SThree Reviews

Updated 11 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
SThree CEO Mark Dorman (no image)
Mark Dorman
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Not too overly complex work; like the work environment and coworkers(in 22 reviews)

  • "work hard play hard’ environment you will thrive(in 16 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Highly recommend for career progression!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SThree full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great career progression path Encouraging environment Excellent rewards/benefits scheme

    Cons

    Working against other agencies within our company

    SThree2020-01-15

    SThree Response

    January 17, 2020Employer Branding

    I'm so glad to hear about your experience with SThree - thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts!

  2. "Great place to cut your teeth, but not the company it once was!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SThree full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You can earn a lot of money You can build a successful career if everything goes your way

    Cons

    This is not a bitter ex- employee trying to bad mouth S3, just to give prospective employees a realistic view of what to expect in recruitment as a whole and the way S3 works. The job is tough, regardless of where you work, long hours, constant rejection from companies, draconian style KPI’s to hit which hinders more than helps you achieve the end goal. The reality is very few succeed in recruitment and make good money, for example a team of 15 recruiters all working different markets, only a max of 3 will earn six figure salaries, the other 12 will either struggle or bill average amounts which will earn you a half decent salary, not enough to warrant the stuff you’ll have to deal with and the time invested. If you earn less than £40k in recruitment it’s not worth the stress, I promise you!!! Working as an agency recruiter is getting tougher as more agencies flood the market and companies work smarter to recruit in-house teams to save money. SThree are quite stubborn in the way they work, they will not embrace new ways of communicating and dealing with clients. As you build up your client base through sheer hard work, your manager will find a way to ruin the relationship to their own advantage to prop up the figures, by being too greedy on fees. As a result, you’ll lose repeat business and rely solely on new business, you’ll need both to be successful in this job. You'll need to be made of strong stuff, even the most resilient of people will struggle when the pressure mounts to bill every month to do placements . Under achievers don’t last, you need to be mentally strong, determined, shrewd and smart in the way you work. Recruiters generally are not nice people, accept that and focus on what you’re doing, recruiters will throw you under a bus to gain an advantage over you. If you bill well, for example 5-10 deals per month, then the money will slowly roll in, lunch clubs, trips abroad, fancy cars and the like. You’ll also look forward to rising through the ranks and promotion will quickly follow, based on billings mainly, not whether you can actually manage a team of recruiters. I would strongly advise if looking to get into recruitment for the first time, then you need to choose wisely which firm you work for, as the wrong decision could see you spiralling out of control and job hop from recruiter to another recruiter very quickly. This is because you are given less time to succeed/bill as you gain more experience. Having said that, I worked with a consultant at S3 who did not bill for 12 months, left then went to a competitor and has been a top biller for the last 5 years and is now a Director. So if it doesn't work out, there is a chance you'll flourish elsewhere. SThree is not the company it once was say 10-15 years ago, the commission structure was excellent then and the brand was sought after in the market, the elite recruiters all worked at SThree. Due to the working practices of various recruiters (past and present), and the pressures to meet certain rigid KPI’s means recruiters are forced to do unnecessary emails and phone calls in volume which irritates clients, which has meant the brand now has a negative reputation in the market. To restore S3 to the previous glory years and attract the best recruiters, it needs to improve the commission model OR offer a higher basic salary, and be more flexible/adaptable to change in the way it operates in the market place.

    Continue reading
    SThree2020-04-29
  3. "No diversification at management level"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior SAP Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SThree full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salaries above market and good work/life balance

    Cons

    Too slow to apply innovations

    Continue reading
    SThree2020-03-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SThree full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great platform to build your business

    Cons

    Commission structure is rather poor in relation to other firms

    SThree2019-11-18

    SThree Response

    November 19, 2019Employer Branding

    Thanks so much for your feedback - I'm so glad to hear you are enjoying your experience with SThree! As a global recruitment business, we're currently reviewing our pay and commission structure at every level. We're passionate about making sure our people are rewarded appropriately for the great work they do and recognise the importance of continuously reviewing this.

  5. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SThree full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    work-life balance, holidays, collaborative work culture

    Cons

    lack of engagement frim business heads

    SThree2019-10-25

    SThree Response

    November 19, 2019Employer Branding

    Thanks so much for your feedback - I'm so glad to hear you are enjoying your experience with SThree!

  6. "Great Place to learn youur trade"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SThree full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Highly Structured training plan Fun social environment Awesome CRM

    Cons

    Terrible commission Not the best reputation in the market.

    Continue reading
    SThree2019-10-20

    SThree Response

    November 19, 2019Employer Branding

    Thanks for getting in touch with us. As a global recruitment business, we're currently reviewing our pay and commission structure at every level. We're passionate about making sure our people are rewarded appropriately for the great work they do and recognise the importance of continuously reviewing this. Thanks for sharing your comments with us, this really does help us to make SThree a great place to work!

  7. "Good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SThree full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for due to: Great people Ambitious company Internal opportunities Good incentives Strong culture

    Cons

    Sometimes it was about who you got on with rather than how well you performed

    SThree2019-09-02

    SThree Response

    September 20, 2019Employer Branding

    I'm so glad to hear about your experience with SThree - thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts! It's great to hear that you're enjoying working at SThree! We've worked hard to create a positive environment in which our people feel supported throughout their career - so it's amazing to hear how much you enjoy our inclusive and sociable culture.

  8. "Good Place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SThree full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People genuinely care about employees

    Cons

    No major concerns or issues

    SThree2019-08-09

    SThree Response

    September 20, 2019Employer Branding

    Thanks so much for your feedback - I'm so glad to hear you're enjoying your time at SThree!

  9. "Sthree has a great culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Candidate Resourcer in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SThree full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great culture, good incentives such as free bar events and lunches.

    Cons

    pay was quite low for what we were bringing in

    SThree2019-07-16

    SThree Response

    August 7, 2019Employer Branding

    Thanks so much for your feedback - I'm so glad to hear your time at SThree! We're proud to have a culture that rewards our people for the great work they do.

  10. "Review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SThree full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Excellent training and development - Good support from managers and people around you - Family feel - Clear progression - Lots of opportunities and different career paths to take within the business - Amazing incentives

    Cons

    - Not many cons that i can think of from my time there - Some managers throughout the business can be very numbers focused

    SThree2019-07-01

    SThree Response

    July 19, 2019Employer Branding

    I'm so glad to hear that you're enjoying the training at SThree! Our learning and development team are always looking at ways our training programmes can be refined, so it's brilliant to hear that you've got the tools to really excel in your career. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts!

Found 221 reviews