SCS Engineers Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SCS Engineers Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Jim Walsh
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "Employee- Owned culture focused on value and the client - not shareholder profits(in 9 reviews)

  • "SCS is a great company to work for(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Going through some growing pains right now(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent Opportunity to Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCS Engineers full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    From the beginning I've felt supported by every level of the company and encouraged to do work that would help the company AND myself succeed professionally.

    Cons

    Locations in more metropolitan areas may attract more young professionals.

    SCS Engineers2019-04-01
  2. "Great company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at SCS Engineers

      Pros

      Company that really cares about its employees.

      Cons

      The management in the Midwest is terrible to say the least.

      SCS Engineers2019-02-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "Miami (and Boca) Office and SE Region very dysfunctional"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at SCS Engineers full-time

      Pros

      The overall (US) company ownership as an ESOP

      Cons

      SE Region and Miami and Boca offices in particular, and especially the environmental side of the business. Worst combination possible - preach culture yet don't live it. Senior turnover is extremely high and financial performance is extremely subpar.

      Advice to Management

      Rid region of recent management no longer in position but still providing dysfunctional leadership.

      SCS Engineers2019-03-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "Women Engineers Stay Away"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Project Professional in Tampa, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at SCS Engineers full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Lots of free lunches for management type training

      Cons

      No advancement opportunities for women engineers, women are "window dressing", static management culture, limited investment in job training to do your job better. Too much stress on utilization. Loss of staff who have served 5 years or less.

      Advice to Management

      Find real opportunities for women to hold management positions. Work on management transition plan. Make management accountable for excessive staff turnover.

      SCS Engineers2019-03-23
    • "Awesome Company with Great Benefits!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at SCS Engineers full-time

      Pros

      Great benefit package, company cares about their employees, has community volunteer activities and flexible work schedule. Great culture and amazing coworkers.

      Cons

      Information technology could be improved.

      SCS Engineers2018-12-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great Company, Great Employees"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at SCS Engineers full-time

        Pros

        SCS is a great company to work for. The SCS culture is unlike anywhere I have worked before. Everyone seems to be on the same page in terms of the long term vision of the company.

        Cons

        With offices all across the country, it would be nice to have more company events to interact with employees from other offices.

        SCS Engineers2018-11-15
      • "SCS is a great company!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Management 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at SCS Engineers full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        SCS is an incredibly entrepreneurial company! Have an idea? You can do it at SCS!

        Cons

        As with most consulting companies, staying billable and busy is very important.

        SCS Engineers2018-11-10
      • "Great Career at SCS"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at SCS Engineers full-time for more than 19 years

        Pros

        I've been with SCS for a number of years. SCS is a great company to work with. It has provided me an opportunity to grow and develop professionally and personally. I've been continuously challenged with projects and client involvement, and given the opportunity to be entrepreneurial. For someone with strong technical capabilities, the desire to serve clients and grow professionally, SCS is a good choice.

        Cons

        I have no real complaints to offer.

        Advice to Management

        Keep supporting growth and client focus.

        SCS Engineers2018-11-10
      • "Long-term Success"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Manager in Washington, DC
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at SCS Engineers full-time for more than 19 years

        Pros

        SCS has a very friendly, engaged culture that stems from the longevity of much of the senior management of the firm. The decision of the founding principals to move SCS to an ESOP firm back in the mid 1980's has created broad ownership of SCS that will facilitate continued growth and opportunity for employees seeking to be leaders within the company. The recent focus on developing young professionals with a formal...

        Show More

        Cons

        Fast growth in recent years has presented some challenges.

        SCS Engineers2018-11-11
      • "Competitive Internally"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at SCS Engineers full-time

        Pros

        Initial impressions are good during the interview process

        Cons

        Fear prevents cooperation at company’s expense

        Advice to Management

        Take action when abuse is reported

        SCS Engineers2018-11-01
      Found 65 reviews