Sage Account Manager Reviews

Updated 14 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
  1. "A great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A close family knit unit, a great chinch of your life is spent at work and safe really do make it feel like a family. Your constantly supporter and challenged so you get the best out of yourself.

    Cons

    Lots of great change so you need the pace to keep up

    Continue reading
    Sage2020-04-27
  2. "Great Company !"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Account Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Been in the Company only 1 week and have nothing but good things to say. they really care for you and the recent pandemic shows it.

    Cons

    none at the moment.

    Continue reading
    Sage2020-04-14
  3. "Doing all the right things"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in Northwich, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great leadership and management, fantastic support

    Cons

    Its a big business and has some processes that could do with a review

    Sage2020-04-15
  4. "Good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Bristol, England

    I have been working at Sage full-time

    Pros

    autonomous working and flexibility around work

    Cons

    the role involves travelling which isnt always ideal

    Sage2020-03-04
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Poor culture, select people are progressed"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Account Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the people their are great, I was only there for a short time and from interview to starting work there were worlds apart. I was oversold the job. The benefits are ok, sage foundation is brilliant and a way of giving back. Work life balance is good so no complaint on that end. However in the modern world it’s all about agile working and there should be an option to work from home as everything is in the cloud nowadays. It would help those that live far afield.

    Cons

    Some of the managers need to learn people skills. Some views of managers are from the dark ages. The deadwood needs to be removed. There’s no real support from managers or team leaders. It’s all about the numbers. No one will really help or support you to get those numbers. The job is very monotonous day it’s not a fun place to be. The work environment is dryer than the Sahara dessert. I mean there’s nothing fun about it. The place needs to be livened up. Communication needs to be consistent and sage make decisions like they are dragging a dead dinosaur, so much red tape and bureaucracy. Accountants are sick of having so many account managers. It just makes you look unprofessional.

    Continue reading
    Sage2019-12-18

    Sage Response

    January 24, 2020Global Talent Brand Manager

    As a former colleague, I hope that you used one of our many internal channels to share your sentiments and thoughts and ideas. We continue to look for ways to improve and feedback from our colleagues is an important way in which we do that. Thank you for your review.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good British company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Teamwork, good colleagues I enjoyed working with

    Cons

    financial position was difficult for them

    Sage2019-10-07
  7. "Great Company to work for."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities, training and flexibility

    Cons

    sometimes faced with office politics

    Sage2019-05-09
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Was good then went bad"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and it’s business hours

    Cons

    Poor training Managers are bully’s No chance to progress Sack people for no reason without warning

    Continue reading
    Sage2019-03-04
  9. "Going through changes - but great place to work ,"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Account Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    9 till 5 Global company, Family style environment Excellent perks and benefits system, Opportunity to stay long term and progress Great education and career support system.

    Cons

    Is going through allot of change's and sometimes the direction is really clear. Even we are supposed to be customer focused. There is a sometimes to much pressure on revenue.

    Continue reading
    Sage2018-01-29
  10. Helpful (51)

    "Couldn't recommend it to my worst enemy!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sage has managed to employ some exceptional people. The support, training and enablement staff especially are highly knowledgeable and massively under-appreciated.

    Cons

    To be very specific, my experiences are related to Sales Division based in Manchester. Where do I begin! If you are considering a role at Sage, do read all the reviews. Please note the recent influx of overly positive reviews (Sage actively encourage employees to post positive reviews on Glassdoor and actually have employed a full time individual to troll the negative reviews, she will be along shortly). Also note that negative reviews carry the same same themes e.g.lack of ethics, bullying, favouritism, leading with fear etc. In my personal experience, I've seen some horrendous bullying take place. The business has a policy of hiring more people than required, then using the 3 month probation period as a trial before picking and choosing their favourites. If you stand up for yourself, you're a troublemaker. If you complain because the business is not fulfilling its contractual obligations, you're a troublemaker. If you do anything other than smile and nod, you are a troublemaker. If you try and take holiday, you're a troublemaker. If you get deemed to be a troublemaker and don't have exceptional results by the end of your probation, you will be fired. If you get through your probation period, little actually changes. Although Sage do have policy in place for performance improvement and disciplinary, they completely ignore it, and the business likes to remind you that the axe is hanging above your head every day Your comp plan will require you to hit 70% before you earn a bonus (its not really commission) and at that point you get paid about 1/3. The business reserves (and regularly uses) the right not to pay earned bonuses. Accelerators are in place but require you to hit at least three metrics two month in a row. 'Commission' plans (with targets) are issued monthly. Quite often the plan isn't communicated until past the middle of the month and more often than not the targets are revised at least once after that. On the subject of comp and if its relevant to you, mileage realistically pays out between 8 and 13p/mile, some way off HMRC's recommendation of 45p. Accountants Division itself is in a terrible mess. I believe its seen something like 12 different leaders in the last 10 years. I've personally seen 3 different managers in the last 15 months (the first two are no longer with the business). Staff turnover is a major issue. The biggest issues lie with middle management, who have far too much autonomy over their staff members for an organisation this size. As I alluded to above, management don't have to follow any process relating to HR, so appraisals, performance improvement etc. They can, and regularly do, under and overpay individuals based on favouritism, and regardless of performance. Unfortunately the whole working culture just seems to be rotten, and its perpetuated by staff who have grown up in that system. Luckily for you though (if you choose to ignore my advice), Xero, Intuit, Iris, CCH, Digita and Brightpay are currently ripping through Sage's client base like a hot knife through butter, so the suffering won't last too much longer!

    Continue reading
    Sage2017-04-27

    Sage Response

    May 2, 2017Group Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for the review. There's a couple of things that need putting straight here. You refer to me in your review, so I can say with total honesty and integrity I have never asked for positive reviews. I ask for honest reviews - I can share with you the email if you wish (contact me - lynne.ellis-parker@sage.com), it would be corporate suicide to ask for honest/fake reviews. We ask for reviews as this is common practice and actually advice from Glassdoor. Also, this is not my full-time job (I'd be pretty bored if it was!) I do a multitude of other things, again if you wish to contact me I am happy to talk to you about what I do. On to more serious issues - if you do read the other reviews I assume you read my responses where I say we never tolerate bullying and we have an anonymous helpline to ensure colleagues can confidentially report it. See our Code of Conduct on the Sage Academy, and you and all colleagues here have access to the free and confidential ‘Safecall’ line in the event you wish to draw attention to any wrongdoing. I wold urge you to contact them so your concerns can be addressed - we don't take this lightly, we don't want bullies at Sage. We are very proud of our colleagues who build, develop, market and sell awesome tech and support our business builders. Our award winning products developed by the very best talent (our colleagues) range from Sage One which is very keenly priced and is the essential cloud accounting and payroll system that empowers entrepreneurs, start-ups and small businesses right across the globe. Then there's Sage Live - the most powerful cloud business management solution with accounting at its core. Built for the small to medium-sized businesses looking to unleash the power to grow, while minimising complexities of scale. We also have Sage Pay, Payments, Sage People, Sage Accountant Cloud and of course Sage X3. No other business in the world offers these range of products across the spectrum - from the sole trader right up to enterprise ...we really are unique. And, none of this can be achieved without dynamic, dedicated, smart talent - we thank each and every committed colleague - we are nothing without you. Thanks again.

Found 73 reviews