SSG Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SSG Reviews

Updated 4 Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Steven L. Steinheimer
11 Ratings
  1. "A local conglomerate with untapped potentials"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Dhaka
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SSG full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Huge scope of work due to process backlog Intention to employ skilled professionals

    Cons

    Top Management unaware of current market trends Less/no work-process mapping Top Management dependency upon inexperienced Advisors due to personal relationships Less/no structured employee benefits Only 1 day Weekly holiday

    Advice to Management

    Just employing skilled professionals is not enough. They should be able to work. In each case, top management's decision is Final will not get the company far. Autonomy works only so much.

    SSG2019-02-04
  2. "Good Company with Good Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at SSG full-time

      Pros

      Good Salary perfect work envirnoment

      Cons

      remote area needs a car

      SSG2018-07-13
    • Helpful (1)

      "Admin"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at SSG full-time

      Pros

      None none none none none

      Cons

      Bad management awful wages never paid on time

      Advice to Management

      Grow up quit being selfish and greedy

      SSG2018-06-26
    • "The BEST Place to Work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at SSG full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great culture. Open workplace. Able to carve out your own area of expertise and career path. Opportunities for advancement. Mentoring, coaching, and training at all levels. Flexible work and cool technology. Get to work with the latest software tools and development methodologies. Huge emphasis on communication within and among teams leveraging group discussions, social media, and knowledge sharing tools. Fun cook-outs...

      Show More

      Cons

      We are in it for the long-term. No fancy titles. No get rich quick scheme.

      Advice to Management

      Aim high. You've got a team that will walk through walls to be the best!

      SSG2015-09-02
    • Helpful (7)

      "Poor Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at SSG

        Pros

        The culture is great. Work is good. Lots of opportunity to learn

        Cons

        Poor management. Made bad business decisions. Have gone through multiple layoff cycles when business is slow.

        SSG2015-09-22
      • Helpful (3)

        "Good company, great people"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richardson, TX
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I have been working at SSG full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        I haven't worked at a place with cooler coworkers than SSG. You can't make somewhat offensive jokes with your manager at a lot of companies. Because it's small, you know everyone pretty well, and (generally speaking) bad people don't get hired, or don't last very long. Because it's consulting work, you end up doing a variety of different roles, and it's pretty easy to find a niche.

        Cons

        Because of the smaller company size, salary isn't quite up to what you'd make at a larger company. Also, since the scope of work is pretty specific, there's a potential of things becoming somewhat repetitive.

        Advice to Management

        It's really hard to be a manager at a company of such small size...any big decisions are going to affect people you see on a daily basis. It would be nice to have a higher emphasis on sales to new clients (although good steps have already been made in this direction). Also, partly due to the size, gossip (especially from management) spreads basically instantly, and has the potential for causing problems.

        SSG2015-08-07
      • Helpful (3)

        "Great Company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at SSG

        Pros

        I've worked at several companies and this one if by far the best. My co-workers are very talented and care about their work. Management constantly communicates all information both good and bad on the state of the company. Everyone's opinion matters at SSG and everyone can make a difference in how the company is run. Great perks as well such as stocked break room, flexible hours, and ability to work from home.

        Cons

        Have had some trouble growing effectively but this is a struggle for a lot of companies.

        SSG2015-08-03
      • Helpful (1)

        "SSG"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Consultant in Richardson, TX
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at SSG

        Pros

        I have worked for a few consulting companies and this is the best one by far. Management does a great job being 100% transparent, delivering good and bad news. This information is delivered via weekly Friday calls and quarterly business reviews. I meet with my manager at least on a quarterly basis to discuss issues/concerns. SSG has a lot of fun, and I feel like I matter. Very different from other consulting companies.

        Cons

        Is it possible to overly communicate?

        SSG2015-05-15
      • Helpful (6)

        "Sinking Ship"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at SSG

        Pros

        Some decent people, decent members of technical staff

        Cons

        Absent and ineffective executive leadership

        SSG2015-06-12
      • Helpful (6)

        "Beware"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Former Employee - Consultant in Richardson, TX
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at SSG

        Pros

        Break room and beer - if that is a pro

        Cons

        No business, lack of leadership, layoffs with no severance. Layoffs every 2 weeks since they aren't making payroll.

        Advice to Management

        Quit going to conferences and try to run the company! Stop hiring and shrink the company to a size you can handle - like 15 employees. I guess you will get that way slowly, by laying 3 people off each pay cycle.

        SSG2015-06-08
      Found 16 reviews