Sage Product Manager Reviews

Updated 19 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
84%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Getting focused and making a difference"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Development Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Evolving employee driven culture,open and transparent, great collaboration across different departments, picking up pace - Management have done an amazing job supporting people during the COVID situation

    Cons

    Can be bureaucratic and slow to make decisions - internal systems can be complicated

    Continue reading
    Sage2020-05-19
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Sage gets better and better"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    When I first joined Sage I felt it was the biggest small business you could ever work for. Whilst it was a large global FTSE100 software company it had the friendliness, passion for customers and employees that you would normally find in a small business. Unfortunately that changed under the last CEO but since Steve Hare took over Sage quickly regained its small business mojo and just hasn't stopped. Doing the right thing for customers is something that you get from every level of management and the colleagues you work with. The response to the coronavirus has been outstanding, clear guidance, the business doing everything it can to support colleagues and customers. I don't think I could be more proud to work for this business, Sage is truly an incredible place to work.

    Cons

    I genuinely can't think of any.

    Continue reading
    Sage2020-03-18

    Sage Response

    March 23, 2020Global Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review and glad to hear your feedback about our response to COVID-19. In these uncertain times, it is our priority is to ensure our colleagues are taken care of and feel supported, and we are glad to hear that it feels that way to our colleagues.

  3. Helpful (3)

    "12-year veteran serving Accountants in UK and Ireland…"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I’ve worked at Sage for 12+ years, straight out of university. Starting with supporting customers with use on our software for a few years, I’ve also worked in development teams and led different applications as a Product Manager. Plenty of opportunities for hard working individuals. • Great benefits and many opportunities for learning and career planning, including 5 personal development days and 5 volunteer days through the Sage Foundation. • Fantastically talented people to work alongside • The apprentice and graduate programmes are fantastic, the recruits work as a part of the real development teams working on real problems to solve. I really struggle to identify who the apprentices are as they work in the same way as everyone else (with support of course) • Work life balance is great, it’s never been an issue booking time off or taking the odd working from home day. Since my child came along, it’s never been a problem when I get that dreaded call from nursery telling me they’re ill and need collecting. • Opportunities to work alongside multicultural teams across the globe.

    Cons

    Over the last couple of years, we seem to have implemented an austerity programme where to reduce costs we don’t, for example, naturally backfill roles when good people move onwards and upwards, this puts extra pressure on teams. Having said that, we appear to have come through the cost cutting and regained our focus on doing the right thing and making space to innovate again. A frustration for me is decision making and autonomy, over recent years we’ve transitions for multiple small business units making quick local decisions to a centralised global firm. From my view of the world, this has slowed us down because we now need to line up numerous teams across the global to make progress. The vision of One Sage, developing once and deploying in many regions is compelling, it’s high risk and only time will tell whether this strategy will be fruitful and play out as intended…

    Continue reading
    Sage2019-04-16

    Sage Response

    April 23, 2019VP, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to share your views. We're listening. Make sure you use Your Voice over the next week too!

  4. Helpful (54)

    "Everything that has gone wrong since Kelly took over is caused by strategy, not employee talent or work rate"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Newcastle, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sage full-time

    Pros

    Great employees trying to do their best with the mess that is being created above them

    Cons

    At Sage, we blame and financially penalise or just plain sack those at the bottom for mistakes made in strategy at the top. If things aren't working, we tell the employees they are not working hard enough or selling well enough. Everything that has gone wrong since Kelly took over is caused by strategy, not employee talent or work rate. Astonishingly it looks like those at the top have just realised that we do not have a version of Accounts 50 that is cloud based and they are quickly trying to ram features into Sage One to make up for it Despite years of talk about the cloud, where it was painfully obvious to anyone in the company that Sage One is for micro / small companies and Accounts is for the much bigger lucrative market, we have talked of the future and our focus being cloud accounting, yet our own, only native cloud product is not in our biggest market. This means turning our backs on the revenue and customers that provide Sage with it's money. For the last 10 years we have treat Accounts 50 and Payroll as finished products, yet they are still where 60% of our income comes from, we go out of our way to lose our customers with them. We massively increase the cost to our customers and add Office 365 to add to the cost further and force it onto customers at a time when our competitors are attacking us with products hugely cheaper. We treat our employees worse than our customers, both feel cheated. It is disgusting that we operate an review process which forces managers to tell 20% of staff they are not good enough. What is worse is that it's a lie, it is not used to make employees improve, but to cut numbers and costs when profit and growth is not what was promised. Again, people at the bottom, paying the price for greed, arrogance and lack of talent at the top. Whilst the Stephen Kelly sat there and said the leadership would not get bonuses, what he did state to the company at the same time, is that they all recently awarded themselves millions in shares shortly after the profits warning. This is Sage now, sackings, profit warnings, losing customers, fake two line 5 star reviews on this site, greedy men ruining a FTSE 100 company and rewarding their own mistakes.

    Continue reading
    Sage2018-06-27
  5. Helpful (33)

    "Superficial and disorganised"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Sage Foundation offers 5 days volunteering. Some very talented leaders in the business - sadly some of the best are leaving. Exciting opportunities for growth and development and at last has a clear product roadmap. Premises being improved - gym etc

    Cons

    Don't seem to really care what people think - latest survey was a sham, forced to give only good comments. Leaders don't listen and don't spend enough time with their teams. Bullies thrive here. Tendency to hire and fire - objectives never clear, lots of leaders who need training in the basics. CEO is superficial - just wants to look good and spread fake news. Doesn't have real conversations - just lots of smiles. And Only wants to here good news. Poor work life balance - lots of people off on sick increasing pressure for everyone. HR are very poor.

    Continue reading
    Sage2017-07-30

    Sage Response

    August 15, 2017Group Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. The Sage Foundation is amazing. Our people are great and there's lots of opportunities to excel at Sage - we don't like losing talent but it's always great to hear when ex-colleagues go on to do really well and thank Sage for help in getting there. Our CEO, Stephen Kelly, is honest and loves meeting colleagues across Sage and gaining their feedback. He's just had a couple of days with colleagues in Switzerland, France, Spain and Germany - he held fireside chats, all hands calls etc - in his words "I go to the front line offices typically more than once a week - to see what's happening and the impact our colleagues make at the sharp end". We announced the other day that a Board Associate has been nominated to bring the voice of colleagues into the Board's deliberations. The Board Associate will be expected to improve the channels of communication between colleagues, and other key stakeholders, and the board. Thanks again for your review.

  6. "Great Opportunity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Product Manager in Newcastle, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage

    Pros

    Vibrant, dynamic culture with a strong focus on leadership and working in the community. Lot's of opportunity to grow and progress if you are willing to work hard. Plenty of chance to learn new tech.

    Cons

    Tough internal competition and currently reorganising but this brings about opportunity as well as difficulties.

    Sage2017-04-26

    Sage Response

    May 2, 2017Group Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for your review of Sage. Totally agree with you that it's vibrant and dynamic here at Sage and you most certainly get out of it what you put in. Your career will grow and develop, but you have to be prepared to put the effort in. Great to read you are learning new tech too! The reorganisation has given opportunities to lots of people internally and new people too and it's great to read you see this. We never under-estimate the difficulties it can cause people though. Thanks again and keep loving #LifeatSage!

  7. Helpful (42)

    "Been told to write positive reviews"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Product Marketing Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage

    Pros

    I am sorry but I cannot write a positive review about a company where I have been told to post positive reviews on Glassdoor.

    Cons

    At the time of writing our average rating is 2.7. Have a loot at Xero (4.1) and Intuit (4.2) and you will realise just how badly we are doing. And instead of trying to fix all the things that are wrong with this place what does Sage do? I have been told by my manager to post a positive review on Glassdoor. I think that says all you need to know about how much this place has lost its way. There are good tech companies out there. This isn't one of them. Please don't make the mistake I made, And its not just me....the UK EVP only lasted 6 months before she realised what a mistake she made and left....feel free to google her for more information

    Continue reading
    Sage2017-05-02

    Sage Response

    May 3, 2017Group Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. I can categorically state I never, ever ask colleagues to write positive reviews. We have recently started to ask colleagues to write reviews which we've never done before, so maybe that's where the confusion is coming from. If you have been asked to write a positive review please let me know as this needs to be stopped (lynne.ellis-parker@sage.com). Glassdoor encourage employers to ask for reviews; asking for positive reviews is simply corporate suicide as we know people will write about it on Glassdoor! Please contact if you have been asked to do so .

  8. Helpful (1)

    "The biggest tech start up"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A business who are passionate and dedicated to their customers, an amazing sense of mission around the business in helping businesses owners build successful businesses. Once you are in Sage there are always many different ways to progress your career, I have been in the business 5 years and have had 4 different roles. It is a really exciting place to work, with great colleagues and in a business that cares for its people.

    Cons

    Apart from the little "niggles" you would expect in any business there are none I can mention

    Continue reading
    Sage2017-02-24

    Sage Response

    March 6, 2017Group Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for your review and we are delighted the passion we have for our business builders is felt by our colleagues. It's fantastic your career has progressed at Sage. At Sage our people are the curators of their careers, your manager is here to help you and we have lots of resources too, so it's great to hear of your success. Thanks again and keep loving #LifeatSage

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Product Marketing"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Sage is at a really exciting stage in its evolution. There are numerous opportunities to change how things have been done in the past. No matter who I have met - seasoned veterans with multiple years at Sage or others who have just joined - everyone is positive, highly motivated and totally committed to the company strategy.

    Cons

    Experiencing some 'growing pains' as the business continues to transform, but this is necessary for our future growth. The environment won't suit everyone. However the changes are essential if we want to be much more customer-centric.

    Continue reading
    Sage2017-01-17
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Time for change"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Newcastle, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people you work with are great, it's a fast paced environment where you get to learn a lot and there's lots of opportunities to progress if you put the work in.

    Cons

    The culture has changed in the last few years, it used to be really people focussed culture. It's been a top down change from newer leaders in the business, where the culture is now very political, aggressive, your face either fits or it doesn't and if it doesn't, you really won't survive very long as it's not what you know, it's who you know.

    Continue reading
    Sage2015-12-04
Found 30 reviews