Saga Group "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Saga Group Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated 14 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
41%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Saga Group Group Chief Executive Officer  Lance Batchelor (no image)
Lance Batchelor
74 Ratings
Pros
  • "Team work, great people and staff discount(in 9 reviews)

  • "(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management make big decision without fully considering staff(in 12 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Saga, The Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Folkestone, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saga Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Incredible energy and passion and love for the customer. Great people and tonnes of superb talent. Decisions to make redundancies are difficult but it was the right thing to do and those affected were treated really well from what I heard. I have worked at Saga for over 20 years, through some tough times and i think these comments are so unfair and untrue.

    Cons

    There are still people(clearly) who work at saga who are so negative - such a shame as most of us work really hard, are treated well, and love having a plc company on our doorstep so please either cheer up or move on.

    Continue reading
    Saga Group2018-02-14
  2. "Very supporting team leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Caregiver in Welwyn Garden City, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saga Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Team work, great people and staff discount.

    Cons

    Mileages pay always delayed or not paid correct amount.

    Continue reading
    Saga Group2020-02-14
  3. "Overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Folkestone, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saga Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits package, there are some great people.

    Cons

    Diminishing progression routes for middle management looking to develop

    Continue reading
    Saga Group2018-08-06

    Saga Group Response

    September 13, 2018.

    Thank you for recommending Saga. We're continuing to invest in our approach to developing and retaining the many talented people who choose us as their place of work. We believe the diversity of our businesses provides an opportunity to develop skills and experiences that's unique. As a current employee, please do get in touch, if you think it would be useful to share a conversation about the career opportunities and how we might be able to support you via saga.careers@saga.co.uk. The Saga Recruitment team

    Continue reading
  4. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Folkestone, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Saga Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Met some great people here and everyone is really friendly. Ive applied for a few jobs recently and even though I didn't get them, the girl from recruitment has met with me on several occasions to discuss my feedback and even mock interview me to help my confidence and help with my cv. My team manager is awesome and my operations manager is approachable and supportive. Training teams are lovely and make training really fun and enjoyable!

    Cons

    targets are hard sometimes and everyone struggles to hit them even top agents. It took me a while when I started to understand the SRS commission scheme as it's confusing. I've worked at other insurance companies and it was much easier and I felt more relaxed each month. Canteen food could be more varied I don't want to eat chips or curly chips everyday. Redundancies have scared everyone and nobody feels safe. Loads of people are leaving because of this as is very stressful having no job security.

    Continue reading
    Saga Group2018-06-01

    Saga Group Response

    July 2, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback, it’s much appreciated. We're glad to see we are helping you develop your skills and our management and training teams are investing in our staff. We have a first-class training function for all of our employees to help you to be the very best you can be. We continually review the triggers in the contact centre to ensure they are achievable and suitable for the market at that current time. We encourage our staff to self manage their performance and utilise the resources they have available to them, such as additional coaching and training. We appreciate that change can be unnerving, therefore we need to focus on our priorities so that we can grow the business and create new opportunities that change brings, and continue building great roles and as much job security as we can. Thanks again for your feedback. Regards, The Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  5. "New Era"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Folkestone, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Saga Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Progression Opportunities Management improving Private medical insurance Local offices to me Loads of different areas within the business to gain experience in Mostly great people to work with

    Cons

    Salaries not in line with other companies for similar roles Communication between departments Staff engagement is low at the moment

    Continue reading
    Saga Group2018-04-18
  6. "Staff come last"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saga Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good incentives, majority of managers are great people. The wage is adequate for the roles

    Cons

    The company has evidenced it will throw staff under the bus if it is going to meet a business requirement. They are inconsistent and often unrealistic about both forecasting of business and thresholds for employee bonus / commission schemes. A lot of good staff have left due to being shortchanged opportunities. Poor rota/scheduling.

    Continue reading
    Saga Group2017-09-26

    Saga Group Response

    November 28, 2017.

    We're sorry to read this. We'd really appreciate if you could get in touch via saga.careers@saga.co.uk to share more detail with us.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    QA Advisor in Hastings, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saga Group for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I’ve worked for Saga for 6 years now and couldn’t be happier, it is a great and friendly place to work with great people, many of whom have become friends, they provide a supportive and encouraging environment to do your job in and plenty of coaching is provided to improve your performance. They also provide an excellent range of employee benefits including a comprehensive private medical scheme and employee discounts. I would have no hesitation in recommending them to anyone looking for a rewarding career.

    Cons

    The opportunities for progression are currently limited in our building but hopefully this will improve.

    Saga Group2016-12-08
  8. "Good company with good opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Folkestone, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Saga Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *Passionate about their people and do all they can to make Saga a great place to work. *Good culture and very customer orientated. *Paid in line with performance level to reward hard work. *Great range of benefits, especially free shares and the option to add an extra weeks holiday allowance a good work / life balance. *Growing, reputable organisation with plenty of opportunities to further your career and learn new skills. *Great people to work with!

    Cons

    *Don't give the ability to empower their front line employees with certain processes and procedures. *Front line positions are presented with contradictory targets which senior management struggle to see the bigger picture on in terms of morale, engagement and customer experience.

    Continue reading
    Saga Group2016-10-10
  9. "Anonymous manager in the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Saga Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Travel opportunities and great people

    Cons

    Top tier not on the pulse of employees

    Saga Group2019-03-19

    Saga Group Response

    April 9, 2019Recruitment Lead

    Thanks for your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with Saga and I appreciate the review. Regards, Gary N

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews