SYKES Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SYKES Reviews

Updated 21 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
46%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
SYKES CEO Chuck Sykes
Chuck Sykes
1,323 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It can be a little tricky to maintain customer service scores but it is nothing major(in 78 reviews)

  • "I have nothing but good things to say about my time I have been with sykes but I've always enjoyed call center work(in 72 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time

    Pros

    Good opportunity to start a career

    Cons

    Salary os low compared to other opportunities

    SYKES2019-08-22
  2. "nah"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Uk Comunicator in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    okay pay, good breaks, good food, nice people,

    Cons

    repetitive, boring, managers look down, boring,

    SYKES2019-11-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Workload very heavy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Advisor in Edinburgh, Scotland

    I worked at SYKES part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is simulating working in a diversified environment. People are very friendly and keen to help you. I made lots of friends while working there. You also have a lot o benefits working for a multinational company.

    Cons

    The workload is very heavy. You receive a lot of calls a day and you constantly work under pressure with customers that can be very rude. The salary is not satisfactory to the extent that it justifies the workload

    SYKES2019-10-24
  4. "Nuance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Technical Service Agent in Edinburgh, Scotland

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed atmosphere and team. Team is also made up of interesting and fun-loving people.

    Cons

    Pay is relatively low and not inflation adjusted.

    SYKES2019-09-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunities for development from L1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Plenty of development opportunities and courses for L1

    Cons

    After you reach position of TL or PM you just get stuck. No more opportunities to grow.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2019-09-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Modern Slavery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communicator in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Diverse group individuals to work with

    Cons

    - Really low pay - Expected to work 2 weekends every month (even if you don't want to) - Team leaders are absolutely the worst - No career opportunity what-so-ever

    SYKES2019-09-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "People matter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All the agents are helpful and supportive

    Cons

    Supervisors have no clue what is written in your contract and they play you if you don’t know either.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2019-07-21

    SYKES Response

    August 2, 2019HR Representative

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you feel supported by the team members you work with at SYKES, but we are sad to hear of the issues you had with your leadership. We value your feedback and want you to know that we are currently making changes to make our leadership at SYKES even stronger.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you a student looking for a job great

    Cons

    If you look for a career look elsewhere

    SYKES2019-07-20

    SYKES Response

    July 31, 2019HR Representative

    Thank you for your honest feedback. We understand that we are not a permanent home for every team member but it is important to us that we provide each employee with the best opportunity to work, learn and grow while they are a part of our Global team. Thank you for your time at SYKES - we want to wish you the very best in your future career endeavors.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Delegating culture running in panic mode."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Escalation Agent in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Multicultural, flexibility with shifts if you are NOT an agent.

    Cons

    Some TLs should never have been promoted and completely destroy the work environment as they do not have the skills and only know how to micromamage. High workload, lots of pressure. Delegating is the key here. To get promoted you must be flexible which means say yes to everything and end up mad. They love taking advantage of agents by giving more tasks with the promise of development and career progression in the distant future. Above all worst salary in town, bad reputation that they are trying to change by spending money on marketing. If that money was spent on your current employees everyone would be happier and your attrition levels would not go through the roof. Dirty, unhygienic offices, Facilities manager could not care less if the place is riddled with dirt. Oh and mice from the canal sometimes running around bins.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2019-08-08

    SYKES Response

    August 12, 2019HR Representative

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed being a part of a multi-cultural and diverse team across the Globe and that you also appreciated the flexibility that SYKES provides. Your advice to senior management is important and we certainly understand the importance of feeling the opportunity for career progression, growth and acknowledgement. We're sorry you felt like those elements were lacking but we'll make a dedicated effort to make measurable improvements moving forward. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at SYKES part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home office thats it

    Cons

    No support or help available

    SYKES2019-08-04
Found 3236 reviews