Rue Gilt Groupe Event Coordinator Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Rue Gilt Groupe Event Coordinator Reviews

Updated 6 Oct 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6 reviews

1.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
13%
Recommend to a Friend
Rue Gilt Groupe CEO Mark McWeeny
Mark McWeeny
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (10)

    "Overworked and Underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Coordinator in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get an okay discount on site and bagels on Friday- also if you get your friend to apply and stay for 6 months you get a bonus. If you stay past 7pm working (read as 2 hours of unpaid overtime) they pay for your Uber home!

    Cons

    A normal work day is 11 hours meaning 55 hours a week and there is no paid overtime! The company as a "throw someone else under the bus" vibe so if you start off at the bottom you will be FORCED to take the blame for everything that is and mostly is not your fault, in my experience. Management did not support me when I asked for help and pretended I did not ask for help when the problem bubbled up.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees for the extra 15 hours of work they do. When your employees are forced to work an extra 2-3 hours every single day buy them dinner since you are not paying them for the extra hours of labor they are giving you for free. Do not tell incoming employees the position they hold has a 6 month minimum because it is realistically a 1.5- 2 year minimum.

    Rue Gilt Groupe2016-10-07
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Overworked but great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Event Coordinator in Boston, MA
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe for more than a year

    Pros

    Great perks to gyms and other places with 20% off the Rue La La site.

    Cons

    You will find yourself bringing home work on the weekends. The pay doesn't cover the actual work .

    Rue Gilt Groupe2016-02-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Contract Event Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Event Coordinator in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe

    Pros

    Awesome Company. Bagel Fridays. Sample Sales.

    Cons

    Contract work is the exact same as full-time work. No benefits and not considered apart of the Company.

    Rue Gilt Groupe2015-02-18
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Bizarre experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Assistant Event Coordinator in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe for less than a year

    Pros

    i can imagine that this would be a fun place to work right out of college. Most employees are young girls in their early twenties.

    Cons

    I have to preface this review. I was hired as a contractor and I realize that there is different treatment for these types of employees. I have been a working professional for 12 years and have a pretty thick skin when it comes to awkward work situations. I do not expect "hand-holding" while working nor do I like that approach but this experience left a terrible taste in my mouth. I started a few days later than HR... had originally set up due to a family emergency. On my first day, I waited in reception for 2 hours until someone came to retrieve me. This was the first of many times something like this happened. I understand how the day can get away from you and you may forget about a detail such as someone starting... but 2 hours?From there, I bounced around to at least 5 different people's desks where they began to train me. The training was fragmented so much that it was difficult to follow, remember and understand. There was no training manual. After the first day, I realized there was no set person to ask questions when they arose. This was extremely frustrating for me since I was given a list of things to do. I had no login information set up, and was using other people's passwords to sign into the 3 different platforms used to do my work the entire time I worked for this company. I was seated next to 3 other girls, who, throughout my first week, were moved to different areas of the office, leaving me to sit by myself 100 yards away from anyone who had originally trained me. It was extremely isolating and odd. So odd, that random people would walk by and say "wow! They have you all by yourself over here!" I did not have a phone, so anytime there was a question, I had to physically go somewhere or send an email ( which are notoriously never answered in this company). No one said hello, checked in with me on a daily basis, etc. It was clear I was being set up to fail. It felt like I was in some social experiment to see how long it would take someone to quit. I look back and realize Rue La La wasn't a good fit for me. It is very young (the majority of people being 23 years old and younger), cliquey, and very competitive. There were perhaps 2 people there that were genuinely nice to me. No one made an attempt to get to know me, train me or treat me like a team member. I felt like a nuisance from the beginning.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I realize everyone in this company is very busy but assigning 2 different people to train a new person would streamline the process for everyone, including management.

    Rue Gilt Groupe2014-10-08

    Rue Gilt Groupe Response

    October 20, 2014Recruiting Director

    Thank you for your response, we apologize for the less than stellar experience. Some of the points that you raised are being addressed by the Talent team. We are in the midst of developing programs to provide consistency and better experience for our short term associates. Candid ...

    Show More
  5. "Great Company if you want to be in Fashion in Boston"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Event Coordinator in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to begin your e-commerce adventure with. I learned so much while there as far as administrative skills and how e-commerce works. Everyone is very nice, pretty hard to move up because it is competitive and there are only so many spaces open to advance. Free snacks and bagel friday were always amazing as well! Very laid back for the fashion world, if you want something not cut throat but fashion oriented... - this is the company for you.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not fantastically competitive salary, IF you do get a raise it wont be a very good one. Not easy to move up quickly, you have to put in lots of time.

    Rue Gilt Groupe2014-04-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Fresh out of college and couldn't be happier!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Coordinator in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I interned at Rue La La the summer going into my senior year of college. I absolutely fell in love with the company for its culture, energy, and purpose. I was surrounded by brilliant people with passion and I wanted nothing more to be a part of it. Once my internship had ended, I knew Rue was the place for me and as soon as I graduated I jumped onto an opportunity within the event production department. I work with... such talented people who are willing to help constantly; for a graduate, what more could you ask for?

    Show More

    Cons

    Very fast paced...everyone has their good days and bad days. The ability of adapting to change certainly keeps you on your toes!

    Rue Gilt Groupe2014-02-02
Found 6 reviews