SGN Reviews

Updated 28 Apr 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
54%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
SGN CEO John Morea
John Morea
74 Ratings
  1. "SGN"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I have been working at SGN full-time

    Pros

    Good hours Good team to work with

    Cons

    The work can be quite boring

    SGN Response

    March 4, 2020Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a review, employee feedback is incredibly valuable to us.

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Depends on department"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time

    Pros

    I’ve worked for SGN for a few years, I’ve recently changed department. My new department is excellent, constant opportunity for development, regular one to ones and pay reviews, real “community” feel within the team. Management are flexible with appointments. Everyone in the team works well together, including high management offering help and guidance, and including themselves as part of the team.

    Cons

    The old department I used to work in was completely different. There was degrading comments made from management across the board to nearly every member of staff. There was bullying from management, and other managers taking credit for work done by others lower down. Definite and obvious favouritism in the workplace - certain members of staff were over worked with little to no praise when others did bare minimum and received constant praise. No consideration for mental health/health needs. Extra work added to people who are already struggling and told they just need to deal with it, offering no help or support. Really bad work environment / morale due to atmosphere made by management.

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    April 17, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. It’s great to hear that you’re enjoying working in your new department and your new team is working well together. It’s unfortunate that your experience of working at SGN hasn’t always been so positive. The management practices you reference in your review are concerning and something we’d like to explore. It would be incredibly helpful if you could contact me confidentially to discuss further (07970 127 348/kirstin.gemmell@sgn.co.uk). And I couldn’t agree more on your point about recognition. Sincere appreciation and gratitude can make the world of difference. We’ve taken on board feedback about how our current recognition platform could be simpler and more user-friendly and we’ll be introducing a new recognition system later this year. Hopefully this will encourage more regular feedback!


  3. "Governance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Audit in Horley, Oxfordshire, South East England, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people and opportunities for next two decades

    Cons

    Difficult location but offset by online meeting

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    January 17, 2020Employee Experience Officer

    Thank you for your five-star review. Online meetings are helping us to reduce travel and work smarter, we've had a lot of positive feedback about this. And we couldn't agree more about the great people and opportunities!

  4. "Not great but not bad"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Labor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The money is good if your willing to give up any other social life/hobbies you have

    Cons

    If your good at your job there's no progression offered, management will tread on any one to make them self's look good, 0 work to live balance with the "if you don't like it leave" attitude.

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    February 10, 2020Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. If you're interested in progression, I would encourage you to speak to your manager or local HR Manager and find out how they can help. We take on board your feedback about work-life balance; the recent changes to shift patterns are helping us to strike a balance that works for our business and our people. This can be difficult, especially in winter, as it's our busiest time but we're hearing lots of good things and welcome feedback from affected colleagues.

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Staff should be the heart of this business"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support in Horley, Surrey, South East England, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Majority of staff are extremely genuine and good to work with

    Cons

    When speaking with other staff at SGN everyone sounds so downtrodden, underpaid and overworked seems the mantra here - old school managers that really need to be brought into this century - so many layers to the contracts here, no one is on the same which leads to a massive divide -

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    August 14, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We couldn’t agree more with the subject of your review, putting people at the heart is one of our values and part of the SGN Way. Over the past few months our HR and Services Director has carried out a number of workshops with our people to find out what’s working well and where we could improve. The sessions revealed a lot of interesting insights and perspectives with many participants commenting on how great a place SGN is to work. We know there’s always room for improvement and we’ll be inviting colleagues to share their views in our employee opinion survey next month.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Do not not even apply!!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Newbridge, Scotland, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you are friends or family member of construction/engineering/general/senior managers within the company you will progress you career quite quickly.

    Cons

    If you do not posses the Pros you are on your own (and watch your back) the "gas gods" of old relish a disciplinary.

    Continue reading
  7. "Good place to learn and good opportunity to work with expert and gain great skills."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training FCO in Reading, England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    SGN looks after the employees and their safety very well. Good company to expand your knowledge and gain skills.

    Cons

    I didn’t see any yet because I just started 4 months ago.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company and Team"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone helps each other, I am treated like a grown up, SGN invest in me and support me with my professional ambitions. SGN support the outward bound trust and allow its employers to go away with the trust as a mentor to the students.

    Cons

    Company car process is a pain. Pool cars are of limited choice and you may be lumbered with it for a year or so. IT - delivery of equipment for new starters is slow which leaves them sitting on their thumbs a-bit in the first few weeks PPE - really slow but hopefully a new ordering process has sorted that one out

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    May 28, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We couldn’t agree with you more on the point about our people being our greatest asset. We have a number of great initiatives for our people to get involved in and the Outward Bound Trust is one example of this. As you highlighted, there are areas we can get quicker and smarter so I’ll be sure to pass your feedback on.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Varied work"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Poole, England, England

    I worked at SGN part-time

    Pros

    Option to buy additional leave Busy role

    Cons

    Understaffed so can get stressful

    SGN Response

    May 12, 2020Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks for leaving us a review and for helping to look after our customers during your time at SGN! The Customer Experience team is a great place to work but it can be incredibly busy, especially when an incident occurs. We really value the work this team, and all of our teams do to keep our customers safe and warm and lead the way in energy delivery. Wishing you the very best for the future.

  10. Helpful (4)

    "The worst job I have ever held."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portsmouth, South East England, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SGN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have no pros to this job - see my advice to management.

    Cons

    Dishonest, duplicitous, illegal and unethical. I hope that they get bitten by karma very, very hard.

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    November 25, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    We are concerned by some of the claims made in your review and have taken some time to make enquiries and establish what happened. The course that you were enrolled in is a lengthy training programme which ultimately equips trainees with the knowledge and skills to perform a business critical role. Running this course requires a considerable investment from SGN both in terms of time and resource so in cases where colleagues don't display the appropriate behaviours and attitude during training, they are withdrawn from the course. We understand you are frustrated and disappointed with this decision but want to make clear your contract was not terminated for any of the reasons you have speculated. We wish you all the best for the future.

Viewing 41 - 50 of 139 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with SGN Job Seekers

Team Manager
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at SGN? Share Your Experiences

SGN logo
or