SGN Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SGN Reviews

Updated 28 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
SGN CEO John Morea
John Morea
60 Ratings
  1. "excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Call Operative in Aldershot, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    management very supportive and commited to staff

    Cons

    vehicle supply, theory training dates availability

    SGN2020-03-28
  2. "Governance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Audit in Horley, Oxfordshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people and opportunities for next two decades

    Cons

    Difficult location but offset by online meeting

    Continue reading
    SGN2020-01-11

    SGN Response

    January 17, 2020Employee Experience Officer

    Thank you for your five-star review. Online meetings are helping us to reduce travel and work smarter, we've had a lot of positive feedback about this. And we couldn't agree more about the great people and opportunities!

    Continue reading
  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Ashford, Kent, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are structures in place to help you move up the different pay scales Progression is there if you want it You have targets to achieve but you are also in charge of your own workload

    Cons

    Can be quite stressful having to rely on others to be able to successfully do your job

    SGN2020-01-07

    SGN Response

    January 17, 2020Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks so much for your recent review. It's great to read such positive comments from someone early into their career at SGN. Like you highlighted, there's lots of scope for progression here which we hope you enjoy throughout your career with us.

    Continue reading
  4. "A job for life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Call Operative in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you're a grafter, can follow procedures & instructions, and eager to earn good money, this job is right up your street. Answer your phone when on call and you can expect £50k + per annum without even trying.

    Cons

    Long hours - but you're financially compensated very well. Core hours work life balance is good if you're satisfied with the basic salary. This is NOT a role for a lazy individual who wants to get paid for nothing.

    Continue reading
    SGN2019-11-23

    SGN Response

    November 26, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to share your views! The role of First Call Operative is incredibly important and we realise it can be demanding so it's important we compensate fairly for this. It's great to hear you consider SGN a job for life and we hope you enjoy a long and fulfilling career with us.

    Continue reading
  5. Featured Review

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Test Manager in Portsmouth, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Its a dynamic business, really up and coming in their technology, a fast paced and exciting place to work at the sharp end of today's technology. I find most the people here are really down to earth, minimising on the fluff and jargon, they actually get on with the work! I am well supported by my manager and I feel appreciated. Incredibly busy, but the work life balance is good! It is still early days in the business, but so far so good.

    Cons

    Its a bit chaotic at times, lots going on. Office is very industrial and dated compared to other businesses I have worked in, limited on facilities, basic canteen, no gym and located in an industrial estate.

    SGN2019-09-23

    SGN Response

    November 6, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks so much for leaving us a review. It's great to hear you think SGN is a great company to work for! We hope you continue to enjoy working here and being part of the SGN family.

    Continue reading
  6. "Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Gas Engineer 

    I have been working at SGN full-time

    Pros

    Pay is good and people friendly

    Cons

    Don't have any issues with them

    SGN2019-08-03

    SGN Response

    September 2, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks for your five-star review. It's great to hear you only have good things to say about working here. We hope your journey at SGN continues to be a positive one.

    Continue reading
  7. "Gas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Gas Operative in Dundee, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and good career opportunities

    Cons

    There is none so far I’ve only just started

    SGN2019-06-24

    SGN Response

    August 14, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really value employee feedback! It's great to hear that your experience so far has been positive and we hope you have a long and happy career at SGN.

    Continue reading
  8. "My Thoughts On SGN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Support Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working here is interesting and keeps bringing new challenges. In my roll every day is different. I appreciate some rolls might not be as varied, however there are plenty of opportunities to progress and find new challenges within SGN. SGN is also making changes to the way we work and making our working practices fit for the present and future. This is proving to be an interesting and rewarding journey. Additionally over the next twenty or thirty years the UK gas industry could potentially see changes that are even more far reaching than the introduction of natural gas last century. I could not think of a more exciting industry to work in.

    Cons

    Change can bring worry, but it is better to view change as an opportunity.

    Continue reading
    SGN2019-06-17

    SGN Response

    June 28, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks very much for the five-star review! We couldn’t agree more that the gas industry is an exciting place to be! With the variety of roles on offer and plenty of opportunities for progression it’s the perfect time to join SGN!

    Continue reading
  9. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work responsibilities Work life balance Excellent support for success

    Cons

    Organic growth opportunities are limited

    SGN2019-06-16

    SGN Response

    June 28, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thank you for your recent review - we love hearing that you think we’re a great employer! As you mentioned, depending on the business area you work in, organic growth opportunities can be limited but we hope by focusing on talent and succession planning, this will improve. There are lots of great things about working at SGN and we hope you continue to enjoy them!

    Continue reading
  10. "Team leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Dundee, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good teams, high work morale.

    Cons

    Very long hours especially in the winter.

    SGN2019-06-14

    SGN Response

    June 28, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks a million for your rating and review! Winter is our busiest time which means the demand on our people can increase considerably. We want to make sure we strike a balance that works for our business and our people so we’re reviewing our arrangements for managing working time and fatigue in conjunction with our Trade Union representatives. It’s great to hear that you’ve got a great team and morale is high in Dundee! Thanks again for your review.

    Continue reading
Found 108 reviews
</>Embed