SCS Engineers Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SCS Engineers Reviews

Updated 24 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
80%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
SCS Engineers President and CEO Jim Walsh
Jim Walsh
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "I've been with SCS for two months and am very happy to have joined this well-respected employee-owned firm(in 11 reviews)

  • "SCS is a great company to work for(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Going through some growing pains right now(in 4 reviews)

  • "it's an engineering company so a bit old-school at times(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "You found a great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SCS Engineers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to grow professionally. Employee ownership is amazing.

    Cons

    don't do a great job working between business units to facilitate employee growth. Too worried about the bottom line instead of the employee asset.

    SCS Engineers2020-01-24
  2. "Employee Owned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCS Engineers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you get in with this company, stay with them! I’ve never worked for an employee owned company before, and it’s been such a welcomed and positive change. No office drama, opportunities to easily move to other job locations if you’re interested, and the option of remote work if your job allows for it. Great company, great people.

    Cons

    None in my experience so far.

    SCS Engineers2019-12-09
  3. "Unmatched professionalism, client service, and employee satisfaction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCS Engineers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. First focus is client service, which is how it should be. I've worked for other firms that primarily focused on attaining an inflated profit margin, which leads to questionable billing practices and undeserved employee stress at all levels. 2. Within SCS Engineers, professional accomplishments, skill sets, and reputations are impressive and broad ranging. 3. Everyone I've met or worked with is highly responsive and available, no matter their level within the company. 4. Despite having nearly 1,000 employees, SCS Engineers moves with agility and feels like a "mom and pop" company. 5. As alluded to above, the culture within SCS Engineers is the best I've ever experienced. I've worked for several firms and government entities and can say without a doubt that the culture within SCS is approachable, professional, friendly, genuine, encouraging of individual of growth, and highly concerned with employee satisfaction. And this is not just spoken to, these things are happening on a daily basis.

    Cons

    I haven't found any, as of yet.

    Continue reading
    SCS Engineers2019-11-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Terrific Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Administrator in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCS Engineers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers, organized, good benefits. As a new employee I've never been made to feel like I'm a "new" employee.

    Cons

    Can't bring my dog to work - not that I could at my last employers, but I had to put something here. Which basically means I have no cons.

    SCS Engineers2019-11-04
  5. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCS Engineers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for! Everyone is so nice and I appreciate the structure they have in place for upward mobility. They also are really understanding with how important a work-life balance is to have.

    Cons

    No cons whatsoever. This is a great company

    SCS Engineers2019-08-14
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Intersection of Industry & Government"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Professional in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCS Engineers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work is important (helping companies develop risk management and safety programs that make their processes safer for their employees and for the general public), technical (you become very familiar and comfortable and work often with chemical engineering terms without being too difficult), and collaborative (constantly working with clients and other associates to fix issues or learn more techniques or information).

    Cons

    Clients can sometimes be tricky or difficult to work with (e.g. not respond to emails, not provide enough information, etc.). Certain assignments can take much longer than the hours that are allotted to you, which can lead to long days/nights or weekend work on projects.

    SCS Engineers2019-06-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience and great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCS Engineers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been with SCS for two months and am very happy to have joined this well-respected employee-owned firm. Friendly, supportive and professional work environment for this successful, nearly 50-year old firm that continues to experience steady growth and success.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons

    SCS Engineers2019-05-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Assistant in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCS Engineers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is a 10 minute commute from home. I am always working on something different. The company has great benefits and truly cares about its employees. Great work environment and an awesome team to work with.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons in regards to the company

    SCS Engineers2019-04-29
  9. "I've only been here a few months and it is amazing so far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at SCS Engineers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Challenging work that is building my skillset

    Cons

    I'm too new to have found any cons.

    SCS Engineers2019-05-02
  10. "Excellent Opportunity to Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCS Engineers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    From the beginning I've felt supported by every level of the company and encouraged to do work that would help the company AND myself succeed professionally.

    Cons

    Locations in more metropolitan areas may attract more young professionals.

    SCS Engineers2019-04-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 74 reviews