Royal London Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Royal London Reviews

Updated 10 April 2019
186 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Work/Life balance genuinely matters to Management" (in 25 reviews)

  • "The flexible working enables employees to have a great work life balance whether that's to help with family life or enable you to achieve other goals" (in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "I think we can find more ways of extracting these ideas so that they are heard by senior management e" (in 8 reviews)

  • "Work life balance isn’t great, but that is as a result of how successful we have become" (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "IT Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time

    Pros

    Brilliant culture, great pay and amazing people

    Cons

    Facilities need updating but this is in plan with location move

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Royal London Response

    1 Apr 2019 – Group CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to post your review and for the words of encouragement. Thanks for your contribution to our success.


  2. "Actuarial Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time

    Pros

    Staff schemes and loyalty rewards

    Cons

    Parking, location, desk space and team events

    Royal London Response

    1 Apr 2019 – Group CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to write and post your review. It’s good to know that overall you are enjoying your experience of working for Royal London. I suspect that you are based at our Wilmslow... More

  3. "Balanced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Consultant
    Current Employee - Customer Support Consultant
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great working culture; good work life balance, encouragement of charitable activity with paid time off to partake in, available overtime, clear advancement system and ample L&D opportunities.

    Cons

    No rotational graduate schemes with integrated qualifications.

    Royal London Response

    25 Mar 2019 – Group CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to submit your review. It’s good to know that you are enjoying your experience of working at Royal London. Thanks for your contribution to our success.


  4. "Remote Working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter in Glasgow, Scotland
    Current Employee - Underwriter in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    People are a delight to work with. It’s so refreshing having worked in the industry for over 25 years to work for a company that not only passionately cares about its customers but also cares about its employees. These kind of behaviours filter down for the very top.

    Cons

    A few teething issues with IT and remote working but it’s a work in process

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work but don’t get to mixed up with the stats. There is more to the job than that

    Royal London Response

    27 Feb 2019 – Group CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to post your review and helping us to develop our remote working approach. Great to have you on the Royal London team.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Food company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I worked at Royal London full-time

    Pros

    well respected name in the industry.

    Cons

    None to speak of the would concern me

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    Royal London Response

    22 Feb 2019 – Group CEO

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Good to know that you enjoyed your time working for Royal London.


  6. "A truly caring company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Wilmslow, England
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Wilmslow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Company ethics does resonate through tall employees

    Cons

    The Wilmslow location does feel a little out of town

    Royal London Response

    14 Feb 2019 – Group CEO

    Through “all” employees as well as “tall” employees hopefully! Thanks for your review and for all you contribute to Royal London. Glad you are enjoying it.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Royal London full-time

    Pros

    Lovely team, great CEO, good culture for working mums/dads

    Cons

    Not many women, but they are actively addressing this.

    Royal London Response

    24 Feb 2019 – Group CEO

    Many thanks for sharing your review. It’s good to know that you enjoyed your time with Royal London.

  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Test Analyst in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Current Employee - Senior Test Analyst in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Inclusive company. Friendly people. Good bonus and pension. City centre location.

    Cons

    Not quite there with the New ways of working (Agile) but getting there.

    Advice to Management

    Get all business and technical areas onboard on the New ways of working otherwise you are failing at Agile. We need to deliver faster without the obstacles.

    Royal London Response

    11 Feb 2019 – Group CEO

    Thanks very much for taking the time to share your experience of working at Royal London. Also thanks for your patience as we change to a more agile way of working.


  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time

    Pros

    Caring company with exceptional moral standards.

    Cons

    None that come to mind

    Royal London Response

    4 Feb 2019 – Group CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on your experience of working for Royal London. Thanks for your contribution to our success.


  10. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time

    Pros

    Lots of friendly people, and a drive to be socially responsible. Mutuality and culture is a real thing here

    Cons

    Too much to do, and conflicting business priorities makes it hard sometimes. Some of the senior leadership are not as good at the culture as the rest of the people who work there

    Advice to Management

    Prioritise - there's too much going on.

    Royal London Response

    17 Feb 2019 – Group CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to write and submit your review. You point out that we need to work harder on our leadership consistency and prioritisation. These are both fair points, although not easy... More