to improve, so these reviews are helpful to allow us to explore any concerns and from reading your review, we can see that not all of your time with us has been positive . We would really welcome the opportunity to talk to you about your feedback so that we can better understand your experiences of working at RCN. If you feel comfortable having a conversation with us, in confidence, please give Jackie our HR Business Operations Manager a ring on 02920 546346 or email Jackie via recruit@rcn.org.uk. Thank you again for using the opportunity that Glassdoor provides to give us this insight and allow us, with your help, to do something about it.

    Continue reading
  4. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Accountant in London, England

    I have been working at Royal College of Nursing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working , great holiday entitlement

    Cons

    Career progression within the organisation in some departments can be difficult

    Royal College of Nursing 2019-06-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A modern tragedy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editorial in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Royal College of Nursing full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Holiday entitlement Carers’ leave Salary Flexible working Health and fitness allowance Pension

    Cons

    Poor management Lack of strategy, purpose and direction Jobs for the boys Poor performance is not managed Slow to respond to changing trends in publishing Lack of emotional intelligence from leadership

    Continue reading
    Royal College of Nursing 2019-06-03

    Royal College of Nursing Response

    June 7, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of RCNi on Glassdoor. It’s good to hear you have enjoyed the benefits that RCNi have to offer including our pay, flexible working and generous holiday entitlement. It’s also really great to hear that you felt your RCNi colleagues were talented, positive and hardworking people whom truly want to help promote nurses and the nursing profession. We aim to do our very best to ensure that RCNi is a great place to work but it seems that this has not been your experience. We’re an organisation that is always looking for ways to improve, so these reviews are crucial to allow us to explore your concerns further. We would really welcome the opportunity to talk to you more about your feedback – to better understand your experiences of working at RCNi. If you’d feel comfortable having a conversation with us, in confidence, please do give Sanoober, RCNi’s Head of HR, a ring on (0)20 8872 3105 or email (sanoober.quamer@rcni.com) so that she can arrange something that works for you. We work hard to ensure staff feel supported and able to speak up at the RCN and at RCNi, our subsidiary, and we always seek to resolve issues where this isn’t the case, so thank you again for using the opportunity that Glassdoor provides to give us this insight and allow us, with your help, to do something about it.

    Continue reading
  6. "Great organisation with lots of staff benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Royal College of Nursing full-time

    Pros

    This is great friendly organisation to work for with lots of staff benefits. Home working opportunities, Flexible working. Good holiday entitlement. Good pay rates, Sick Pay, Pension. Giving something back days to provide some time to work for a charity, etc.

    Cons

    As a Union the organisation is weighted towards staff and it sometimes feels staff have more leeway than managers.

    Royal College of Nursing 2017-12-07
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Royal College of Nursing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The RCN is great place to work. Salary and annual leave are over and above and I get to work with some genuinely lovely people every day, and there are some fantastic managers at the RCN. Flexible working is really good, and the organisations appears on board with flexible working which makes a real change to my work life balance.

    Cons

    There are some challenging employees that aren't always positive - which can get you down at times.

    Continue reading
    Royal College of Nursing 2017-10-16

    Royal College of Nursing Response

    October 18, 2017Recruitment Manager

    Hi there, thanks so much for your review, its great to hear from you. We’re really proud of our terms and conditions – glad to hear you think so too. Our annual leave is generous and smart working is really important to us and we have just re-launched our new updates Smart Working Policy. Thank you for your advice to management. We’ve changed a lot over the years thanks to the feedback our people have given us and we do take these reviews seriously. Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review. Best wishes Sarah

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good, open employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Chiswick, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Royal College of Nursing for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Transparent pay structure, good flexible working policies, diversity celebrated

    Cons

    Difficult to move up to a higher grade, recruitment system cumbersome

    Continue reading
    Royal College of Nursing 2016-04-22

    Royal College of Nursing Response

    May 31, 2016Recruitment Manager

    Thanks so much for your review. It’s fantastic to hear from you and that you find the RCN has good flexible working policies, and transparent terms and conditions. As an organisation we have been working hard to address bureaucracy through our 'cutting the red tape review' which includes looking at new processes and the time taken for these to be put into place. We hope you begin to see improvements soon. Thanks for your advice. With regards to promotion and development we are always looking for ways to generate opportunities for our staff. Last year, almost 40% of our vacancies were advertised internally last year helping to ensure internal development.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    RCND Adviser in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Royal College of Nursing for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The salary and holidays are generous, and the rota is organised very fairly, I have flexible working as do most of my colleagues. The best part is being valued as a individual, and having the freedom to shape our departments standards for ourselves. There are lots of opportunities to contribute to focus groups and projects. I'm proud to work for the RCN

    Cons

    Because we are a trade union I think we aren't firm enough when people don't perform. I have to work alongside people who are clearly not up to the job but think they are being bullied (though they never produce any actual evidence of this) when the managers try to performance manage them and the rest of us have to pick up the slack. I think the new General Secretary will help to change some of this - she seems to be genuinely in touch with us at the lower grades and isn't just in it for self glorification.

    Continue reading
    Royal College of Nursing 2015-10-15
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Excellent pay and benefits, rapidly modernising organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Royal College of Nursing

    Pros

    I have worked at the RCN for over 10 years and there is a very real sense that the organisation is changing and modernising in lots of different ways. New technology is being embraced, there is a multi award-winning wellbeing programme that helps staff manage their health and a range of flexible working options that give excellent work-life balance. The pay and benefits are excellent, the annual leave entitlement generous and there are many options for special leave, like days off for moving home. Working for the RCN is a real vocation and staff all over the organisation have a real and evident passion for their work, for the organisation and the services it provides. The RCN really makes a difference..

    Cons

    Like any organisation of it's type, the pace of change can sometimes be slow, but there is a real appetite for positive change at the RCN and this is a downside that is certainly being addressed.

    Continue reading
    Royal College of Nursing 2015-08-20
Found 11 reviews