Sage Sales Executive Reviews

Updated 15 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Sales exec"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Newcastle, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, everyone is really friendly and welcoming

    Cons

    sometimes the job the job is repetitive and feel like you cant make anymore calls

    Sage2018-01-11
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Wolves in sheeps clothing"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    9 - 5 (often bribed into overtime or shift changes) Free parking Onsite café (expensive however) 5 annual CSR days

    Cons

    Too many managers Unachievable targets Increase targets half way through the month Uncompetitive basic salary

    Continue reading
    Sage2019-05-08

    Sage Response

    May 23, 2019VP, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. There are often opportunities for overtime and we always appreciate it when our people go the extra mile and show flexibility - that said, we’re also a responsible employer and if any of our people felt under pressure to do overtime or change their shift we’d encourage them to speak up.

  3. Helpful (43)

    "Unhappy Work Life"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The brand although unfortunately having squeezed the pockets of accountants and small businesses for so long even that is met with disdain. I actually feel embarrassed to work here. My immediate team members are a great group of people but most of our conversations are about how unhappy we are.

    Cons

    Company lacks any vision or strategy. Products are over priced. Products are not keeping up with competition. Management doesn’t listen to any feedback and stifle any ideas. Systems so old you can’t do your job. Culture of back stabbing. Second hand car dealer mentality, sell it, move on, customers problem then. Unrealistic targets. Less than 20% of the team get any bonus.

    Continue reading
    Sage2018-08-03
  4. Helpful (28)

    "Sales executive- go elsewhere. Horrendous"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Executive in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Used to make decent commission when sage was chasing a number

    Cons

    Ridiculous pressure Outdated products Buzz words used that mean nothing Team managers on the whole are useless, lazy and add no value- over paid Senior managers are on the whole equally rubbish. Use uk market as a cash cow. If chasing or behind a number, increase the price Focus on america- ceo rarely in the WORLD HEADQUARTERS- newcastle Too interested in linkedin posts showing what a great company it is, its all rubbish In 18months steve and steve will have left with a lot of money and sage will be screwed. Customers leaving in droves If you kiss enough backside you are bound to suceed to a level

    Continue reading
    Sage2018-05-19

    Sage Response

    May 22, 2018Channel Campaign Manager, Talent Acquisition Team

    Thanks for your feedback. We hope you raised your concerns during the many internal channels we have as well as completing the recent Your Voice survey. The results were published yesterday on YourSage, and shows the majority of Sage colleagues would recommend Sage as a place of work, which is an increase since the Your Voice Survey last year. Overall our people have a positive relationship with their line manager - overall Sage’s Management Index is nearly 80% . A culture is a sum of its people, and our 14,000 colleagues worldwide work hard everyday to build something great. We are very proud of the efforts and passion they share for one another and our customers. I am sorry to see that you have had a negative experience, and hope that you will take a moment to contact our people services team so that we can make it better for everyone.

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Executive"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Executive in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Sage for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Monday - Friday 9 - 5

    Cons

    Incentives getting less frequent in the business

    Continue reading
    Sage2017-03-20

    Sage Response

    March 24, 2017Group Employer Brand Manager

    Hi and thanks for your feedback. We work hard to ensure our colleagues have a positive work life balance so it's great to read you are able to achieve this. The great news is we are re-launching ShareSave very soon so it's available right across Sage! We are rolling out Sage rewards and I see you are from the UK where you have access to Sage Rewards already...the place to manage all your Sage rewards and benefits from dental care to health care and 889 discounts available! Of course there's 5 volunteer days for everyone and these alongside Platinum Elite and bonuses/commission - there's plenty of opportunity to become successful and earn and excel at Sage. Thanks again for reviewing Sage.

  6. Helpful (31)

    "Will the last one to leave please turn out the lights"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Holiday entitlement with buy/sell, sharesave, dental, medical, parking, really struggling after that, peers and colleagues have a good work ethic

    Cons

    Salary is pathetic, commission structure is poor in relation to performance, everything at Sage over the course of the last 12-18 months is how they can find ways to pay out less. Ridiculous metrics which change on a regular basis to try and trip people up. They wonder why so much is going down the pan, it's simple, staff aren't rewarded enough for that extra yard. The greed of the business has led to staff resenting the company and the vast majority of decent sales staff have left as they can earn a great deal more elsewhere for a much less stressful job. Any good sales staff who are left are simply waiting for shares to mature then they will also leave. Sage always expect staff to go the extra mile however forget that this is a two way Street, they wonder why things fall flat on the face, staff aren't going out their way to help a company they feel continuously tries to screw them over. The company treat staff like replaceable numbers so why would staff be loyal?

    Continue reading
    Sage2017-03-06

    Sage Response

    March 9, 2017Group Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for your review. As you know our CEO Stephen Kelly joined us some 2.5 years ago - we are now 'One Sage' with products in the Cloud, innovations such as Pegg with the ambition to have invisible accounting. Transformation was needed - tech companies have to adapt or die; in order to leapfrog the competition and continue to serve our business builders with passion we need to have a high performance culture. Our targets are tough, our people work hard and those who achieve them are rewarded extremely well. We benchmark our salaries against the market and we are competitive. We also have Platinum Elite for our highest performers in the business - this year over 100 colleagues went to Dubai with their partners and this year's Platinum Elite has launched and we will again be taking over 100 colleagues to a luxurious resort in Mexico. We can't promise an easy ride at Sage but it’ll be a rewarding one; leaving your comfort zone will help you grow in belief and as a person. We wish you every success with your career.

  7. Helpful (10)

    "Too much restructuring and hierarchy- slow to adopt new ideas"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Executive in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Realistic sales targets - some great positive and innovative employees - good benefits. Newcastle is an amazing office!

    Cons

    In 2013 the politics was stifling, departments often had conflicting strategies, restructures happened alot and people gossipee about the next restructure rather than focusing on productivity. Lots of Power point presentations with no decisions being reached.

    Continue reading
    Sage2017-02-09

    Sage Response

    February 23, 2017Group Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for your review. I am guessing by what you say that it's been a while since you were at Sage. It is different to 2013, new CEO for example. Stephen Kelly has done an amazing job of bring Sage together as 'One Sage' - smashing silos and creating innovative teams who produce awesome products to ensure Sage has the best cloud-based products. Being a top tech company - where the external environment is challenging, changeable, dynamic and disruptive we have to ensure we can compete, hence the transformation. Maybe one day you'll re-join Sage...I wish you every success whatever you do.

  8. Helpful (20)

    "Some positives but the reality doesn't match the shiny FTSE100 image"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Executive in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great approach to CSR - employees can take 3 days paid leave in addition to standard annual leave to help volunteer at an organisation close to their own heart. Offices are generally great buildings and well maintained with decent break-out areas and free tea and coffee. Change-oriented organisation means that things don't get too stale. Generally speaking, all my colleagues were a great bunch and off-site events were usually a lot of fun and not an excuse for death by PowerPoint. Fab pension - matched contributions to 8%, plus an additional 2% paid on top by Sage. Share save scheme (which appears to have been pulled) made me a decent amount of money - almost made up for the lacklustre salary!

    Cons

    Whilst some of the benefits are good, the salary was uncompetitive and there was zero scope to talk about this which was very demoralising. Sage's internal rules around salary increases are laughable should you move to a new role - there's a cap on the maximum percentage increase you can have meaning you can trail colleagues doing the same job if you've come via an internal transfer. Again very demoralising to be doing the same job as someone else with the same targets, performing at the same level but earning a different amount. No focus on talent - it's paid lip-service but the systems in place are poor and managers are interested in short-sighted targets rather than developing people. There should be a lot of scope to move around the business given the broad remit of (mostly) competitive products and services that Sage offers, but the reality is that you are not supported to further your career if it takes you to a different part of the business than where you are currently working.

    Continue reading
    Sage2016-09-15
  9. Helpful (19)

    "Not really a long term job"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Sage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great customer base. fantastic people

    Cons

    poor senior management out of touch with work force

    Continue reading
    Sage2016-03-22
  10. "Excellent Company, supportive when chips are down"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Incredible support during current pandemic, constant communication both locally and globally, additional support and flexibility. Open culture with freedom to voice concerns. WFH allowance. Reassurance from leadership that jobs are safe.

    Cons

    None that I can think of at the moment

    Continue reading
    Sage2020-05-15
Found 15 reviews