Sage Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sage Reviews

Updated 25 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1920 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Ok and trying to be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Advisor in Newcastle, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay is ok, good benefits and you get 5 days to use supporting charity work or the community. Office is bright and facilities are good.

    Cons

    Some areas of the business still work in silos, some managers seem to enjoy their power over their team and take punitive measures at the slightest sign of disagreement rather than fostering an open supportive environment.

    Advice to Management

    Work harder to protect employees and encourage diversity and flexible working across the whole business not just in certain areas.

    Sage2019-06-14

    Sage Response

    June 25, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    We agree that having 5 days to support charity work is an amazing benefit. However, we are concerned to hear about your experience with leadership as we do not condone such behaviour. We encourage you to reach out to your People Services team to discuss.

  2. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome company to work for, great benefits and charity days. 9-5 Monday - Friday job for me and loved the people in the business.

    Cons

    Sales targets too high and seemed too hard to hit, Selling to customers things they didn't want! Too much pressure to hit, not a good bonus for hitting targets.

    Advice to Management

    Please focus on all colleagues due to the stress caused with this job. We work for you and towards YOUR targets too!

    Sage2019-06-03
  3. Helpful (11)

    "A difficult place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Advisor in Newcastle, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Starting salary was decent, and received a pay increase within first 12 months . The quality of training was above average. Some of the coaching staff are kind and want to help you achieve. Work/life balance is decent, hours are between 9-5 during first 12 months and you have weekends off.

    Cons

    Targets are oppressive and difficult to maintain. No positive reinforcement if you excel in many areas, but there's one thing that you struggle with. Threats of 'action plans' are common. Job was entirely different to what was originally advertised. During interview it was advertised as a technical support role with a sales target. The original sales target at full skill (after 6 months) was achievable and realistic....

    Show More
    Sage2019-06-01
  4. "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sage offers a fantastic work-life balance and a very supportive working environment. If you are lucky enough to be based in London then the offices in the Shard are amazing. The work itself is varied and I feel that I have the genuine support of all of my colleagues. Difficult colleagues are few and far between. I especially love the focus on volunteering and charity fundraising available to all employees via Sage...

    Show More

    Cons

    As a tech company, Sage should definitely offer a few more perks and benefits that are seen as standard in other tech companies.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Sage2019-05-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great to have on a CV"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Executive in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Sage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Huge business to have on CV Good training and experience for a lower level marketing employee Experience of how a large corporate works

    Cons

    Little room to develop internally A lot of politics and individuals interested in their own development over a team interest

    Sage2019-05-28
  6. "Great company, great team spirit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Consultant in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Professional, high quality of service, team work at the heart of the work environment

    Cons

    None from me at this stage

    Advice to Management

    Focus on sorting out current bugs and issues to protect our excellent reputation in the market

    Sage2019-05-27
  7. "Growth opportunity and recognition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance, Foundation Day is so much fun, opportunity to grow, no micro managing

    Cons

    Company going through transition so there some might feel lack of communication/clarity. But the silver lining is - it is an opportunity to take charge how you would like to shape/transform your career within the company.

    Advice to Management

    Stick with the plan.

    Sage2019-05-27
  8. "Comments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility of hours within the organisation, the team are approachable. There are resources in place for self development and training

    Cons

    Since I have started I haven't spotted any downside. I believe improvements can be made on the process maps during a project. ensuring the right specifications are outlined

    Sage2019-05-24

    Sage Response

    May 24, 2019VP, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your feedback and we are pleased you are taking advantage of our colleague and development tools.

  9. "A friendly and supportive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic work/life balance. Brilliant colleagues. Lots of opportunities to make positive changes at the company.

    Cons

    Some differences between the different offices (some might not be as fun to work at as here!)

    Sage2019-05-24
  10. "A stable global company that truly cares about improving communities across the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stability and longevity of a mature company, but agile enough to compete alongside tech startups. Good emphasis on innovation and more autonomy than you'd expect from such a big company. For many roles, 35-hour workweek (in the UK) with core hours of 10-4 and the expectation that 5 of your daily 7 hours are main work and the remaining 2 are admin and other tasks — very reasonable expectations and promotes a good...

    Show More

    Cons

    There are a LOT of systems and processes to get your head around. It can take years. Product development can be slow and frustrating in some areas. Open office spaces suck. It can be challenging to introduce new processes and ideas because of all the legacy code, technical debt, hoops and policies.

    Advice to Management

    Make the vision and mission statements clear and concise and post them on the website so that everyone can see and know. Keep streamlining, simplifying and strengthening the core products, processes and propositions. Don't be afraid to be increasingly more transparent, honest and vulnerable. We're all people and we can handle it. Futhermore, we'll respect you for the strength it takes and the empathy it inspires.

    Sage2019-05-24
Found 1920 reviews