Royal London Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Royal London Reviews

Updated 20 June 2018
154 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

154 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great work culture which gives us good work/life balance" (in 19 reviews)

  • "The flexible working enables employees to have a great work life balance whether that's to help with family life or enable you to achieve other goals" (in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "I think we can find more ways of extracting these ideas so that they are heard by senior management e" (in 9 reviews)

  • "Work life balance isn’t always great" (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoy going to work - that’s saying something"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    A lot of pros so I’ll list them: genuine desire in the Group to improve customer experience, confident in leaders, given opportunities to progress and develop, management who value teams and individuals, good work/life balance, every individual given a voice, frequent honest communications from leaders

    Cons

    We could get better at managing large-scale change/transformation. This is relatively new in the Group’s history and we are improving all the time, but still lots to learn

    Advice to Management

    Please keep communicating openly and honestly. We all appreciate feeling like a part of, and contributors to, the Royal London journey

    Royal London Response

    31 May 2018 – Group CEO

    Good to know that you are enjoying working at Royal London and thanks for taking the time to write and submit your review. In terms of our communications, following completion of the Roadshows our... More


  2. "Mixed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Mix of people broadly supportive, really positive culture 'on the ground' amongst people who are willing and positive about working 'with' you. Career opps exist at lower levels which is great

    Cons

    Culture is changing, losing some of it's trust element - not sure where my function is heading anymore

    Advice to Management

    Speed some stuff up. Would love to see transparency beyond the 'mechanical' side of it.

  3. "Ups and downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Really friendly people, good staff pension scheme and varied work

    Cons

    Mid way through ‘agile’ adoption but still applying waterfall approaches, such as code freezes.

    Advice to Management

    Agile and waterfall don’t mix well

    Royal London Response

    18 Jun 2018 – Group CEO

    Thanks very much for taking the time to write and submit your review. It’s good to know that overall you are enjoying your experience of working for Royal London. It’s hard to comment on your... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Juggling work and home life can be a challenge and Royal London leads the way in helping employees achieve a balance. A fantastic place to work where employees are listened to and management responds to feedback.

    Cons

    There aren't any obvious ones!

    Royal London Response

    19 May 2018 – Group CEO

    Thanks very much for taking the time to contribute your review, and many thanks for all that you contribute to Royal London.


  5. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Royal London is amazing place to work. We feel valued, respected and empowered in our job. The ways of working encourage us to develop personally and professionally. Great work culture which gives us good work/life balance. There is always a view of things from Senior management and they are constantly in touch with us through Road shows and sessions.

    Cons

    I cant think of any big cons to mention here..

    Advice to Management

    Encourage the Employees always like this to achieve more..

    Royal London Response

    17 May 2018 – Group CEO

    Hi there. Thanks very much for taking the time to submit your review. It’s good to hear that you are enjoying your experience of working for Royal London and thank you for your contribution to our... More


  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead/Manager in Wilmslow, England
    Current Employee - Team Lead/Manager in Wilmslow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    It is a great company to work. We are always encouraged to put the customer at the forefront of everything we do. We take feedback, complaints etc very serious and we try to learn from complaints.

    Cons

    Work life balance isn’t always great. But as it is an enjoyable company to work for it is one of the things we have to live with.

    Advice to Management

    Just keep taking us in the right direction.

    Royal London Response

    19 May 2018 – Group CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to submit your review. You are right to point out that there are some very busy peak times in our year relating to events like the tax year end. We are working hard to... More


  7. "A great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time

    Pros

    Royal London is a great place to work. My colleagues are friendly and supportive and I feel I can really develop my career here.

    Cons

    Nothing major. Maybe the offices could be a bit bigger - can feel a bit squashed sometimes.

    Royal London Response

    12 Jun 2018 – Group CEO

    Many thanks for taking the time to submit your review, and it’s good to know that you are enjoying working at Royal London. I note your comment about space but I’m not sure which of our locations you... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Some positive but really does depend on where you work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Consultant in Wilmslow, England
    Former Employee - Customer Service Consultant in Wilmslow, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Royal London full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    good to see some honest reviews of working in the customer services and financial products departments coming through

    Has a good vision of its culture and values but this isn't evident on the shop floor

    None customer facing/serving roles appear to be much more contented and positive with their experience.

    Senior management appear genuinely interested in whats posted on Glassdoor and social media but it doesnt filter down to the shop floor

    Cons

    Phones phones phones! workload based on split of 2 hours per day phones and 5 hours admin. In reality it is 5 hours on phones ( up to 7 hours plus at peak times) leaving no time to deal with admin and customer emails. If you want to clear this work or receive a pay award/bonus then you have to work overtime. Whilst not compulsory you are pressurised to do overtime either to deal with admin or cover for absent staff on the phones.
    Focus is entirely on number of calls being answered, ring time, QA of calls etc. Constantly being told to get on the phones, even if not your scheduled time.

    Clueless management, simply parrot down what is coming from Senior management team. Not supportive of own staff and teams
    No leadership from line management
    Poor team structure
    Longwinded processes with no desire to change or improve them.
    Annual peak seems to take management by surprise year on year with additional resources being taken on too late or given inadequate training, leading to staff having to be 'borrowed' from elsewhere.
    Despite very high level of recruitment there just doesnt ever seem to be enough staff to plug the gaps and newer staff do not stay around for long.
    Organisation is very forward looking but it needs to stop, look round and take stock and see what is really happening
    Actively ignores opinions and views of those doing the job about how improvements can be made and problems being encountered

    Advice to Management

    unannounced visit to the financial services sweat shop might be worthwhile
    your previous comments about banking services now being all phone based is wrong. Other banks structure properly so that there are dedicated call centres and back office admin.
    Your management team have an attitude that staff should be grateful to be working for Royal London, in fact it is the other way round, you should be grateful for the staff that you have and treat them like mature adults not children.
    Staff ar eyour biggest commodity, value them and listen to their views

    Royal London Response

    17 May 2018 – Group CEO

    Hello again. You appear to be making the same points in a number of reviews that you have submitted. I am sorry that you didn’t enjoy your experience of working for Royal London. Since I’ve... More


  9. "Performance Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training and Development Manager in Loughborough, England
    Current Employee - Training and Development Manager in Loughborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Amongst the many great things about working for Royal London is the investment the company makes in its people. One of the recent initiatives it took was to invest in Strength finder to identify the top 5 strengths in people - this has enabled so many of the teams to understand how focusing on things they are naturally great at is not only better for the business and themselves but is far more engaging and motivational. I have been working with people setting themselves stretching performance targets and genuine performance development goals - the difference in motivation is tangible.
    I was 23 years in a previous company who were a mutual with great values and customer service at the centre. To find another company with stronger and even more commitment to its mutuality and people for me was an absolute dream come true. I have been here 8 years now and that dream shows no signs of letting up. It really is a great place to work, has great people and great leadership. I do recommend it as a place to work for family and friends.

    Cons

    For me there are no cons - this is a place to work hard and thrive

    Advice to Management

    Continue their investment in people and vision and direction which they bring to the business. Their guidance and enthusiasm are infectious

    Royal London Response

    2 May 2018 – Group CEO

    Many thanks for taking the time to share your views and I’m delighted to hear that you are having such a positive experience of working at Royal London. You are clearly helping many of your... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Depressing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Consultant in Wilmslow, England
    Current Employee - Customer Service Consultant in Wilmslow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Pays the bills and reasonably accessible but other than that none that I can think of unless you count going home in tears on a regular basis, unrealistic expectations, constantly conflicting demands and priorities, dire line management, poor pay rewards and excessively high levels of stress as a positive.

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations in terms of what can be achieved in a day
    Bullying environment - actually astounded by the comments of the CEO which suggest all negative feedback is from a disenchanted former employee.
    Immediate line management make no effort to understand satisfaction levels from staff or understand their frustrations with constant pressure
    Constantly conflicting messages of what is priority, eg phones or pension customer emails
    Pressurised to work overtime
    Instructions to complete staff survey ‘positively’ as negative comments create additional work
    Repetitive, soul destroying work in financial customer service area
    Phone is king – to detriment of any and all other work
    Constant ‘peak’ period
    No work-life balance – expected to fill shifts and work overtime at very short notice.

    Advice to Management

    none - they know it all, thats why their workforce is so happy

    Royal London Response

    4 Jun 2018 – Group CEO

    Yes you are right - I do think that a member of our staff who is very unhappy is repeatedly posting reviews on this site, very often in response to my comments on their last post ! We have high... More


Showing 154 of 162 reviews
Reset Filters