SCS Engineers Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SCS Engineers Reviews

Updated 14 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 70 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
SCS Engineers CEO Jim Walsh (no image)
Jim Walsh
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "I've been with SCS for two months and am very happy to have joined this well-respected employee-owned firm(in 10 reviews)

  • "SCS is a great company to work for(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Going through some growing pains right now(in 4 reviews)

  • "it's an engineering company so a bit old-school at times(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCS Engineers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for! Everyone is so nice and I appreciate the structure they have in place for upward mobility. They also are really understanding with how important a work-life balance is to have.

    Cons

    No cons whatsoever. This is a great company

    SCS Engineers2019-08-14
  2. "Intersection of Industry & Government"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Professional in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCS Engineers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work is important (helping companies develop risk management and safety programs that make their processes safer for their employees and for the general public), technical (you become very familiar and comfortable and work often with chemical engineering terms without being too difficult), and collaborative (constantly working with clients and other associates to fix issues or learn more techniques or... information).

    Show More

    Cons

    Clients can sometimes be tricky or difficult to work with (e.g. not respond to emails, not provide enough information, etc.). Certain assignments can take much longer than the hours that are allotted to you, which can lead to long days/nights or weekend work on projects.

    SCS Engineers2019-06-27
  3. "Great experience and great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCS Engineers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been with SCS for two months and am very happy to have joined this well-respected employee-owned firm. Friendly, supportive and professional work environment for this successful, nearly 50-year old firm that continues to experience steady growth and success.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons

    SCS Engineers2019-05-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Assistant in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCS Engineers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is a 10 minute commute from home. I am always working on something different. The company has great benefits and truly cares about its employees. Great work environment and an awesome team to work with.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons in regards to the company

    SCS Engineers2019-04-29
  5. "I've only been here a few months and it is amazing so far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at SCS Engineers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Challenging work that is building my skillset

    Cons

    I'm too new to have found any cons.

    SCS Engineers2019-05-02
  6. "Excellent Opportunity to Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCS Engineers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    From the beginning I've felt supported by every level of the company and encouraged to do work that would help the company AND myself succeed professionally.

    Cons

    Locations in more metropolitan areas may attract more young professionals.

    SCS Engineers2019-04-01
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Miami (and Boca) Office and SE Region very dysfunctional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SCS Engineers full-time

    Pros

    The overall (US) company ownership as an ESOP

    Cons

    SE Region and Miami and Boca offices in particular, and especially the environmental side of the business. Worst combination possible - preach culture yet don't live it. Senior turnover is extremely high and financial performance is extremely subpar.

    Advice to Management

    Rid region of recent management no longer in position but still providing dysfunctional leadership.

    SCS Engineers2019-03-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Women Engineers Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Professional in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SCS Engineers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of free lunches for management type training

    Cons

    No advancement opportunities for women engineers, women are "window dressing", static management culture, limited investment in job training to do your job better. Too much stress on utilization. Loss of staff who have served 5 years or less.

    Advice to Management

    Find real opportunities for women to hold management positions. Work on management transition plan. Make management accountable for excessive staff turnover.

    SCS Engineers2019-03-23
  9. "Great company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at SCS Engineers

    Pros

    Company that really cares about its employees.

    Cons

    The management in the Midwest is terrible to say the least.

    SCS Engineers2019-02-20
  10. "Awesome Company with Great Benefits!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCS Engineers full-time

    Pros

    Great benefit package, company cares about their employees, has community volunteer activities and flexible work schedule. Great culture and amazing coworkers.

    Cons

    Information technology could be improved.

    SCS Engineers2018-12-20
Found 70 reviews