Royal College of Nursing "rcn" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Royal College of Nursing Employee Reviews about "rcn"

Updated 20 Dec 2017

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Royal College of Nursing  Acting CEO and General Secretary Donna Kinnair
Donna Kinnair
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "I have stayed with the RCN longer than any of my previous employers - what keeps me here(in 12 reviews)

  • "Flexible working , great holiday entitlement(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "RCN treats permanent staff well but if you are on a fixed term contract some of the practices are not so good(in 7 reviews)

  • "Career progression can be limited(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "rcn"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Royal College of Nursing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The RCN is great place to work. Salary and annual leave are over and above and I get to work with some genuinely lovely people every day, and there are some fantastic managers at the RCN. Flexible working is really good, and the organisations appears on board with flexible working which makes a real change to my work life balance.

    Cons

    There are some challenging employees that aren't always positive - which can get you down at times.

    Continue reading
    Royal College of Nursing 2017-10-16

    Royal College of Nursing Response

    October 18, 2017Recruitment Manager

    Hi there, thanks so much for your review, its great to hear from you. We’re really proud of our terms and conditions – glad to hear you think so too. Our annual leave is generous and smart working is really important to us and we have just re-launched our new updates Smart Working Policy. Thank you for your advice to management. We’ve changed a lot over the years thanks to the feedback our people have given us and we do take these reviews seriously. Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review. Best wishes Sarah

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Beware if on a fixed term contract"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Royal College of Nursing part-time

    Pros

    The members are an inspiring bunch and there are some great teams and services

    Cons

    RCN treats permanent staff well but if you are on a fixed term contract some of the practices are not so good

    Continue reading
    Royal College of Nursing 2017-12-20

    Royal College of Nursing Response

    January 29, 2018Recruitment Manager

    Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are glad to hear that you agree staff on permanent contracts are treated well and it’s unfortunate that you feel that things aren’t the same for our fixed term staff. We strive to make sure that all our staff, regardless of their contract status, feel valued and are treated consistently to ensure an enjoyable and productive employment experience. This includes making sure that fixed term staff are not disadvantaged by our policies and processes and providing everyone who works at the RCN with access to all our tools and resources to be able to give their very best. We therefore take feedback such as yours very seriously and I would be interested in hearing more about your personal experience should you wish to contact me on 02920 546469 or via email donna-marie.evans@rcn.org.uk.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (5)

    "On the surface an excellent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Royal College of Nursing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great for personal development, good leave entitlement and benefits. Working at the RCN has changed my outlook on my career. The office with its original features and design is a beautiful place to work.

    Cons

    Issues at Senior Level. Regarded as a 'difficult' employee if you report serious concerns. (There are a lot of serious concerns). As a union you would expect a lot better.

    Continue reading
    Royal College of Nursing 2017-08-29

    Royal College of Nursing Response

    September 13, 2017Recruitment Manager

    Hi there, thanks for the review. We’re really proud of our terms and conditions – glad to hear you think so too. Our main office at 20 Cavendish Square is a gorgeous historic building and I agree, it really is a beautiful place to work. Disappointing to read that you think there’s a lot of concerns here. We take our role as a trade union and professional body very seriously and we work hard to ensure that the way we treat our people is in line with how we advise other employers. We’re very proud of our two star Best Companies accreditation and we’re passionate about creating a culture where employees feel safe to speak up. We’ve changed a lot over the years thanks to the feedback our people have given us and we do take these reviews seriously. Would you be interested in speaking with me further about your concerns? My name is Sarah and you can email me at recruit@rcn.org.uk. Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review. Best wishes Sarah

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    RCND Adviser in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Royal College of Nursing for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The salary and holidays are generous, and the rota is organised very fairly, I have flexible working as do most of my colleagues. The best part is being valued as a individual, and having the freedom to shape our departments standards for ourselves. There are lots of opportunities to contribute to focus groups and projects. I'm proud to work for the RCN

    Cons

    Because we are a trade union I think we aren't firm enough when people don't perform. I have to work alongside people who are clearly not up to the job but think they are being bullied (though they never produce any actual evidence of this) when the managers try to performance manage them and the rest of us have to pick up the slack. I think the new General Secretary will help to change some of this - she seems to be genuinely in touch with us at the lower grades and isn't just in it for self glorification.

    Continue reading
    Royal College of Nursing 2015-10-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cardiff in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Royal College of Nursing

    Pros

    We support nurses and the nursing families to deliver excellent patient care. That in itself is an incredible feeling. Employees are committed to supporting and representing nurses and there's a real sense of purpose and job satisfaction. The culture here is focused on getting the best out of people and providing opportunities to enhance personal development and to contribute to the RCN's success. We work hard and are rewarded for our efforts. Our terms and conditions are pretty amazing and there's lots going on here which means you can come to work and enjoy yourself. Lots of charity fundraising initiatives and health and wellbeing activities. Cardiff Gate is a brilliant place to work. I love the people I work with - so much fun to be around! The RCN is simply a great place to work!

    Cons

    This can be a fast-paced working environment but everyone pitches in to support each other.

    Continue reading
    Royal College of Nursing 2015-10-16
  6. Helpful (5)

    "A wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal College of Nursing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As an employee I have found there is a lot of investment in supporting me to be the best that I can be. I genuinely enjoy going to work every day and I'm lucky enough to have fantastic colleagues and managers who trust me to do my job. Added to all this is the knowledge that you are helping to support Nurses and Care Assistants in the wonderful work they do. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend working at the RCN to anyone.

    Cons

    As an organisation spanning 100 years, some "red tape" has been accumulated, however there are ongoing projects to tackle this which are already having a very positive impact.

    Royal College of Nursing 2015-09-25
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Opportunities and inclusion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RCND Adviser in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Royal College of Nursing part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have stayed with the RCN longer than any of my previous employers - what keeps me here?? Job satisfaction - opportunity to make a difference Employment package and benefits - from AL to Validium Contribute and get involved - opportunity to be heard and influence Great colleagues and team mates - opportunities for project collaboration across the RCN

    Cons

    Would have to move for career development in HQ

    Continue reading
    Royal College of Nursing 2015-09-08
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Royal College of Nursing

    Pros

    Love working for the RCN, which offers great terms and conditions. Its an organisation that is genuinely caring about staff health, wellbeing and work life balance. Great place to work.

    Cons

    Getting things done quickly can sometimes be slow due to bureaucracy, but this is getting better.

    Royal College of Nursing 2015-09-07

    Royal College of Nursing Response

    September 8, 2015

    Thank you very much for your review which is very welcome. Its great to hear you love working for the RCN, which we agree offers fantastic benefits and terms and conditions. One of those being our award winning Health and Wellbeing programme of which we have just won the Investors in People’s 2015 Health and Wellbeing award! Over the last year the RCN has been working hard to address bureaucracy, and we are glad you have seen an improvement. We launched our 'cutting the red tape' initiative as part of our staff survey results of which all departments have been embracing.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Bullying and jobs for the boys"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee in London, England

    I have been working at Royal College of Nursing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lovely staff on the shop floor and on the whole middle management. The feeling that you are for a cause.

    Cons

    A leadership that preach inclusivity and an open door policy but in reality have turned it into an old boys network. Exectives board members reading out emails they have received from staff (I'd assume were meant to be private) in order to belittle them at staff conferences is commonplace and does little to make staff feel that they are equal in their eyes. The 'Dignity Charter' doesn't seem to apply in these circumstances. Get in with the right person and promotion after promotion on the fast track system is a given. Offer up an opinion or ask questions and certain managers will ensure your RCN journey ends there. If you are female applying for a job in one department for instance, I've heard the RCN isn't the place for you as apparantly as "women don't belong in it". I'll give that department a wide birth then, it obviously requires a reboot. I wonder how our membership would feel about that sort of language in the workplace? Of course the vast majority of managers and staff are excellent, supportive and offer a wonderful service to our members. The staff really do care and it's this that makes the RCN a bearable place to work. Talk of transparency, continued training and development, and technology being embraced in previous reviews are unfortunately just words plucked out of the air with no real foundation, scribed I presume by our HR department. Do real people actually use that language in a proper review? I'll let you make your mind up but to me they sound more like job adverts than reviews. Hats off to them though for joining Glass Door. Maybe now they'll get some proper feed back.

    Continue reading
    Royal College of Nursing 2015-10-12

    Royal College of Nursing Response

    October 28, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to review us. I’m really concerned about some of the feedback you’ve provided especially regarding the role of women at the RCN. The RCN was also set up originally by some very formidable women and that tradition of valuing and supporting women in the workplace continues to this day. In fact, our CEO is female, the RCN President is female and 73% of staff who work here are women. I’d like to reassure you that women most certainly belong at the RCN. All reviews are genuine and from the people who work for us or have previously worked for us. We really do appreciate all the feedback. We would like the opportunity to talk to you more about your feedback. Please do give us a ring or email and we can chat more about it in more detail. Alternatively, feel free to talk with your local GMB (staff union) representative or one of our Dignity Advocates, who are here to support staff who feel they may be experiencing bullying. We work hard to ensure staff feel supported and able to speak up and we always work to resolve issues where this isn’t the case. Thanks again for the review

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Royal College of Nursing

    Pros

    The RCN is a wonderful place to work. The employee engagement scores/IIP awards say it all! It has transparent staff policies that appear to be implemented fairly. I would recommend working at the RCN.

    Cons

    Can be a slightly serious place to work. Staff/Management could perhaps do with lightning up a little and not take themselves too seriously.

    Continue reading
    Royal College of Nursing 2015-08-25

    Royal College of Nursing Response

    September 8, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the RCN on Glassdoor. All feedback received is very welcome. Its great to hear you find the RCN a wonderful place to work. Thanks for your advice regarding listening to all our staff. The RCN's Staff Suggestion Scheme gives all our employees the opportunity to share any ideas about how we can improve our organisation and they can be rewarded for their creativity. We have also recently launched our new intranet including a forum for staff to post comments, start a discussion and create an ideas board and all our employees are actively encouraged to utilise this tool.

    Continue reading
Found 15 reviews