SYKES Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SYKES Reviews

Updated 21 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
48%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
SYKES President & CEO Chuck Sykes
Chuck Sykes
1,370 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time

    Pros

    Good opportunity to start a career

    Cons

    Salary os low compared to other opportunities

    SYKES2019-08-22
  2. "Good but pay is poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Edinburgh, Scotland

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing colleagues and great atmosphere

    Cons

    Poor pay for the jobs involved

    Continue reading
    SYKES2020-02-11
  3. "It's a call centre..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities to move into different teams

    Cons

    Rubbish pay, constantly monitored

    SYKES2020-02-13
  4. "it's ok as first jon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Sales Consultant in Edinburgh, Scotland

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    international and multicultural environment colleagues

    Cons

    people are treated poorly and underpaid no investment in technology food in the canteen is rubbish

    Continue reading
    SYKES2020-01-17
  5. "Greed above all else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You might meet interesting people.

    Cons

    They only care about profit since they are paid for providing support for other companies' products. This means your performance is meant to be quick above all else, with no regard for the customer, so if your call is longer than the expected timeframe you may/will get scolded by your team leader, even if it was an impeccable call. What's more, you may be led to believe that you can get a better position - being promised a team leader course or such, but in reality you will be stuck in a communicator position for an undetermined amount of time. The management I was working with had miniscule knowledge of the product and couldn't make sensible decisions. There were cases of in-office scandals, too, i.e. a supervisor being racist towards foreigners (forbidding to use your native language when it's used to speed up communication between yourself and your technical specialist, for example). It may not be the case with every company they support, however, my experience showed that the place has many problems, so people come and go on a regular basis.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2020-02-10
  6. "Get your free doughnut on a Friday and bolt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent - PlayStation Account in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free Doughnut's on a Friday

    Cons

    Never having the same seat to use every day means wearing a different headset every day which is just grim, terrible pay, i worked there for 6 months and wasn't able to successfully take a holiday because they didn't have enough cover to allow the time off, place smells of bad body odour, management who get paid about £20 more a month than you but weirdly take their job very serious

    Continue reading
    SYKES2020-02-06
  7. "It depends who you are really"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Centre Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time

    Pros

    No big requirements. Anyone can get in. Easy to deal with if you have a minimum of computer knowledge.

    Cons

    Not many chances of progression. A lot of openings are pre-filled with un-fair processes. Customers on the phone can be very tough at times and the workload along the various tasks you need to complete and the strict timing policy on break does not help.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2020-01-13
  8. "Run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Camaraderie amongst colleagues and free yum-yums on Friday.

    Cons

    It’s a toxic workplace. Everyday I had to fight the constant urge to run away from that place.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2020-01-28
  9. "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Specialist in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cakes on Friday for everybody

    Cons

    Very stressful job, avoid at all cost

    SYKES2020-01-26
  10. "Please walk away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time

    Pros

    Some people are nice.

    Cons

    My experience was very bad . The training was poor. Some colleagues were willing to help but some not at all. There was and High school environment with gossip and lot of bad language.Some colleagues would not even seat at their desk. The team manager could not speak a clearly understandable English and was often absent .If you like to be treated like a Number and have no dignity I encorage you to apply. Othetwise please save yourself time.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2020-01-21

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 3371 reviews