SGN Reviews

Updated 7 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 140 of over 150 reviews

3.4
49%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
SGN CEO John Morea
John Morea
74 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits and good career opportunities(in 10 reviews)

  • "Amazing training, management team are brilliant, never bored, great people to work with(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Very long hours especially in the winter(in 10 reviews)

  • "The senior management team never seem to listen(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Horley SGN

      7 Jun 2021 - Network Planning and Analysis in Horley, Surrey, South East England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team! The people make the place - especially the managers of the Third-party connections

      Cons

      Not ideal for a career - Unless you specialise in the field

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Toxic place to work

      19 May 2021 - Administrative Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None at the time I left, it went downhill over a number of years

      Cons

      Horrendously cliquey, you have to be in with the gang with higher management and even then watch your back. Absolutely ruthless managers

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SGN Response

      Employee Experience Coordinator

      Thank you for sharing your experience of working at SGN and I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t feel your time with us was overall positive. We hope you had the opportunity to discuss this with a member of our HR team before you left. If not, I would encourage you to get in touch with me confidentially so that we can understand, from your perspective, what we can do to improve the culture in your department. You can reach me on 07773 250780 or Sophie.Krempasky@sgn.co.uk.

    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Crap

      11 May 2021 - Team Leader in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are absolutely none at all

      Cons

      Everything about the company is bad

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SGN Response

      Employee Experience Coordinator

      Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review. Our recent employee opinion survey revealed a number of things our colleagues like about working at SGN including the opportunities for progression, the fantastic people, the job security and our commitment to safety to name a few. We’re sorry to hear you can’t relate to these experiences and you’ve not enjoyed working with us the last 8+ years. If there are any suggested improvements on what we can do to improve, please share with your manager or HR manager. Thanks again and hope you stay safe and well.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work in

      28 Apr 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Care for employee’s progression. Work life balance

      Cons

      Aging company. Need more ideas in dying industry

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SGN Response

      Employee Experience Coordinator

      Many thanks for taking the time to leave your great review. We’re so pleased to hear you’ve had a positive progression experience with us – we really value our employees’ knowledge and skillset and want to support any development where possible! Now more than ever, we’re looking for new ideas to allow us to continue innovating and improving our processes. If you have any ideas on how we can improve, please get in touch with your manager and be sure to keep your eye on SGNapp this month! Thanks again for your review and hope you continue to stay safe and well.

    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company but lack opp

      21 Apr 2021 - Finance Business Partner in Horley, Surrey, South East England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people to work around Allows you to make mistake and learn from them

      Cons

      Political Leadership and management is not so diverse

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SGN Response

      Employee Experience Coordinator

      Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We agree that we have some great people working at SGN and are pleased to hear you’re able to learn and grow within your role. Job progression can be quite limited in some areas, but we’re committed to developing and progressing our employees where possible. Consider speaking to your manager about your aspirations and working on a development plan to help achieve your goals. We acknowledge that diversity in leader and management roles is limited and we’re working towards attracting diverse talent to work alongside the great people we already have. We recently commissioned an external specialist to conduct an EDI audit to identify opportunities to achieve greater equality, diversity, and inclusion. We’ll be building their recommendations into our D&I action plan which will help us accelerate progress in this area. Many thanks again for your review and your time working with us.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good place

      13 Apr 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice teams and decent pay

      Cons

      Your personal time ain’t yours

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SGN Response

      Employee Experience Coordinator

      Thanks for taking the time to leave your positive review. We agree that we have some great people working for us and are pleased to hear you’re satisfied with our compensation! We want to ensure that our colleagues overall have a good work/life balance whilst mitigating the risk of fatigue. We appreciate your feedback and hope you continue to enjoy your time working with us.

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Good as a starting job but not a good long term employer

      12 Apr 2021 - Network Analyst in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      *Good rate of pay *SGN helps graduates with minimal working experience and gives them an opportunity to gain industry skills and knowledge

      Cons

      (SGN are currently going through major changes which has resulted in many dissatisfied people. I would have rated SGN 4 star 2 years ago) *Too much work and not enough employees (they have advised they will not be employee new staff) *Very stressful working environment and asking for help does not resolve issue as there is no one to help with workload. *There is a Policy for temps to be made permanent after 3 year. This is not implemented. *HR does not give anyone the time of day and will ignore your emails and questions. *There is 2 main contracts in SGN (old and new employees) the difference between these contracts are very significant

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SGN Response

      Employee Experience Coordinator

      Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We’re pleased to hear you’re satisfied with your compensation package and the training opportunities we provide. While we appreciate change can be daunting and sometimes unwelcome, it’s often necessary to ensure we can continue to deliver a great service to our customers and a bright future for our network. We hope colleagues can embrace the changes currently underway and welcome the opportunities that come with them. The wellbeing of our people is our absolute priority so if you feel your workload is unmanageable, please highlight this with your manager to set out achievable priorities. While it’s a common misconception, our policy for agency staff states that after 3 years, the decision to move agency staff to permanent is a consideration and not automatic. The decision to make an employee permanent will always be based around our business requirements. It’s been a busy year for all our people, in particular colleagues in the HR department who have been working tirelessly to help support our colleagues working at home, in the field, and in offices. If you’d like to share feedback about your experience with HR you can contact me confidentially at Duncan.Botham@sgn.co.uk. Many thanks, and hope you continue to keep safe and well.

    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Cuts are coming

      1 Apr 2021 - FCO in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay (at the moment)

      Cons

      Not any opportunity for progression unless you're friends with management or family. (Family members seem to progress much quicker than others) Rota has changed to allow maximum of 16 hours working which is a plus. Constant changes to rotas doest allow myself or my family to make arrangements for childcare or to plan my life outside of work. Overtime is slowly being killed. Few years time will probably be none existent. Therefore pay will go down. Can see SGN making Saturday a normal day so no uplift. Multiple shift times which is meant to be for fatigue reasons. But how is my body meant to adjust to 6 different shift start times. If anything I'll be more fatigued. I can't just sleep when I tell my body too unfortunately. Its all money saving tactics. Engineer morale is low. Communication is poor. Wouldnt be surprised if they try british gas tactics and threaten fire and rehire. SGN good days are over sadly.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SGN Response

      Employee Experience Coordinator

      Thanks for taking the time to leave your honest feedback. We’re pleased to hear you’re satisfied with our compensation package and concerned by some of your comments about progression. We understand job progression in some areas can be quite limited and it's not always possible to achieve some aspirations, but we’re committed to ensuring equality of opportunity and making sure our processes are fair and objective. We’ve recently commissioned an external specialist to conduct an EDI audit with a view to identifying opportunities to achieve greater equality, diversity and inclusion in our policies and processes. As part of this audit, The Equal Group would like to speak to colleagues representing different business areas to better understand experiences and views on D&I. If it’s something you’d be interested in, please get in touch as soon as possible so I can provide you with more information and arrange a time for you to speak with them. You can reach me at Sophie.Krempasky@sgn.co.uk

    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Sgn

      29 Mar 2021 - Gas Engineer in Coatbridge, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None would advise looking for a job here

      Cons

      Can only progress within the company if you know someone even if you have only done the job a year

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SGN Response

      Employee Experience Coordinator

      Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review. Job progression is normally an area where we get lots of positive feedback, but we understand progression in some areas can be quite limited which can be frustrating. If you haven’t already, I would encourage you to speak to your manager or HR Manager to find out what development opportunities are available and how they might be able to support you. I’d also like to invite you to take part in an interview as part of an EDI audit we’re currently undertaking. This would be an opportunity for you to have a confidential discussion with a diversity and inclusion specialist to share your experiences and views and help us achieve greater equality, diversity and inclusion in our policies and processes. If you’d like to know more or you’re keen to take part, please let me know as soon as possible at Sophie.Krempasky@sgn.co.uk so I can arrange a time for you to speak with them.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      SGN Review

      27 Mar 2021 - Support Engineer in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good work life balance at SGN.

      Cons

      Career progression has proved difficult

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SGN Response

      Employee Experience Coordinator

      Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. Wellbeing and flexibility are areas we’re continually improving, especially during COVID-19, so it's great to hear you have a good work/life balance. If you’re finding that career progression is proving difficult consider speaking to your manager or HR Manager to find out what development opportunities are available, and how they might be able to support you. There are also some great resources on People Portal including an eLearning package on personal development plans and you’ll find a template for this on DigitalHub. We hope you’re staying safe and that your journey at SGN continues to be a positive one.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 140 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with SGN Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at SGN? Share Your Experiences

    SGN logo
    or