Royal London Asset Management. Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Royal London Asset Management. Reviews

Updated 19 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Royal London Asset Management. CEO Andrew Carter
Andrew Carter
11 Ratings
  1. "RLAM Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I have been working at Royal London Asset Management.

    Pros

    Friendly Company, Good atmosphere, Good pay

    Cons

    None Really, wish there was more like this

    Royal London Asset Management.2019-02-27

    Royal London Asset Management. Response

    March 5, 2019CEO

    Thanks you for taking the time to review your Intern experience with us, we pride ourselves on making our Intern programme attractive and interesting and nice to see that you notice it too. We aim to give all of our interns a varied and valuable experience.

    Continue reading
  2. "Nice place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Finance Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Royal London Asset Management.

    Pros

    -Small company with only around 200-300 employees -Good benefit (gym membership for interns) - Very low hierarchy -Friendly culture -Great location

    Cons

    -lack of diversity -out of date system

    Royal London Asset Management.2019-12-19
  3. "Programme manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Programmer Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Royal London Asset Management. for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly open culture, collaborative and minimal politics. Staff seem engaged and professional.

    Cons

    As a company it has some growing pains. At times it does not appear to have adapted fully to being a mid-size asset manager.

    Continue reading
    Royal London Asset Management.2018-10-27
  4. "Good work life balance - other aspects need improving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Royal London Asset Management. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Hours generally 9-5

    Cons

    Culture and management needs to be looked at

    Royal London Asset Management.2018-10-24

    Royal London Asset Management. Response

    March 4, 2019CEO

    We agree that culture and management are important. We think we have a positive and supportive working culture and we invest a lot of resources looking at embedding the values and behaviours that have built RLAM and that people tell us they like. Similarly, we think that management skills are something that require continuous development and hence all of our managers completed the first tier of a People Leadership Programme last year – this being one of 2018 People Commitments.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London Asset Management. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good work -life balance and there are some genuine people working there.

    Cons

    lots of changes going on over the last few years

    Royal London Asset Management.2018-10-16

    Royal London Asset Management. Response

    March 4, 2019CEO

    You’re right – there has been a lot of change. This partly reflects changing regulatory environment, but also the growth of our business: as we’ve become more successful, we’ve had to change some things to make sure that we can give our clients the service they deserve. But there are things we definitely do not want to change – things like work/life balance and the overall culture. We spend a lot of time in our teams talking about values and behaviours as we think this has underpinned our success to date and will continue to help us in the future.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Medium size company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London Asset Management. full-time

    Pros

    People are good. Good location in london.

    Cons

    Management need to listen to employees.

    Royal London Asset Management.2018-02-18

    Royal London Asset Management. Response

    March 4, 2019CEO

    Thank you for your comment. We agree with you – it is important to listen to our people. Regular catch-ups with your line manager are perhaps the most important of these, but we also want something broader and more measurable. This is why we have two employee engagement surveys every year. This is a completely confidential, comprehensive survey of all staff, giving their input on a range of matters from leadership, to , personal development to diversity and much more. We share results with everyone and team heads follow up with action plans to address issues where these arise.

    Continue reading
  7. "Perfect platform to build learning of industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Royal London Asset Management.

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere Flat Structure Senior members always accessible and easily approachable

    Cons

    Nothing negative other than no feedback given despite numerous attempts to set a meeting.

    Royal London Asset Management.2017-10-22
  8. "Fantastic Insight to the Industry & Start to Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Fixed Income in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Royal London Asset Management. for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flat structure and fantastic colleagues interested in your development - Friendly atmosphere - You can learn a great deal from colleagues who have some top performance track records - Great work/life balance with competitive compensation - Exciting to be part of a rapidly growing organisation - Non rotational aspect of the internship means that you can learn more in your chosen area

    Cons

    No significant cons at RLAM.

    Royal London Asset Management.2017-09-07

    Royal London Asset Management. Response

    October 2, 2017CEO

    Thank you for your review. I’m delighted that you’ve had such a positive internship with us over the summer. We’ve worked hard to create a differentiated programme that immerses our interns in the intricacies of fund management and provides access to our fund managers and other experts across our business. RLAM is a growing and exciting business with lots of opportunity and we see this programme playing a key part in creating a sustainable business for the future.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London Asset Management. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great flat structure, which means you can talk to people easily and get things done. Lots of effort has been spent on bringing the Culture to life and it really shows, genuinely a nice place to work. I have worked here over 3 years and the time has flown - always a positive place to work and your ideas are listened to and you can get things done.

    Cons

    Don't let flexible working and clear desk policies,get confused or clash with the excellent work on culture

    Continue reading
    Royal London Asset Management.2017-08-18

    Royal London Asset Management. Response

    October 2, 2017CEO

    Thank you for your positive review. We’ve worked hard to make sure our culture is positive and inclusive and I am pleased that this is your experience too. We are also mindful of the point you have made on flexible working and we are being careful to create an environment that supports our people to do their jobs, optimises the space we have available and supports our values of empowerment and collaboration. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and keep up the good work.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Royal London Asset Management. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Close-knit structure. Great exposure to front-office and fund managers. Colleagues are patient and willing to help.

    Cons

    Perhaps more formalised training for entry level roles, although understandably RLAM is a medium sized firm so not always possible.

    Continue reading
    Royal London Asset Management.2017-08-13

    Royal London Asset Management. Response

    August 24, 2017CEO

    Thank you for sharing your views, we have a unique culture at RLAM which I believe makes us stand out from our competitors. Development and training is available to everyone at RLAM and I’d encourage you to take a look at the extensive resources available in our core curriculum. We are also looking at how we can use elements of the training materials developed for our internship programme more widely across our business.

    Continue reading
Found 18 reviews