S.A. Brain & Company Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

S.A. Brain & Company Reviews

Updated 2 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
31%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
S.A. Brain & Company Chief Executive  Alistair Darby
Alistair Darby
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "You meet some great people who become friends of like family as you see them so often(in 6 reviews)

  • "Loads of different pub environments to work in(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours amd very hard to meet gp margins with little to know support(in 6 reviews)

  • "Low pay, tips are split evenly even when you're waiting more tables than the other staff, no breaks even when legally entitled to one working 8(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Kitchen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chef 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at S.A. Brain & Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible with time off for child care. Fixed shifts given which were a god send for child care arrangements.

    Cons

    Wanting to get staff out early to save hours then shouting at staff when deep cleaning wasn't completed because our pay was stopped.

    Continue reading
    S.A. Brain & Company2020-01-04

    S.A. Brain & Company Response

    February 24, 2020Resourcing Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback around how our kitchens operate. We regularly review all of our policies and are taking this feedback seriously. We’d appreciate it if you’d be able to contact us on feedback@sabrain.com to discuss your feedback in more detail.

    Continue reading
  2. "Bartender and waitress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front of House Staff in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at S.A. Brain & Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's flexible and open to people of all backgrounds/ skills

    Cons

    Customers can be rude - but this is also character building!!

    S.A. Brain & Company2020-02-23
  3. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at S.A. Brain & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice brand but too stale in the brewing world

    Cons

    Lack of support for personal development or achieve if job deliverables Restructure with little understanding of the role itself Just get it done mentality No training support Not interested in moving with the times Short sighted and old school marketing approach

    S.A. Brain & Company2020-03-02
  4. "Supports bullying culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at S.A. Brain & Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great peers to work with, often fun office environment, evident pride in company heritage.

    Cons

    Disappointing outlook for a once great company. Senior management cannot be trusted. CEO promotes people to senior level who have a track record of bullying and no care for employees mental wellbeing. Unrealistic goals and constantly moving benchmarks.

    Continue reading
    S.A. Brain & Company2020-02-21

    S.A. Brain & Company Response

    February 24, 2020Resourcing Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I’m really concerned about the comments you’ve made and would like to address this appropriately. Please contact me directly on feedback@sabrain.com so that I can investigate this further.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great Staff and customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Bar Team Member in Swansea, Wales

    I have been working at S.A. Brain & Company part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great staff to get on with and a customer base that makes working feel like home

    Cons

    Lack of incentives from Brains

    S.A. Brain & Company2020-01-04

    S.A. Brain & Company Response

    January 16, 2020Resourcing Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoy working with your team and serving our great customers! We have just launched a new incentive scheme across the pub estate so be sure to speak with your Manager about this. Our teams both past and present are always encouraged to provide further feedback, if you would like to do so please email us at feedback@sabrain.com

    Continue reading
  6. "Rewarding bad behaviour"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at S.A. Brain & Company

    Pros

    Good pension and benefits Fun industry! Tight knit colleagues

    Cons

    Negative and ruthless work culture fuelled by CEO his appointed leadership team Unstable (many redundancies) Old fashioned Unethical HR Pay not competitive or in line with industry average CEO rewards and promotes senior managers who have a documented track record for severe micromanagement, grievances, bullying and high turnover of passionate staff

    Continue reading
    S.A. Brain & Company2019-10-15

    S.A. Brain & Company Response

    December 9, 2019Resourcing Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We really want to learn from your experience and are always looking for ways to improve. We’d be really grateful if you could email us some more details so that we can look into this further at feedback@sabrain.com

    Continue reading
  7. "Auditor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Profit Improvement Manager in Swansea, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at S.A. Brain & Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Field based, 35 hours per week

    Cons

    Can be a lot of hours on the road

    S.A. Brain & Company2019-08-26

    S.A. Brain & Company Response

    December 9, 2019Resourcing Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback! Our field based roles certainly does mean a fair bit of travel, but you get to see some of our beautiful country pubs and picturesque scenery!

    Continue reading
  8. "great pub, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waitress in Lisvane, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at S.A. Brain & Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    customers are friendly and the atmosphere is great

    Cons

    shifts get changed online without notice, we wouldnt know about it unless we check

    S.A. Brain & Company2019-08-15

    S.A. Brain & Company Response

    December 9, 2019Resourcing Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We really want to learn from your experience and are always looking for ways to improve. We’d be really grateful if you could email us some more details so that we can look into this further at feedback@sabrain.com

    Continue reading
  9. "Changable strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at S.A. Brain & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loads of different pub environments to work in.

    Cons

    Too many changes in strategy, not giving enough time for idea's to be executed creating uncertainty for staff and customers alike.

    Continue reading
    S.A. Brain & Company2019-06-21

    S.A. Brain & Company Response

    December 9, 2019Resourcing Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We really want to learn from your experience and are always looking for ways to improve. We’d be really grateful if you could email us some more details so that we can look into this further at feedback@sabrain.com

    Continue reading
  10. "Minimum Wage, Minimum Effort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front of House Staff in Cardiff, Wales

    I have been working at S.A. Brain & Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, easy job with no real responsibilities

    Cons

    Minimum wage, can be reluctant to allow you to progress through the company.

    S.A. Brain & Company2019-04-21

    S.A. Brain & Company Response

    December 9, 2019Resourcing Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We really want to learn from your experience and are always looking for ways to improve. We’d be really grateful if you could email us some more details so that we can look into this further at feedback@sabrain.com

    Continue reading
Found 49 reviews