Royal London Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 355 of over 385 reviews

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Royal London CEO Barry O’Dwyer
Barry O’Dwyer
76 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work life balance is amazing(in 33 reviews)

  • "Offer flexible working and have the most amazing culture(in 33 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I think we can find more ways of extracting these ideas so that they are heard by senior management e(in 8 reviews)

  • "Not best career progression opportunities(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company.

      Jul 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great care of employees, great perks.

      Cons

      None! Great company, Great people.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Royal London Response

      Group People Director

      Thank you for leaving such positive feedback. I am delighted that you are enjoying working at Royal London.

    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Once enjoyable, not so much now...

      Jul 14, 2021 - Analyst in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are reasonable Laptops provided during pandemic

      Cons

      New management - all carved from the same block of corporate wood Lack of real empathy for staff Fail to live up to the culture they purport to support

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great company to work for

      Jun 20, 2021 - Head of Proposition in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have loved working here. Strongest pro is definitely the people. Fantastic bunch of people to work with. Hard working and supportive. The overall culture is very positive too, focusing on doing the right things for customers and the wider society. Career progression is definitely available for those who want it - you do have to promote yourself but if you do this, you will get lots of opportunities to grow.

      Cons

      The subject matter (life and pensions) isn't for everyone. Culture is changing too due to recent changes. Unsure yet how this will turn out.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Royal London Response

      Group People Director

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your time at Royal London and that you recognise the biggest asset to our company - our colleagues. I appreciate we are going through a period of change and that this has been unsettling for a number of colleagues. With all of us working remotely, we have been working hard to ensure that we continue to protect our Spirit of Royal London culture so that it remains at the core of how we deliver our Purpose and strategy. I wish you the best of luck with the rest of your career.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Turning a corner

      Jul 16, 2021 - Service Manager in Macclesfield, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, with something new every day

      Cons

      Quite a lot of antiquated methods, but trying to improve.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee

      New Management Making Change For Change Sake

      Jul 12, 2021 - Technology Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people, work life balance good

      Cons

      technology is outdated and new systems just take an absolute age to develop. and haemorrhage money to the extent that restructures are happening and good people are losing jobs.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Royal London Response

      Group People Director

      Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you valued the work life balance in your role and the colleagues you worked alongside at Royal London. I am sorry you did not understand the value of the change taking place across the function. We would be happy to explain this to any of our colleagues and would encourage them to reach out to their People Leader, Senior Leader, GEC member or the People team for further clarity. Please accept our best wishes for the future.

    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Sad to see a good company sinking

      Jul 15, 2021 - Technology Lead in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are great - that is, the people who actually do the work. Good work/life balance.

      Cons

      Like numerous other reviewers on GlassDoor recently, the biggest con (pun intended) is the new Group Technology management. They keep saying they are interested in our views and want our feedback, but this is just lip service. At the recent GTC conference, staff were asking some very good, pointed questions. Most of these were answered dismissively or not at all, with a couple of managers getting quite petulant towards the end because they didn't like being asked these tough but reasonable questions. The culture is being completely eroded and we're all supposed to cheer and clap while it happens. I had intended to stay at Royal London for some time to come, but will be leaving as soon as I find something elsewhere.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Rhetoric and Reality are very Different

      Jul 16, 2021 - Solution Architect in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are a really great bunch of people. Generous benefits.

      Cons

      The stated culture espoused by the senior management and the reality are worlds apart. Lots of talk about treating people fairly but when it comes to the reality that is not what happens especially in dealing with HR. No clear paths of technical development - again the talk is there but not followed through.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Was great place to work. Not so much with new company structure

      Jul 4, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great values. Excellent work-life balance.

      Cons

      New management. New ways of working. Flat company structure and really warm atmosphere now very top-down way of working.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Royal London Response

      Group People Director

      Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you feel you have an excellent work-life balance at Royal London. Supporting colleagues to have a healthy work-life balance has been a real focus for us during the pandemic, and workplace flexibility continues to be core to our future ways of working. You also mention that we have great values and I agree; it is one of the reasons why I, and many other colleagues who are new to Royal London, joined the organisation. As a Group Executive, we strongly believe that our Spirit of Royal London culture and how we work together continues to be at the heart of how we will deliver our Purpose and strategy. I do recognise that this can be challenging during a period of change, especially as we have all been working remotely. This is not the first review that comments on how Royal London is changing. I can reassure you that the intention is not to move away from the collaborative and empowering culture which we have become known for, but to reinforce our existing values. There are a number of new Senior Leaders and leadership teams and we are investing in working with them on how we lead day-to-day aligned to our culture. As a current colleague, please do reach out to myself or your GEC member for a conversation; one of us would be pleased to meet you face-to-face or virtually to learn more from your day-to-day experiences.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good colleagues

      Jul 8, 2021 - Underwriter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good team work and colleagues

      Cons

      poor IT and processing systems. very outdated

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Royal London Response

      Group People Director

      Thank you for leaving a review. We do work with brilliant colleagues and it is great to see you recognise that. I am sorry you feel our IT systems are outdated. We are in the process of replacing our existing technology to help transform the way we work together and vastly improve our digital workplace. This will help us be more efficient, and even more connected and digitally nimble so that we can deliver on our Purpose and strategy.

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Not a bad place to work but promote values they don't fulfil

      Feb 18, 2021 - Customer Service Agent in Wilmslow, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The salary, benefits and hours are decent. Holiday allowance is more generous than others. The offices are nice, and staff are mostly friendly. You are encouraged to develop your skills through one to ones with managers.

      Cons

      It's not as bad as some call centres, there is no sales pressure, but when you start, the company talks a lot about their values and how important they are, when in practice they aren't. Communication between teams isn't great and teams seem to have issues with capacity, drafting other teams in for support without adequate training or knowledge. A lot positive language is used and you'll be told you're all doimg great and are appreciated, but it doesn't often feel like that so it comes across as empty platitudes. Most of their customers are old and many struggle on the phone, so dealing with enquiries you're not trained on, at short notice, with aging customers that have difficulty on the phone can be stressful. The customer experience is less a priority than making sure the call stats (calls answered/dropped) look good. Data protection is rightly a focus, but many customers struggle with data protection and might receive communication telling them to get in contact, but not why or with info on their policy to help them pass data protection on the call.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Royal London Response

      Group People Director

      Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you feel you did not have adequate training and support for certain aspects of your role. As you will appreciate, training remotely doesn’t allow as much for the all-important peer and experiential learning that we get from a face-to-face classroom environment. We are working on new learning technologies to help with this and of course we will look to return to physical learning as soon as we can. Please could I ask you to reach out to your People Leader or one of your trainers to share your experience so we can explore how we support you going forward. In these challenging times, supporting you, to in turn supporting our customers, is more critical than ever, so we’d be keen to hear your thoughts.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 355 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Royal London Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Royal London? Share Your Experiences

    Royal London logo
    or