SGN "job for life" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SGN Employee Reviews about "job for life"

Updated 8 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 90 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
SGN CEO John Morea
John Morea
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is a good benefits site with discounts for most of the high street retailers(in 6 reviews)

  • "While I wouldn't guarantee this is a 'job for life' there is a degree of stability in the utility industry when compared to offshore work etc(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and trying to balance family life can be hard(in 6 reviews)

  • "Bit more e-learning would benefit, paper qualifications and interest from the senior management would benefit all sides(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "job for life"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "SGN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Performance Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Job for life if you want it

    Cons

    Can be old fashioned at times

    Continue reading
    SGN2019-04-23

    SGN Response

    May 28, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks so much for leaving us a review, we appreciate your feedback! We recognise that some of our processes and procedures are in need of modernisation but we've got a number of initiatives underway, in HR and IT in particular. It will take time for these changes to be implemented and embedded but will help to make things more efficient for all of our people.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Working at SGN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FCO in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've been in the gas industry for around 32 years now,14 with SGN. Fantastic company to work for, salary is great,wirk is varied and interesting with a healthy outlook on safety in regards our workforce and the general public. Work hard,keep your nose clean and you will have a job for life with great opportunity's for advancement within different streams of the company. Great terms and conditions with a very forward looking CEO.

    Cons

    Long hours and trying to balance family life can be hard .

    Continue reading
    SGN2018-11-12

    SGN Response

    November 22, 2018Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks so much for leaving such a positive review. The work our FCOs do is so important so it’s fantastic to hear how much you enjoy your role and working for SGN. We understand that our standby arrangements can have an impact on work-life balance and we’re working with our TU colleagues to explore how we might be able to make changes in this area.

    Continue reading
  3. "Rewarding but some improvement in HR management required"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at SGN full-time

    Pros

    The work is interesting and have others have mentioned there is often a lot of room for mobility between departments and the ability to widen your experience of different aspects of the company. While I wouldn't guarantee this is a 'job for life' there is a degree of stability in the utility industry when compared to offshore work etc.

    Cons

    Pay and benefits are reasonable however due to the history of the company (perhaps unavoidable) there is a great deal of fragmentation in contract conditions for people doing the same job.

    Continue reading
    SGN2018-11-13

    SGN Response

    December 13, 2018Employee Experience Officer

    Many thanks for your recent review. We are currently in the process of simplifying our salary progression forms and hope that the new format will mean that salary progression is more transparent for employees and managers. And we completely agree with your comments about the work we do; it is really interesting, and it makes a big impact.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good company and people but some HR improvements needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time

    Pros

    Good people and very supportive. If you are a good worker you have a job for life.

    Cons

    Some departments are very bad with salary progression and putting you in the correct salary bands for your role which can be disheartening to say the least.

    Continue reading
    SGN2017-11-06

    SGN Response

    November 22, 2017Employee Experience Team

    Thanks for your posting your review. You’re right about the people at SGN, great people and strong teamwork is a consistent positive theme from our employee engagement surveys. It’s our people that deliver an excellent experience for our customers and our ambition in HR is to make our employee experience every bit as good as the best customer experience we provide. I’m sorry to hear that your secondment has not delivered everything you hoped in terms of recognition. This is not how we want to operate, but you’ll see from some of our responses below that we’re making big changes to our people processes over the next few months. I’ve spoken to the relevant HR Manager and discussions with the relevant people are already underway.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (5)

    "My review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at SGN full-time

    Pros

    This job is a job for life people are nice who you work with and good pension and decent benefits

    Cons

    Managers are not nice treat you like dirt no thanks for working hard har hard hard hard hard hard hard hard

    Continue reading
    SGN2017-09-18

    SGN Response

    October 11, 2017Employee Experience Team

    Thanks for your contribution and feedback. We value all reviews as they help us to improve. We’ve got some great people working at SGN and you’re right, lots of good benefits. We’re going through considerable change within the company. In HR we’ve got some new faces tasked with modernising many of our HR practices. Our Head of Talent and Development has a focus on management and leadership development. This will help address some of the old-style management styles you alluded to. We do recognition well – but like everything, we can improve. SGN Way Awards is part of Select, our recognition system. We average more than 150 nominations every month and its growing in popularity. 10/10s is another great way for customers to say thanks to our hard-working colleagues. We welcome any ideas to improve recognition. Thanks again for your feedback.

    Continue reading
Found 90 reviews