SGN Manager Reviews

Updated 13 Apr 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
73%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
SGN CEO John Morea
John Morea
19 Ratings
  1. "Good place"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time

    Pros

    Nice teams and decent pay

    Cons

    Your personal time ain’t yours

  2. "Great company with huge prospects"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chief Technology Officer (CTO) in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SGN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People are empowered to make a difference

    Cons

    Challenging market pressures that make things difficult

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    March 12, 2021Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thanks so much for your positive review and over 5 years at SGN - we're glad you enjoyed your experience working with us and pleased you felt empowered to make a difference. Recently, we launched our Safe to Speak Up campaign, where we encourage our people to speak up and share their thoughts, ideas or concerns so we can make improvements and address any problems. Wishing you the best for your future.


  3. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "Good experience, continuously improving"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stakeholder Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The way SGN has looked after it's employees during Covid-19 has been great e.g. very quickly mobilising homeworking; stopping all but essential works; getting PPE out to those in need; regular comms; use of technology (MS Teams and a comms App) to ensure people stay connected; listening to employees via a covid survey; and working tirelessly to ensure offices and depots are safe for those people returning. I've been impressed that changes are being made as a result of survey feedback and I must say, I love the new recognition system, shout out. So many genuine shows of appreciation - spot on timing. I can honestly say I'm proud to work for SGN. Thank you!

    Cons

    Sometimes the pace of change is slow, but it's a utility and many of the people don't like change so inevitably it can be like pushing water uphill.

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    July 22, 2020Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review and give your feedback - we're so pleased to hear your experience working at SGN during Covid-19 has been positive and you felt supported in SGN's response. I'm glad you're enjoying the new recognition system, Shout Out, as we know how important it is to recognise our colleagues and all of the great work being done across the business - especially during this time. We're constantly listening and collecting insight from our people, like with the recent Covid-19 survey, so we can make meaningful changes to the way we work. We recognise ‘the pace of change’ at SGN can sometimes be slow because we're a regulated business with safety and process considerations to make. However, in recent months, we've increased the pace to ensure we're responding and adapting to the situation as it develops . We're committed to continuously improving and look forward to lots more positive change ahead. Thanks again for your contribution and feedback.

  4. "Great company with lots of diverse opportunity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Performance Manager in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity to develop skills in varied roles

    Cons

    High level direction not communicated down in structured way

    SGN Response

    February 5, 2021Employee Experience Coordinator

    Many thanks for your recent review. We’re glad to hear you feel positively about the development opportunities at SGN. We try to ensure important messages are shared with colleagues across multiple channels like SGNapp and DigitalHub, and are included in teamtalk to be briefed at team meetings. If you’re not having regular team meetings or have any other suggestions for cascading information, please share with us in our next Covid survey launching next week. Thanks for your review and hope you keep safe and well.

  5. "Review"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to work in the time I have been there

    Cons

    None at the time of writing

    SGN Response

    February 5, 2021Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to hear you only have good things to say about your time working here the past few years. We hope you’re staying safe and that your journey at SGN continues to be a positive one.

  6. COVID-19

    "Great Company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Aldershot, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Company, great benefits...SGN has really supported all of their employees through Covid-19...all in all a great place to work

    Cons

    No cons to report at present

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    September 7, 2020Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review and give your feedback - we're so pleased to hear your experience working at SGN during Covid-19 has been positive and you felt supported in SGN's response. It’s also great to hear you're enjoying the wide offers of employee benefits. We're committed to continuously improving and look forward to lots more positive change ahead. Thanks again for your feedback.

  7. "SGN Champion"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administration Manager in Luton, East of England, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    friendly and supportive team to work with

    Cons

    located in London, quite far from my location

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    September 7, 2020Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We’re delighted to hear you’re enjoying working at SGN and that you have a great relationship with your team. We want to ensure all our managers and leaders have the skills to manage high performing teams, and that’s why we are continuing to roll out our Manager and Leader Essentials programmes. Thank you for your 8+ years of service at SGN and wishing you all the best for the future.

  8. "salary"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Reading, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    gets paid monthly and on time

    Cons

    doesn't pay enough compared to industry

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    November 10, 2020Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to leave this review and for your 10+ years of service. We appreciate pay is a common theme coming out of our employee surveys, and like many organisations, people always want more money. Recently, we did a benchmarking exercise to understand how we compare to the external market. Compensation is an emotive area and this exercise gave us valuable insight. We always want to improve our benefits and one positive step was the introduction of pension’s salary sacrifice scheme for GPPP pension scheme members, which meant as much as a 1.5% pay increase. Thank you again for sharing your feedback.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good to join on high salary, impossible to progress"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Accountant in Horley, Surrey, South East England, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Good if the management like you. 2. Independence with your work 3. Flexible with time management

    Cons

    1. Difficult for staff if they do not get along with management as they will not let you move forward even if you meet objectives 2. Lack of motivation 3. Poor benefits 4. Political 5. Head of finance reporting can be difficult to work with 6. Lack of structure

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    March 4, 2020Employee Experience Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We hear lots of positive things about the many progression and development opportunities at SGN but, in some cases, it’s not possible to achieve the aspirations some colleagues have. I would encourage you to have a conversation with your manager or HR Manager and ensure clear objectives are agreed to support your development. As Glassdoor forms part of our employee listening strategy, your feedback will be shared with the appropriate people to help us continuously improve.

  10. "My Thoughts On SGN"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Support Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working here is interesting and keeps bringing new challenges. In my roll every day is different. I appreciate some rolls might not be as varied, however there are plenty of opportunities to progress and find new challenges within SGN. SGN is also making changes to the way we work and making our working practices fit for the present and future. This is proving to be an interesting and rewarding journey. Additionally over the next twenty or thirty years the UK gas industry could potentially see changes that are even more far reaching than the introduction of natural gas last century. I could not think of a more exciting industry to work in.

    Cons

    Change can bring worry, but it is better to view change as an opportunity.

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    June 28, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks very much for the five-star review! We couldn’t agree more that the gas industry is an exciting place to be! With the variety of roles on offer and plenty of opportunities for progression it’s the perfect time to join SGN!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 26 Reviews

Popular Careers with SGN Job Seekers

Team Manager
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at SGN? Share Your Experiences

SGN logo
or