SGN FCO Reviews

Updated 1 Apr 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.2
16%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
SGN CEO John Morea
John Morea
6 Ratings
  1. "Good place to learn and good opportunity to work with expert and gain great skills."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training FCO in Reading, England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    SGN looks after the employees and their safety very well. Good company to expand your knowledge and gain skills.

    Cons

    I didn’t see any yet because I just started 4 months ago.

    Continue reading
  2. "Cuts are coming"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FCO in London, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent pay (at the moment)

    Cons

    Not any opportunity for progression unless you're friends with management or family. (Family members seem to progress much quicker than others) Rota has changed to allow maximum of 16 hours working which is a plus. Constant changes to rotas doest allow myself or my family to make arrangements for childcare or to plan my life outside of work. Overtime is slowly being killed. Few years time will probably be none existent. Therefore pay will go down. Can see SGN making Saturday a normal day so no uplift. Multiple shift times which is meant to be for fatigue reasons. But how is my body meant to adjust to 6 different shift start times. If anything I'll be more fatigued. I can't just sleep when I tell my body too unfortunately. Its all money saving tactics. Engineer morale is low. Communication is poor. Wouldnt be surprised if they try british gas tactics and threaten fire and rehire. SGN good days are over sadly.

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    April 8, 2021Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to leave your honest feedback. We’re pleased to hear you’re satisfied with our compensation package and concerned by some of your comments about progression. We understand job progression in some areas can be quite limited and it's not always possible to achieve some aspirations, but we’re committed to ensuring equality of opportunity and making sure our processes are fair and objective. We’ve recently commissioned an external specialist to conduct an EDI audit with a view to identifying opportunities to achieve greater equality, diversity and inclusion in our policies and processes. As part of this audit, The Equal Group would like to speak to colleagues representing different business areas to better understand experiences and views on D&I. If it’s something you’d be interested in, please get in touch as soon as possible so I can provide you with more information and arrange a time for you to speak with them. You can reach me at Sophie.Krempasky@sgn.co.uk


  3. COVID-19

    "Money Matters More than Employee Moral"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FCO in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good pay, some good managers, good benefits

    Cons

    The company doesn't care too much about people working in the field and the positive reviews seem to be from those that are office based or management. Little thought is given to the work we undertake when operating in people's homes especially now that Covid is a major concern, everything seems profit-driven. Although the pay is good the hours do add up and you can work 16 hour days without a break and driving over 150 miles in a single day. Although the rota has changed it doesn't seem to benefit those that have to work it. Having worked here for a number of years I have never seen staff morale as low as it is now, nobody seems to care and critical things are being missed.

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    February 5, 2021Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Please be assured that we value all of our people and greatly appreciate everything you and your colleagues are doing during this extremely challenging time . We’ve listened to your concerns and, since posting your review, we’ve made some changes to our operational work, including temporarily suspending and flexing a number of work types. The safety and wellbeing of our people continues to be our absolute priority; if you haven’t already, make sure to check out the wellbeing eLearning package on People Portal. One of the clear messages is the importance of highlighting concerns and we’d strongly encourage you to get in touch with your manager or HR Manager about any safety-related concerns you might have. Many thanks for your feedback.

  4. "Reasonable to Okay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FCO (Technical) in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SGN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training is OK, and you get what you need to do job.

    Cons

    Internal network is terrible and slows jobs up.

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    December 21, 2020Employee Experience Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We have a robust training offering to ensure our people are equipped to perform their roles effectively but we're always open to suggestions and ideas. If you think there's something missing or you'd benefit from training in a particular area please highlight to your manager or a member of the training team. We’re committed to continually improving and recently, we rolled out phase one of a device replacement scheme to upgrade the technology we work with. We want to support our people in whatever way we can so if you've got any thoughts on how we can do this better, please tell us in the next Covid-19 survey we'll be issuing in January.

  5. "Good terms and conditions"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FCO in Gosport, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SGN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work wit

    Cons

    long hours aldo working at the weekend

    SGN Response

    September 7, 2020Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review and give your feedback - we're so pleased to hear your experience working at SGN has been positive. The work our FCOs do is so important so it’s great to hear how much you enjoy working for SGN. We understand that our standby arrangements can have an impact on work-life balance and we’re working to explore how we might be able to make changes in this area. Thank you for your 10+ years of service at SGN and wishing you all the best for the future.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Honest opinion"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FCO/Team Leader in Dunfermline, Scotland, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great pay if your willing to put the hours in. Pension Scheme has improved recently. A few decent company benefits such as cheaper Gym membership, Cycle to work scheme etc. Job security as long as you follow rules and procedures. Great opportunities for further development. All round decent job.

    Cons

    I am multi skilled. Fully trained team leader and FCO. Fully trained in Industrual Commercial work and take on projects often. I'm also a district assessor and I receive no extra pay for taking on these duties. Industrial Commercial tickets are required and that part of the gas safe has to be renewed every 5 years. This is harder than the normal gas safe and the day to day work holds much more responsibility. Other staff get paid more for extra responsibility so i feel there is an unfair pay issue. Long hours with unpaid breaks can lead to fatigue especially in the busy winter months.

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    May 24, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    The following response has been provided by Val Scott, HR Business Partner: Thanks so much for sharing your feedback. Like you pointed out in your review, we’ve got a lot to offer! A few of the improvements that you highlighted (discounted gym memberships and improved pension terms) were introduced as a result of employee feedback. We really value feedback and its ideas and suggestions like these that allow us to keep improving our employee offering. If you have concerns about your remuneration, I’d be happy to have a confidential discussion. You can contact me on val.scott@sgn.co.uk or my number is available on DigitalHub.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Company making pay cut backs."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FCO in London, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Always get paid on time. Good pension.

    Cons

    Unsociable hours which pay doesn’t reflect. Managers bully people, false promises. Company constantly looking at ways to cut pay. Employees treated differently. Engineers doing the same job get paid less than others. Company can’t retain their staff. 80% of engineers are not happy. We all come to work to make a living and pay the bills yet pay is poor and not had a pay rise in years yet SGN expect you to work 15-16 hours for poor pay and give a 10/10 service. No sick pay/ where other engineers get it. Working long hours and sometimes in poor conditions your more susceptible to sickness. SGN management rarely reward engineers verbally. A simple well done or good job would be nice. They keep adding more and more to do on jobs yet dont allow the time to do it. Therefore sometimes you can feel rushed either by the office or management. You work unsociable hours and days yet get the minimum allowance for holiday annually. Engineers that done this job 30 years ago earned more money than engineers do now.

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    August 14, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thank you for sharing your views and giving us the opportunity to address some of your concerns. One of the commitments we’ve made to our customers involves delivering a service which offers value for money. This means we need to look at ways of working more efficiently and effectively but it doesn’t mean cutting pay for those carrying out the work. Our people are the heart of our business and we’re always looking at how we can improve things for our employees. The pay deal agreed in 2018 has seen considerable improvements in pay and other terms and conditions, e.g. sick pay and pension contributions for SGNC colleagues and will continue to provide benefits for the remainder of the deal. We’ve had a lot of positive feedback from our people about these changes. We know that our current IT infrastructure needs to be improved and we’ve embarked on an ambitious project to upgrade our network. The project team have been posting regular updates on SGNapp and DigitalHub so take a look here for the latest news. Also, we’re aware that some users have been experiencing performance issues with their tablets and plan to replace 2,200 tablets with brand new devices. The roll-out planned to start late-September and expected to take between four and five months with our field force being prioritised.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Working at SGN"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FCO in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've been in the gas industry for around 32 years now,14 with SGN. Fantastic company to work for, salary is great,wirk is varied and interesting with a healthy outlook on safety in regards our workforce and the general public. Work hard,keep your nose clean and you will have a job for life with great opportunity's for advancement within different streams of the company. Great terms and conditions with a very forward looking CEO.

    Cons

    Long hours and trying to balance family life can be hard .

    SGN Response

    November 22, 2018Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks so much for leaving such a positive review. The work our FCOs do is so important so it’s fantastic to hear how much you enjoy your role and working for SGN. We understand that our standby arrangements can have an impact on work-life balance and we’re working with our TU colleagues to explore how we might be able to make changes in this area.

  9. "FCO"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FCO 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SGN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Varied work can keep the job interesting , but overall not many pros

    Cons

    Certain Management have bully boy tactics but seem to be allowed to get away with it . Standby is far to excessive and not healthy working 17 hour days and being expected to go out in middle of night after that . Pay for the responsibility the job carrys is shocking. High turn over of staff yet no one questions why.

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    June 28, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Many thanks for your recent review. Please be assured that accusations of bullying and intimidating behaviour are taken extremely seriously. When issues of this nature are highlighted to our HR team they are investigated promptly and thoroughly to ensure the appropriate action is taken. With respect to your comments on standby we are currently reviewing our arrangements for managing working time and fatigue in conjunction with our Trade Union representatives. The health and welfare of our people is paramount which is why ‘safety first’ is one of our core values. Thank you for your sharing your experiences of working at SGN and wishing you all the best for your future.

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not pleasant"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FCO in Portsmouth, South East England, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SGN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay rate is ok

    Cons

    Bullying , old fashioned , stuck in its ways Long hours, not much progression

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    April 17, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks for sharing your experiences of working at SGN. I hope you had the opportunity to tell us more about the less positive aspects of your employment in an exit interview before leaving. We take all claims of bullying seriously and welcome any feedback that will help us to improve. If you would like to get in touch confidentially, you can contact me on kirstin.gemmell@sgn.co.uk/07970 127 348. Wishing you all the best for the future.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

Popular Careers with SGN Job Seekers

Team Manager
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at SGN? Share Your Experiences

SGN logo
or