Royal London Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Royal London Reviews

Updated 14 February 2019
178 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Work/Life balance genuinely matters to Management" (in 23 reviews)

  • "The flexible working enables employees to have a great work life balance whether that's to help with family life or enable you to achieve other goals" (in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "I think we can find more ways of extracting these ideas so that they are heard by senior management e" (in 8 reviews)

  • "Work life balance isn’t great, but that is as a result of how successful we have become" (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "A truly caring company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Wilmslow, England
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Wilmslow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Company ethics does resonate through tall employees

    Cons

    The Wilmslow location does feel a little out of town

    Royal London Response

    14 Feb 2019 – Group CEO

    Through “all” employees as well as “tall” employees hopefully! Thanks for your review and for all you contribute to Royal London. Glad you are enjoying it.


  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Test Analyst in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Current Employee - Senior Test Analyst in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Inclusive company. Friendly people. Good bonus and pension. City centre location.

    Cons

    Not quite there with the New ways of working (Agile) but getting there.

    Advice to Management

    Get all business and technical areas onboard on the New ways of working otherwise you are failing at Agile. We need to deliver faster without the obstacles.

    Royal London Response

    11 Feb 2019 – Group CEO

    Thanks very much for taking the time to share your experience of working at Royal London. Also thanks for your patience as we change to a more agile way of working.

  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time

    Pros

    Caring company with exceptional moral standards.

    Cons

    None that come to mind

    Royal London Response

    4 Feb 2019 – Group CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on your experience of working for Royal London. Thanks for your contribution to our success.


  4. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time

    Pros

    Lots of friendly people, and a drive to be socially responsible. Mutuality and culture is a real thing here

    Cons

    Too much to do, and conflicting business priorities makes it hard sometimes. Some of the senior leadership are not as good at the culture as the rest of the people who work there

    Advice to Management

    Prioritise - there's too much going on.

    Royal London Response

    17 Feb 2019 – Group CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to write and submit your review. You point out that we need to work harder on our leadership consistency and prioritisation. These are both fair points, although not easy... More


  5. "Royal London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly team members, mutual company so no share holders

    Cons

    People commitments just words, the actions by management do not match.

    Royal London Response

    11 Feb 2019 – Group CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to write and share your review. Our people commitments have driven our culture forwards over the last 4 years or so. If you are not finding that you are feeling the benefit... More


  6. "Enjoyable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Infrastructure Administrator in Bath, England
    Current Employee - IT Infrastructure Administrator in Bath, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Friendly people - Many people willing to help and support. Able to reach out to people for support and gaining knowledge.
    Approachable Management - To me management at most levels feels approachable right up to top senior management.

    Good selection of benefits for employees.
    Regular updates on how things are going overall across the company as a whole.

    Cons

    Not a major con but at times it can be chaotic and the work/life balance goes out the window, but with a company such as Royal London that is driving forward progress, it is understandable to an extent.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going, keep driving us forward and keep being approachable!

    Royal London Response

    10 Jan 2019 – Group CEO

    Thanks for sharing your experience of working at Royal London on this forum. I’m delighted to hear that you are enjoying yourself. Thanks for your contribution to our success and I’ll see you at the... More


  7. "Customer services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time

    Pros

    People . That is the only pro.

    Cons

    Money, lack of recognition, no opportunity to advance

    Advice to Management

    Treat experienced staff as well as new staff

    Royal London Response

    2 Feb 2019 – Group CEO

    I’m sorry to hear such a glum account of your experience at Royal London. Last year we internally promoted / moved more people into new roles at RL than ever before ( including two internal... More

  8. "Work from home and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    There is no pro working here

    Cons

    1. Too many managers, practice lead, team project manager and team leader - get rid of the team project manager and practice lead - what value are they adding to the team
    2. Scrum master also acts as a project manager and does micro management, checks what ppl are doing on their screen- can someone tell him to just do his scrum master business
    3. Core hours are 10-12 and 2-4 - no flexiblity for ppl having kids to finish early and pick up kids - if ure having kids , Royal London is not the place for you
    4. Recent roadshow in Edinburgh- company did not answer questions from employees for work from home option - there is no trust on employees to wfh
    5. Company boasts itself saying we allow wfh but it only happens only if there is emergency- says one thing and does something
    6. Cognizant and ntt data provide much better salary to their employees than Royal London-

    Advice to Management

    Pay better to the employees
    Get rid of so many ppl managers
    Ask the scrum master to do the scrum master business and not keep eye on other team members
    Allow wfh - stop lying to employees about it

    Royal London Response

    2 Feb 2019 – Group CEO

    I’m sorry to hear that you are in such a negative place. The reason that the WFH question didn’t get addressed at last week’s roadshow was that not enough people voted for it to get it into the top... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Greatr place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    True flexible working
    Feeling like you belong and being owned by our members means we can focus on what's best for them not faceless shareholders.
    A focus on personal development
    A clear strategy that we are all behind

    Cons

    Nothing significant enough to state

    Advice to Management

    Keep driving us forward

    Royal London Response

    6 Dec 2018 – Group CEO

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and it’s great to know that you are having a good experience of working for Royal London. Thanks for all that you are contributing towards our success.


  10. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager/Scrum Master in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Current Employee - Project Manager/Scrum Master in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly - good people, lots of company activities, training, events etc. Emphasis is more on being a good team player than being proficient at your job. Most people who come across as 'nice' will ace an interview for this place.

    Laid Back - rarely is there any pressure or hurry - very few people in early or working late. Massive tolerance for ineptitude - as long as you're nice that is. Lots of nice people being nice to each other, and very little output in comparison to just about every other place I have worked.

    Easy - the work is generally unchallenging and easy to do.

    Cons

    Chaotic - management have a chummy, friendly attitude to managing activities, so formal structures are absent. Most people have been there for a long time, so don't really notice it any more.

    Political - lots of scope for small fiefdoms and ant-hill empires to emerge where big egos get the opportunity to take over.

    HR Processes - The review process is exhaustive and over bearing so a cottage industry of reviews and assessments takes up about 10% of all people's time. Add to that the other 10% in courses and jollies, and the average time spent on work is about 4 days a week.

    Amateurish - lack of professional rigour due to the idea that they always know best.

    Pay - lots of people have been leaving recently as they are getting much better deals elsewhare

    Advice to Management

    You have a very difficult job to do - the whole place is changing and lots of people are no longer buying into the 'we are all one big happy family' ethos any more. The amount of work being asked of folks isn't (I don't think) excessive, but it is far more than they have been used to and they are leaving to pastures new.

    Royal London Response

    10 Dec 2018 – Group CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to submit your review. You are working in an area of the business that is looking to embed agile ways of working. That is a major cultural change but I’m not sure... More