SGN Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SGN Reviews

Updated 19 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
SGN CEO John Morea
John Morea
58 Ratings
  1. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN part-time

    Pros

    Nice people, interesting work, supportive line manager, opportunities for development. Not micro managed. Ideas get listened to.

    Cons

    Can be frustratingly slow. Office environment is not great. Lots of unnecessarily long and dull meetings. Lots of long reports to create and read.

    Continue reading
    SGN2019-04-17

    SGN Response

    April 30, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks so much for leaving us a review, we’re delighted you think SGN is a good place to work! We appreciate your advice and understand the pace of change can be frustrating, this is often due to the highly regulated nature of our work but we are committed to improving for our colleagues and our customers. And we’d encourage you to share your feedback about meetings with your line manager. It sounds like you’ve got a great manager who is receptive to feedback so it may be something they can act on.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Strong and stable, like the Conservative Party"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time

    Pros

    If you keep your head down and work hard, after a number of years you might be allowed to watch newer employees being rewarded.

    Cons

    What can I say that hasn't already been said? Go look at the other reviews for a more in depth summary.

    SGN2019-05-10

    SGN Response

    May 28, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. A number of our reviews have highlighted that there are lots of opportunities for progression and development at SGN. We have measures in place to make sure opportunities are awarded fairly but if you don’t think this is the case please raise your concerns to your manager. It could also be beneficial to speak with your manager about your career aspirations as they may be able to offer help and support to allow you to achieve these.

    Continue reading
  3. "FCO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FCO 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SGN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Varied work can keep the job interesting , but overall not many pros

    Cons

    Certain Management have bully boy tactics but seem to be allowed to get away with it . Standby is far to excessive and not healthy working 17 hour days and being expected to go out in middle of night after that . Pay for the responsibility the job carrys is shocking. High turn over of staff yet no one questions why.

    Continue reading
    SGN2019-05-08

    SGN Response

    June 28, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Many thanks for your recent review. Please be assured that accusations of bullying and intimidating behaviour are taken extremely seriously. When issues of this nature are highlighted to our HR team they are investigated promptly and thoroughly to ensure the appropriate action is taken. With respect to your comments on standby we are currently reviewing our arrangements for managing working time and fatigue in conjunction with our Trade Union representatives. The health and welfare of our people is paramount which is why ‘safety first’ is one of our core values. Thank you for your sharing your experiences of working at SGN and wishing you all the best for your future.

    Continue reading
  4. "Status"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Dundee, Scotland

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work as part of a team

    Cons

    Called out at 3am sometimes

    SGN2019-04-17

    SGN Response

    April 30, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks very much for leaving us a review. We value all employee feedback.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - NC01 in Epsom, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Look after there staff

    Cons

    Need better vechiles and tools

    SGN2019-03-28

    SGN Response

    April 17, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks a million for your 5-star rating! Our people are the heart of our business and we couldn’t do what we do without them. On your point about company vehicles, we recently announced that the commercial fleet renewal resulted in the purchase of 181 new vans done-up to full repair team spec. Check out the ‘50 shades of...silver’ article on Digital Hub to find out more. I’ll make sure to pass on your feedback about the company tools.

    Continue reading
  6. "Working for SGN Maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Craftsperson in Fareham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Employees with wide range of backgrounds and different ages has made it an interesting place to work for me. I get on well most of my work colleagues and can tolerate the ones I'm not too keen on.

    Cons

    some of the older employees who transferred over from Transco ( formerly British Gas) are on considerably better terms and conditions and this has caused a fair bit of bad feeling over the years. But that said the company have improved Terms and conditions recently and hopefully that will continue in the future.

    Continue reading
    SGN2019-04-05

    SGN Response

    April 30, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thank you for your recent review. Like you mentioned, over the years SGN has had many faces which has resulted in some different sets of terms and conditions for our people. We’ve been working closely with colleagues and TU reps to address inconsistencies and improve our offering and feedback has been really positive. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and we’ll be sure to take this on board.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Depends on department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time

    Pros

    I’ve worked for SGN for a few years, I’ve recently changed department. My new department is excellent, constant opportunity for development, regular one to ones and pay reviews, real “community” feel within the team. Management are flexible with appointments. Everyone in the team works well together, including high management offering help and guidance, and including themselves as part of the team.

    Cons

    The old department I used to work in was completely different. There was degrading comments made from management across the board to nearly every member of staff. There was bullying from management, and other managers taking credit for work done by others lower down. Definite and obvious favouritism in the workplace - certain members of staff were over worked with little to no praise when others did bare minimum and received constant praise. No consideration for mental health/health needs. Extra work added to people who are already struggling and told they just need to deal with it, offering no help or support. Really bad work environment / morale due to atmosphere made by management.

    Continue reading
    SGN2019-03-28

    SGN Response

    April 17, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. It’s great to hear that you’re enjoying working in your new department and your new team is working well together. It’s unfortunate that your experience of working at SGN hasn’t always been so positive. The management practices you reference in your review are concerning and something we’d like to explore. It would be incredibly helpful if you could contact me confidentially to discuss further (07970 127 348/kirstin.gemmell@sgn.co.uk). And I couldn’t agree more on your point about recognition. Sincere appreciation and gratitude can make the world of difference. We’ve taken on board feedback about how our current recognition platform could be simpler and more user-friendly and we’ll be introducing a new recognition system later this year. Hopefully this will encourage more regular feedback!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Not pleasant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FCO in Portsmouth, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SGN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay rate is ok

    Cons

    Bullying , old fashioned , stuck in its ways Long hours, not much progression

    Continue reading
    SGN2019-03-27

    SGN Response

    April 17, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks for sharing your experiences of working at SGN. I hope you had the opportunity to tell us more about the less positive aspects of your employment in an exit interview before leaving. We take all claims of bullying seriously and welcome any feedback that will help us to improve. If you would like to get in touch confidentially, you can contact me on kirstin.gemmell@sgn.co.uk/07970 127 348. Wishing you all the best for the future.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Retiral review after 42 years in industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Dunfermline, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Variety of work, scope for advancement through manual staff levels, pay & benefits,

    Cons

    Work / life balance expectations, work ethos, senior managers targets / new work practices training & managers / teams honest assessments of these not being listened to

    Continue reading
    SGN2019-03-04

    SGN Response

    March 28, 2019HR and Services Director

    First of all, congratulations on your 42 years and on behalf of SGN, a sincere thank you for your loyalty and commitment. We appreciate you taking the opportunity to leave us a review before you go. You raise some very valid points. On the subject of work-life balance, this is a complex area as we need to maintain adequate staffing levels to achieve our standards of service while ensuring appropriate levels of rest. We must also consider that by reducing the amount of standby / overtime available to colleagues this will have a detrimental impact on earnings so it’s difficult to strike a balance that pleases everyone, especially as we’ve found that perceptions of a satisfactory work-life balance vary greatly amongst our people. We recognise this is an area where we can do better and are considering how we can improve this whilst taking into account the various challenges and differing views. Please be assured that we will take your feedback on board and wish you the very best for the future. Wishing you a long and happy retirement.

    Continue reading
  10. "Stability and prospects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time

    Pros

    Good prospects, Good stability, Good benefits, good training programme - room to progress

    Cons

    Can be a who you know not what you know when it comes to promotions etc

    SGN2019-02-22

    SGN Response

    March 13, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks so much for leaving us a review and highlighting some of the great things about working for SGN. It’s disappointing to hear you don’t always feel promotions are awarded fairly but the work we’re doing to help our managers ensure inclusive recruitment and advancement processes should resolve this.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 105 reviews
</>Embed