SYKES Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated 4 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
SYKES President & CEO Chuck Sykes
Chuck Sykes
1,433 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Customer service reviews were oddly handled(in 80 reviews)

  • "Most of the team leads were cool except for this one lady who always had mood swings, especially when it was(in 58 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Friendly company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at SYKES full-time

    Pros

    supportive work environment development is at heart

    Cons

    processes sometimes unclear progression can be slow

    SYKES2019-03-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "communicator"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES for less than a year

    Pros

    Good colleagues. Nice work environment with other clients.

    Cons

    Bad organization and not keeping employees happy.

    SYKES2018-07-30
  3. "Pretty good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communicator in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers and work environment

    Cons

    It depends on the client you work for. Can be very strict with.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2018-03-03
  4. "Good company to get work experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities to grow internally, especially if you are interested in management. Soft competition for internal promotions. Possibility to move between client groups and departments. Multinational work environment. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Company struggles to keep talent. Salary not competitive. High turnover of agents and their supervisors. Your boss may change several times er year. Quantitative focus often prioritised at the expense of quality.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2018-02-24
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Conveyor belt call centre - friendly colleagues"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communicator in Sighthill, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It is a good place to work if you are travelling the world, and just need an income whilst living in Edinburgh. The staff are friendly within an international working environment.

    Cons

    It is less ideal for working long-term, limited options for career progression, and working for many of their clients can feel like you are a trained robot working on a conveyor belt, work is very repetitive, with strict limits to talk time. I also found their sick policy very lacking human understanding.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2017-03-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A good place to work despite some noticeable flaws."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The work environment, your peers and most managers are really great people to work with and you will learn a lot of great skills that will work with most jobs out there.

    Cons

    Promotions are biased, it's a favoritism competition and in some cases tests are given in secret to the person that they want to give the promotion.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2020-05-05
  7. "Not Bad"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quickbooks Online Support Technician in Wise, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SYKES part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, bonuses, and a friendly work environment

    Cons

    Not enough floor support for tier 1 agents and the customers can be "something else" sometimes

    Continue reading
    SYKES2020-03-04
  8. "I love working here!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Wise, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have worked for Sykes for almost 9 years. In the area that I live the pay is above average. You have access to a full suite of benefits within 90 days. I have had so many opportunities for travel and learning. I have developed skills that would benefit me in any work environment.

    Cons

    Call center is very fast paced, not everyone sees that as a con.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2020-01-10
  9. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Engineer Tier III in Heredia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get recognized for your hard work. There is no micromanagement. For the account I work on, they allow 4 days WFH which is a very good thing. They have a 100% certification reimbursement program, and also there is another program for educational reimbursement purposes for things such as Portuguese classes, though the budget this last one is much less, it certainly helps on your personal career. They have a great work environment. They have low cafeteria prices on their breakfast and lunch meals. The schedule is flexible. Management is accessible and prompt to help.

    Cons

    The salary is a little bit low compared with other companies.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2019-12-29
  10. ""Great work place!""

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Treats employees very fair. Great work environment. Lots of training and coaching.

    Cons

    My only con is that SYKES did not explain about rehire process very well. Part time also was not very well discussed. Most jobs are full time.

    SYKES2019-12-04
Found 100 reviews