Sage Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sage Reviews

Updated 14 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1901 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Sage CEO Steve Hare
Steve Hare
225 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with great future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fabulous company to be part of. Benefits and ability to work flexibly are amazing. People work really hard but are rewarded for it and this shows in their work ethic. I couldn't ask for a better workplace or a better team!

    Cons

    Communication internally has improved a lot however still some work to do to keep everyone aligned at all levels.

    Advice to Management

    Continue your honest and open way of leading and communicating, this is hugely appreciated!

    Sage2019-04-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Business Partner in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    People are great, very friendly and supportive Line Manager was incredibly welcoming Strategy and direction of the organisation is very clear Onboarding was very efficient and worked well

    Cons

    Complex organisation so takes time to learn about how the business works

    Advice to Management

    Keep going - you are doing the right things

    Sage2019-04-24
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Mixed experiances"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits and some really good talented people

    Cons

    Too much bureaucracy and too many layers of management that hinders turn around times to get things done. And all the layers of management and yet it seems that only at the top is there authority to sign something off.

    Sage2019-05-06

    Sage Response

    May 24, 2019VP, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. As a former colleague, we hope shared your feedback with your manager so that we can improve. We want Sage to continue to be a great place to work and love when our colleagues share feedback. Best of luck in your new role.

  4. Helpful (2)

    "12-year veteran serving Accountants in UK and Ireland…"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I’ve worked at Sage for 12+ years, straight out of university. Starting with supporting customers with use on our software for a few years, I’ve also worked in development teams and led different applications as a Product Manager. Plenty of opportunities for hard working individuals. • Great benefits and many opportunities for learning and career planning, including 5 personal development days and 5 volunteer days...

    Show More

    Cons

    Over the last couple of years, we seem to have implemented an austerity programme where to reduce costs we don’t, for example, naturally backfill roles when good people move onwards and upwards, this puts extra pressure on teams. Having said that, we appear to have come through the cost cutting and regained our focus on doing the right thing and making space to innovate again. A frustration for me is decision making...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    In my opinion, historically our best leaders and most talented people have started their careers in Customer Services, serving our customers, learning from them and carrying that knowledge and empathy throughout the business during their Sage careers. Put simply, I think we need to grow our Customer Services teams again with extra capacity to serve our customer today and develop them to be the leaders of tomorrow. To...

    Show More
    Sage2019-04-16

    Sage Response

    April 23, 2019VP, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to share your views. We're listening. Make sure you use Your Voice over the next week too!

  5. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Payroll Assistant in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A good work life balance, flexible working hours, great building location. Well paid roles and salary.

    Cons

    Not many, mainly lack of communication from senior management.

    Sage2019-04-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work and fantastic opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have worked at Sage for the past 12 years (both full-time and part-time), Sage has given me the flexibility to have a good work/family life balance. There have been lots of changes over the years, more recently for the better. Lots of opportunities within the business, great support from Managers and Senior Leaders to develop your skill set and push forward with career development.

    Cons

    The onsite gym is not big enough!

    Advice to Management

    Great to see more open communication and engagement between colleagues and Senior Leaders

    Sage2019-04-10

    Sage Response

    April 17, 2019

    Thanks very much for taking the time to feed back - I'm glad Sage is helping with your work life balance. Please keep sharing your thoughts and views, they're really important to help make Sage a great place to work! Thank you

  7. Helpful (4)

    "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time

    Pros

    Friendly and helpful work colleagues

    Cons

    Too many changes constantly with no clear end strategy. It's exhausting.

    Advice to Management

    Management need to give plans and ideas the time to bed in and work. A quick results and blame culture only creates fear and does not allow creativity or innovation.

    Sage2019-05-16

    Sage Response

    May 23, 2019VP, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. I’m glad you agree that our Sage colleagues are very friendly and helpful. Sage is committed to being a great SaaS business for customers and colleagues alike – collaborative, action-orientated colleagues, who just want to get stuff ...

    Show More
  8. "Getting Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Positive, friendly and intelligent colleagues from around the world. Sage Foundation enables employees to contribute 5 days a years to a charity of their choosing, which is generous and positive.

    Cons

    Company can be bureaucratic at times, which can cause frustration. Executive expectations with the pace of change don't equal the support needed to make the change happen.

    Advice to Management

    Increase transparency. Focus on how we build a culture of trust, diversity and respect.

    Sage2019-04-23
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Living on past glory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I learnt how not to run a business and how not to be innovative

    Cons

    Still relies on its very successful past and the customers it acquired over the last 15 years whom it is now rinsing dry by charging them more at every opportunity. Huge pressure to hit financial targets with little room for negotiation. Most employees believe Sage is declining to a slow and painful death

    Advice to Management

    Wake up and invest in new innovative products rather than living in the past

    Sage2019-05-10

    Sage Response

    May 23, 2019VP, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your feedback. We are proud of Sage's history and of our loyal customer base. We are focusing on our 3 strategic lenses - customer success, colleague success and innovation and Sage is committed to being a great SaaS business for customers and colleagues alike .

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great leaders in some areas - Fab opportunities if you put the work in - Diversity amongst leaders and colleagues - Support for Health & Wellbeing

    Cons

    - Technology could be better (especially for a tech company!) - Changes occur often, sometimes with little/no warning - however this is not always a bad thing! - Lack of easy access to things like mouse pads with wrist support/foot stools, etc. These should be available for everyone.

    Sage2019-04-04
Found 1901 reviews