Royal London Reviews

Updated Dec 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 400 of over 434 reviews

3.7
63%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Royal London CEO Barry O’Dwyer
Barry O’Dwyer
101 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work life balance is amazing(in 33 reviews)

  • "Offer flexible working and have the most amazing culture(in 33 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I think we can find more ways of extracting these ideas so that they are heard by senior management e(in 8 reviews)

  • "Not best career progression opportunities(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fair assessment of my time at RL

      Nov 4, 2021 - Customer Service Associate in Wilmslow, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, very good pension, able to work from home, great office facilities and training.

      Cons

      Salary fairly low compared to competitors.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Royal London Response

      Group People Director

      Thank you for your feedback. It is wonderful to see you mention our colleague benefits, staff pension and our hybrid ways of working as benefits. I am sorry to see that you are disappointed by the pay as we pride ourselves on paying people fairly based on industry benchmarking. I would encourage you to discuss this with your People Leader.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Dec 1, 2021 - Actuarial Trainee in Edinburgh, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good place to work

      Cons

      Nothing much to say here

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great!

      Nov 25, 2021 - Reporting Consultant in Edinburgh, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work and good culture.

      Cons

      Don't know any, maybe tea bags could be improved.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      gret

      Nov 22, 2021 - Researcher in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great better wonderful and recommended

      Cons

      there is no cons here hey

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good

      Nov 15, 2021 - Case Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great indepth training. Lots of on the job support

      Cons

      Advertised as admin role but essentially a call centre

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Royal London Response

      Group People Director

      Thanks for taking the time to leave this feedback, and it’s great to hear your positive experience of training and on-job support. Since the pandemic, more customers have chosen to contact us by phone rather than email or letter, resulting in increased demand in some areas. We continuously listen to feedback from colleagues, many of whom say they prefer a mix of telephone and back office work. So we have taken action to address this by recruiting more colleagues than our capacity forecast, continuing to train and upskill existing colleagues and looking to build our technology solutions to better support our customers.

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Unfair pay methods

      Nov 24, 2021 - Customer Service Consultant in Macclesfield, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pension and healthcare are brilliant.

      Cons

      Little to no progression. Hiring people on more money than the team they have actually training them so little motivation to put any extra effort in when someone who doesn’t know the job is getting paid more than you.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      My experience

      Oct 31, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and people policies

      Cons

      Hardly any opportunities to progress. A lot of the workforce are ‘lifers’, so you’re waiting for someone to retire before progressing, especially at manager level and above.

      2 people found this review helpful

      Royal London Response

      Group People Director

      Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you feel we offer great benefits and people policies as I believe these are important foundations in creating a great experience for colleagues in Royal London. I also know how important it is for colleagues to feel they are making progress, whatever their aspirations, and I am sorry to hear that you see little chance of progression. We do invest in colleague development in a range of different ways, and of course advertise roles internally, but I understand that despite this, particularly in smaller teams, there may not be vacant roles to progress into. One action you could take, if you haven’t already, is to work with a Senior Leader, or perhaps look for a mentor in another part of the Group, to help you think more broadly about how you can personally progress. If this is something the People Team can support you with, please do get in touch.

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Lots of change, not all good

      Nov 16, 2021 - Test Quality Manager in Wilmslow, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some really great people to work with

      Cons

      A TOM change has left a lot of holes and may people wanting to leave

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Working as Pensions Admin

      Nov 3, 2021 - New Business Manager in Macclesfield, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learning about Pensions & Investment

      Cons

      I dont think they pay well unless you’re the FA

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A truly great place to work!

      Oct 15, 2021 - Business Resilience Lead in Alderley Park, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I’m writing this review 4 months into my role with Royal London, and my overriding emotion is it’s such an amazing place to work! Genuinely, I could not be happier, everyone (at all levels) has been so welcoming and supportive. I’ve previously worked for organisations who claim to have values, but I can honestly say everyone I’ve met is living and breathing the Royal London values, which is amazing to experience. As with anyone starting at a new organisation during lockdown, it presented a number of challenges, however, the support from my Manager and team mates has been amazing and although I was home-working for the first 3 months, I definitely felt part of the Royal London family. Don’t get me wrong you have to be prepared to work and to deliver, however, Royal London has provided me with the right support network to enable me to deliver my responsibilities. Based on my first 4 months, I’d like to think I’m here for the long haul! And for anyone considering a role with Royal London - I don’t think you’ll be disappointed!

      Cons

      No cons to report so far.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Royal London Response

      Group People Director

      Thank you for leaving such fantastic feedback and welcome to Royal London! I am so pleased that you've had a supportive and positive start, and that you see our values being embedded in the business, both remotely and in person. Best of luck with the rest of your career at Royal London.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 400 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Royal London Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Royal London? Share Your Experiences

    Royal London logo
    or