S&P Global Platts Editor Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

S&P Global Platts Editor Reviews

Updated 1 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.1
39%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
S&P Global Platts President Martin Fraenkel (no image)
Martin Fraenkel
4 Ratings
  1. "Managing Editor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Managing Editor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at S&P Global Platts part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people and nice place to work in Canary Wharf. Good health benefits.

    Cons

    Very large company so making decisions or changes takes time.

    S&P Global Platts2017-09-08
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at S&P Global Platts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really great people, lots of opportunities to network and develop skills..

    Cons

    Slow career progression and compensation, its probably better to leave and come back at a higher grade and salary.

    S&P Global Platts2019-07-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "changing for the better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editor in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at S&P Global Platts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    using its market position to grow and evolve

    Cons

    so much change which some people find tough

    Continue reading
    S&P Global Platts2016-09-18
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Good grounding but some leadership issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate Editor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at S&P Global Platts for more than a year

    Pros

    This was generally a good place to be and one that gave a really good flavor of the markets to anyone starting out. The work was usually interesting and the staff was diverse and a fun team to be in. Oil dominates the company and it was good to see how the markets work and have such access to so many people who knew so much especially industry participants like traders etc. The pay was ok for what I was doing but some of the work could be repetitive as there were many daily tasks to be done. All in all it was a good job at a good place and clearly the market leader in its limited field.

    Cons

    Apart from the occasional repetitiveness the main bad point was with a group manager who I found to be somewhat dishonest. This person was a good speaker and leader but clearly making up big parts of their life story like being in the army when they obviously wasn't or stuff like being a sports coach when it was very unlikely! Their story would change so often that I lost faith in the leadership and it was part of the reason I started to look at other roles. I mentioned it in the exit interview but HR did not seem interested. HR at the company was not great. Very inactive.

    Continue reading
    S&P Global Platts2016-02-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Miserable place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Editor in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at S&P Global Platts for less than a year

    Pros

    - Slightly higher than average salary

    Cons

    - Completely zero employee welfare - Completely zero work-life balance

    Continue reading
    S&P Global Platts2020-02-02
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Same old same ol"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor/Senior Pricing Specialist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at S&P Global Platts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    most other reporters were helpful; ability to travel

    Cons

    Limited upward mobility for reporters

    S&P Global Platts2019-01-30
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Journalism of sorts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Editor in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at S&P Global Platts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment and work life balance. Unbelievable benefits compared to journalism.

    Cons

    Very niche writing that doesn't translate well to other fields. Lots of math required.

    S&P Global Platts2019-01-21
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great opportunity to learn about the commodities industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editor in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at S&P Global Platts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can learn as much as you want at Platts

    Cons

    Relationships with managers could be difficult

    Continue reading
    S&P Global Platts2018-07-14
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Good company that has gone steadily downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Editor in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at S&P Global Platts full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They used to value actual journalism and industry reporting

    Cons

    Vast majority of upper management consists of white men, they care very little about the quality of the product they are putting out as long as they are constantly cutting costs.

    S&P Global Platts2018-04-25
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Associate Editors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Editor in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at S&P Global Platts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Good pay and benefits -Dynamic environment -Intelligent and friendly team

    Cons

    - Can be mundane after a while - Poor career progression -Managers not open to new ideas and afraid to make decision

    Continue reading
    S&P Global Platts2018-03-22

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 16 reviews