Royal London Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Royal London Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Royal London CEO Barry O’Dwyer
Barry O’Dwyer
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "They really look after you and promote a healthy lifestyle and work/life balance(in 27 reviews)

  • "Flexible working hours treated as one of the team(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "I think we can find more ways of extracting these ideas so that they are heard by senior management e(in 8 reviews)

  • "Career progression was very limited due to there only being a limited amount of roles in the office(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rectification Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time

    Pros

    Excellent company with amazing work culture

    Cons

    Nothing but require some more new progressing opportunities

    Royal London2019-10-24

    Royal London Response

    November 22, 2019Group People Director

    Thanks for your review, I’m really pleased you see our culture at Royal London as positive, it’s something we pride ourselves in. All our people here at Royal London are expected to have a development plan. Development plans are tailored to the individual and created with support from your People Leader. The aim is always to have ‘development objectives’ that are targeted in a way to address a development area. We use a 70\20\10 approach to our learning, with 70% of learning through experiences on the job, 20% through learning from others (e.g. mentoring, feedback, networks) and 10% through formal learning (classroom learning including the courses we offer internally through our managed service provider Hemsley Fraser, on-line courses, external seminars). We also encourage people to complete Strengthsfinder and focus attention on enhancing your strengths as part of your development plan. I’d encourage you to speak to your People Leader about this as you plan your objectives and development plan for 2020.

    Continue reading
  2. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Contract and Tax Reporting Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good culture, yearly bonus, good staff pension scheme

    Cons

    Lower salary than other financial services companies in the area

    Royal London2020-01-16
  3. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Copy Center Associate in Wilmslow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Royal London full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance

    Cons

    Some toxic individuals have a significant effect on team morale.

    Continue reading
    Royal London2020-01-14
  4. "Lovely company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Consultant 

    I worked at Royal London full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great friendly culture Good benefits

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Royal London2020-01-10
  5. "Actuarial Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Technician 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The pay review scheme, benefits and flexible working (managers vary)

    Cons

    Performance isn't solely individual it is pitted against others in your team and you will compete for strongest member (not be rewarded for what you all deserve)

    Continue reading
    Royal London2019-12-30
  6. "Working Lifestyle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Developer in Wilmslow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment that makes you feel comfortable.

    Cons

    Was initially a struggle to get into the routine of working

    Royal London2019-12-09
  7. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 

    I worked at Royal London full-time

    Pros

    Total benefits pacakage (pension, healthcare etc)

    Cons

    a lack of career progression

    Royal London2019-11-25
  8. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Royal London full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Time flexibility Good salary Good pension Decent Benefits

    Cons

    One of the biggest cons is that a large number of staff have worked there for a number of years and driving change is difficult

    Royal London2019-11-24
  9. "Good but needs work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - New Business Case Owner in Wilmslow, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Royal London full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pension, good work ethic,

    Cons

    People not helpful, too many trainers teaching different ways,m

    Royal London2019-11-14
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not a single good luck message on retirement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriter in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Royal London full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people in the teams

    Cons

    Local management do not seem to uphold Royal London Values

    Continue reading
    Royal London2019-11-04

    Royal London Response

    November 22, 2019Group People Director

    Thanks for your review and for your loyalty to Royal London over the years you were with us. I’m sorry that you felt disheartened as you retired from Royal London, I’ve picked this up locally to understand what happened. I want to take this opportunity to wish you well in your retirement and thank you again for your loyalty to us as a company.

    Continue reading
Found 220 reviews