SGN Reviews

Updated 28 Apr 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
54%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
SGN CEO John Morea
John Morea
74 Ratings
  1. COVID-19

    "Great Company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Aldershot, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Company, great benefits...SGN has really supported all of their employees through Covid-19...all in all a great place to work

    Cons

    No cons to report at present

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    September 7, 2020Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review and give your feedback - we're so pleased to hear your experience working at SGN during Covid-19 has been positive and you felt supported in SGN's response. It’s also great to hear you're enjoying the wide offers of employee benefits. We're committed to continuously improving and look forward to lots more positive change ahead. Thanks again for your feedback.

  2. "SGN Champion"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administration Manager in Luton, East of England, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    friendly and supportive team to work with

    Cons

    located in London, quite far from my location

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    September 7, 2020Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We’re delighted to hear you’re enjoying working at SGN and that you have a great relationship with your team. We want to ensure all our managers and leaders have the skills to manage high performing teams, and that’s why we are continuing to roll out our Manager and Leader Essentials programmes. Thank you for your 8+ years of service at SGN and wishing you all the best for the future.


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good opportunity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Environment and Sustainability in London, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SGN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can do attitude, lots of staff and support

    Cons

    Slow to change like trying to turn a large ship

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    September 7, 2020Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review and give your feedback - we're so pleased to hear your experience working at SGN has been positive and supportive. We recognise ‘the pace of change’ at SGN can sometimes be slow because we're a regulated business with safety and process considerations to make. We're committed to continuously improving and look forward to lots more positive change ahead. Thanks again for your contribution and feedback.

  4. "Good terms and conditions"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FCO in Gosport, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SGN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work wit

    Cons

    long hours aldo working at the weekend

    SGN Response

    September 7, 2020Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review and give your feedback - we're so pleased to hear your experience working at SGN has been positive. The work our FCOs do is so important so it’s great to hear how much you enjoy working for SGN. We understand that our standby arrangements can have an impact on work-life balance and we’re working to explore how we might be able to make changes in this area. Thank you for your 10+ years of service at SGN and wishing you all the best for the future.

  5. "Good company, some issues"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good friendly people across the full of SGN. Progression is good however this isn't across the board, some managers lack understanding in this and I have noticed this over the years. There are good benefits and flexibility in working hours to maintain a work life balance - again this isnt across the board. There are many internal jobs that literally anyone within SGN can apply and this is encouraged. Line managers are really helpful and want to better you and your career. Good networking opportunities across the business and external.

    Cons

    Senior management are more focused on bettering themselves than the wider team. A lot of new projects and resource is always stretched without thinking about how this effects the rest team who need to pick up more work - hire more people and this wont be an issue. Departments all work differently and it's difficult to get work done as slow engagement. Heavy workload and a lot is expected of you. Not enough modern technology to support employees working in depot/offices, very behind compared to other companies . Meetings are always far too long and annoying when you have to travel far. A lot of culture differences across scotland and southern. Depots/offices are in poor locations and some very old inside. Employee surveys to share thoughts but not the right questions being asked

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    November 6, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks for your recent review! As you highlighted in your review, there are lots of great things about working at SGN like the fantastic people, benefits and development opportunities but there are also lots of areas we need to improve in. Many of your concerns were highlighted in our recent employee opinion survey and our managers and leaders will be reviewing the feedback and exploring possible solutions to some of these in the months to follow.

  6. "salary"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Reading, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    gets paid monthly and on time

    Cons

    doesn't pay enough compared to industry

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    November 10, 2020Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to leave this review and for your 10+ years of service. We appreciate pay is a common theme coming out of our employee surveys, and like many organisations, people always want more money. Recently, we did a benchmarking exercise to understand how we compare to the external market. Compensation is an emotive area and this exercise gave us valuable insight. We always want to improve our benefits and one positive step was the introduction of pension’s salary sacrifice scheme for GPPP pension scheme members, which meant as much as a 1.5% pay increase. Thank you again for sharing your feedback.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Background Checking Administrator in Horley, Surrey, South East England, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working, work from home, supportive and friendly colleagues!

    Cons

    Not applicable, I have no Cons with the Business!

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    July 22, 2020Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks so much for leaving us a review. It's great to hear such positive feedback!

  8. Helpful (4)

    "The Worst Job I have Ever Had"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rather Not Say in Horley, Surrey, South East England, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There isn't even free tea and coffee! That would be a tiny benefit that would make the day a tiny bit better. The pay is OK though, so that keeps lots of deadwood here at SGN HQ. People not going anywhere as pay is good, so people can stay in the job a long time. And if you are a BULLY, SGN is a great place to be.

    Cons

    This is the worst job I have ever had. The organisation has quite a few bullies, and if you try to do things for the benefit of consumers or the environment, you are targeted as being a trouble-maker. The manager in my section gave me a talking to when I started at SGN, basically saying that if I acted on my own initiative, I would be sacked. He ended by saying "It's my way or the high-way!" The trouble is, his way is old and outdated and breaches the rules set out by Ofgem and the HSE. And HR are truly the most biased HR team in the whole of the UK. If you are not a senior manager, then you will probably bot be listened to by HR.

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    November 25, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thank you for your recent review. I'm not sure how your view of HR has been formed but the department has undergone significant change over the past couple of years. We're committed to providing a quality service to our people and the business and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experiences further.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Undervalued"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pressure Control Craftsman in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent Pension Decent PPE Love double time on a sunday

    Cons

    Standbys are changing without consultation showing lack of respect for workforce A new work management system is replacing one that works perfectly well.... the new one does not (can only imagine someone in the office has got a pat on the back for hacking off the entire workforce) Higher management havent a clue what maintenance do, that lack of understanding leads to the whole department being completely undervalued Lack of investment in the front line business, christ we're going about in vans near 10 years old with 140,000 miles on the clock The vast majority of the department are incredibly highly skilled however the couple of incompetent engineers ruin the reputation of our department by being allowed to continuously act unsafely and incompetently by management either too personally attached or too scared to deal with them Drives for D&I are just shameless plugs to show how PC the business is, soon it will no longer be about if you're the best person for the job but if you fit the bill for the quota someone in HR needs filling

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    November 25, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave an honest review. The introduction of new rotas has proven to be a contentious topic; some colleagues welcome the changes, whereas others have reservations. Please be assured the changes have been subject to extensive consultation with TU reps who support the introduction as a means of reducing fatigue within the workforce. We have a vehicle replacement scheme in place to replace older vans with newer, fully-equipped models. Another significant investment has been made in upgrading our fleet this year with close to 200 new vans being delivered from February. And on the topic of diversity and inclusion, we recognise the benefits that come from having a diverse and inclusive workforce and we're working hard to make sure SGN attracts the widest possible pool of talent. We don't believe in quotas and will continue to make sure we recruit and advance colleagues based on their skills and experience.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good to join on high salary, impossible to progress"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Accountant in Horley, Surrey, South East England, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Good if the management like you. 2. Independence with your work 3. Flexible with time management

    Cons

    1. Difficult for staff if they do not get along with management as they will not let you move forward even if you meet objectives 2. Lack of motivation 3. Poor benefits 4. Political 5. Head of finance reporting can be difficult to work with 6. Lack of structure

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    March 4, 2020Employee Experience Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We hear lots of positive things about the many progression and development opportunities at SGN but, in some cases, it’s not possible to achieve the aspirations some colleagues have. I would encourage you to have a conversation with your manager or HR Manager and ensure clear objectives are agreed to support your development. As Glassdoor forms part of our employee listening strategy, your feedback will be shared with the appropriate people to help us continuously improve.

Viewing 21 - 30 of 139 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with SGN Job Seekers

Team Manager
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at SGN? Share Your Experiences

SGN logo
or