Royal London Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

Royal London Reviews

Updated 18 August 2017
92 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

92 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Managing to keep work life balance ok, other than normal end of project push (in 10 reviews)

  • RL is open to flexible working and has a more relaxed dress code for non-customer facing staff than other organisations (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • From senior management down recruitment seems to be what's easier not what is best for the business (in 5 reviews)

  • Large company so suggestions for your own branch must go through them - as with any (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Huge ambition backed by great people. Different from other FS companies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    1. Best financial services company I have worked in hands down!
    2. Great people, open and honest culture
    3. Customer focussed and they mean it
    4. Strong senior management team
    5. Ambitious company that drives change
    6. Good work / life balance

    Cons

    1. Tedency to recruit external rather than promote internally for senior roles.
    2. Too much red tape. HR recruitment approval and P2P process is slow and painful

    Advice to Management

    1. Your people are the difference!
    2. Be braver, empower your people more and encourage collaboration not process


  2. "Welcoming as a new start employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time

    Pros

    Everyone has been so welcoming and friendly and have already made me feel valued member of the team. My induction was centred around me and my pace - allowing me to understand Royal London's products and services. As well learning new skills my new team have recognised my transferable skills and experiences and are keen to embrace new ideas I bring.

    Cons

    The on boarding process can be quite lengthy but understandable that there are necessary security checks

    Royal London Response

    18 Aug 2017 – Group CEO

    Thanks for sharing your experience of induction and your first year at Royal London. It's good to know that you are enjoying the experience. Thanks for all that you are contributing to making our... More


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not a nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Wilmslow, England
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Wilmslow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Royal London full-time

    Pros

    Nice office environment and friendly colleagues

    Cons

    The money is absolutely atrocious for this day and age, not a living wage at all. Expected to learn a lot and work extremely hard for £15,000 a year. The training is poor, you're expected to know what you're doing with little to no support and it was extremely disheartening. I can imagine some roles are better than others, but across the board pay is much lower than other companies for similar roles. Further to this you're expected to go to meetings about how well the company is doing and how much profit has been made in that quarter, when you're sitting there earning minimum wage! Whole company cares about making money but doesn't treat staff fairly. Absolutely dreaded going to work.

    Advice to Management

    Sort out the training, boost staff morale and for goodness sake pay the staff a fair wage before investing millions in a new office!!

    Royal London Response

    16 Aug 2017 – Group CEO

    Thanks for posting your review and I'm sorry to hear that you are dissatisfied with your experience of working at Royal London. From your comments it sounds like you failed to pass your 6 month... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "‘People matter at Royal London’"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time

    Pros

    It's a truly customer centric business that’s continuously seeking ways to improve its customers experiences and outcomes particularly at key moments in their lives. As a mutual, Royal London values its members; recognising that it exists to meet their needs as owners of the business. It has a clear vision and customer focused strategy that makes you feel proud to be part of when you’re interacting with customers. Their interests are your interests and you genuinely feel that you are there create a really positive experience for customers and staff alike.

    There’s also a strong emphasis on delivery of excellent service to Intermediaries and this has been recognised in results from independent service surveys. It’s really gratifying to be part of an organisation that leads the market and ensures that brokers have the support and confidence that they need to recommend Royal London products to clients.

    Likewise, Royal London takes the views and experiences of their employees extremely seriously. They listen to feedback and have put great emphasis on tackling issues that staff has identified as core to making it a great place to work. A clear focus on personal development and leadership comes from the top down supported by training and tools; all with the aim of creating a motivated, progressive and engaged workforce. I’d have no problem recommending Royal London to family, friends or anybody looking for an ideal place to work. While it has been existence for a very long time, the vibe is that of a young, energetic and caring business with a fantastic future ahead of it.

    Cons

    It's difficult to think of any at the moment.

    Advice to Management

    Continue listening and responding to employee feedback and developing people focused initiatives such as Culture Pod, Diversity Council and In the Spirit Awards.

    Royal London Response

    26 Jul 2017 – Group CEO

    Wow what a great review, thanks for taking the time to write and submit it. Many people feel that Royal London is a special place to work and it's great to hear that you clearly share that viewpoint... More


  6. "Procurement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Royal London full-time

    Pros

    Great for work/life balance, facilities in the workplace are good. Varied opportunities for those who wish to take them up

    Cons

    Should be more top down management - to embed processes and procedures - no one will conform if they are not told to. Important processes should be built into objectives. The lack of this makes BAU very difficult to achieve, when you rely on other departments to conform

    Advice to Management

    Take control

    Royal London Response

    7 Aug 2017 – Group CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to contribute your review of working at Royal London which is very much appreciated. It sounds like you found that the procurement team was having trouble getting traction... More


  7. "Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Royal London full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The people are great I spent 5 years here in the bath office and loved the team I was in and the work we were doing. The work was challenging but that helped me. Also I managed to learn some new skills which I have taken onto new things.

    Cons

    Senior management do not have a clear plan or direction for the bath office. They are disengaged and do not take feedback well as proven by their opinions of the internal employee satisfaction survey. Things now progress exceptionally slowly due to a lack of leadership by decisions being made by committee. Theoretically this should result in better decision making but due to the lack of leadership it has turned into a political environment which does not help the business challenge in its competitive market.

    Also opportunities to grow are limited and the ability to move between functions is virtually impossible. For instance trying to gain a role within rlam required you to have at least 3 years experience in asset management but no other function does this so there is no way an internal applicant could get through.

    Communication and working between each function in royal London is also limited and again fraught with high levels of politics and as well only those senior managers get involved in this work too so there is no ability to progress others.

    Advice to Management

    Modernise your approach. The business is risk averse but there needs to be a range of options to allow to build the business going forward. Making decisions by committees may work sometimes but most of the time it allows for wasted time. As you would have seen recently. Also you need to take into account the younger workforce. Times are changing people don't stay in a job for the sake of it for 10-20 years there is greater ambition and want from your work and that need will need to be met or you may lose out on great talent that could help lead royal London into a new age and no be so yesterday but a business that caters for everyone at all stages of their working life.

    Royal London Response

    7 Aug 2017 – Group CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to provide this review and I'm sorry to hear that after 5 years your career with Royal London ended with disappointment. I have to say that I don't recognise the... More


  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Royal London full-time

    Pros

    Lovely people and approachable management.

    Cons

    Limited product range. Needs to expand to become more competitive

    Royal London Response

    26 Jul 2017 – Group CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to write and submit your review and it's good to hear that you had a positive experience of working for Royal London. I'm not sure when you left us, but over the last... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Royal London cares about its employees and supports you to take responsibility for your own development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Actuarial Trainee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Current Employee - Senior Actuarial Trainee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Colleagues are really friendly at Royal London, there's a great team atmosphere with employees going above and beyond to help each other as well as a focus on celebrating success.

    Royal London have invested in their colleagues over the last few years with refurbished offices and a focus on employee-led change such as the Culture Pod program (where employees from across the group got together to plan positive changes to the RL culture).

    RL is open to flexible working and has a more relaxed dress code for non-customer facing staff than other organisations.

    Cons

    Since the business is expanding the main offices are becoming more and more cramped, action is being taken to address this but space is limited at the moment.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to the ideas of colleagues across the group and build on the good work already carried out by the pods.

    Royal London Response

    29 Jun 2017 – Group CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to write and submit this review. You are clearly enjoying your time at Royal London and that is great to hear. We will keep working through our Pods to involve our... More


  10. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends

    I have been working at Royal London full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Loads friendly helpful staff and structured training. Everyone is friendly and loads of information to take in but at your own peace.

    Cons

    None so far that I have come across. Maybe could have had my system access all set up before I started. It that's it.

    Royal London Response

    28 Jun 2017 – Group CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to submit this review and it's great to hear that you are enjoying your "early days" at Royal London. I'll be visiting our Edinburgh operation after the summer break so I... More


  11. "Great place to work where every employee is valued and appreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Improvement Administrator in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Current Employee - Business Improvement Administrator in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -Every employee is not just a number
    -Strong customer focus
    -Award winning, successful and growing business
    -Place where achievements are acknowledge and contributions are valued
    -Excellent career progression opportunities
    -Friendly and joyous culture
    -Everyone has a chance to feel like a part of something big no matter role or department
    -A company where Employee Satisfaction is always in the top agenda
    -A place where you can truly realise your potential

    Cons

    -Complex departmental structure
    -Although CSR activities are in place, overall company is not fully sustainable and could put more effort into reducing environmental impact

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Royal London Response

    28 Jun 2017 – Group CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to submit this review which is very much appreciated. Great to hear that you are enjoying your experience of working for Royal London. I am intrigued to hear your ideas on... More


Showing 92 of 97 reviews
Reset Filters